We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 586: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The Smoke smell in the lobby was my only complaint. Location was great, pool was clean, breakfast was ok but, Tracy was sweet. The first encounter was when My spouse called in and had to make adjustments to our reservation. Laila was pleasant on the phone and in person & Ms. Sherry at the front desk was AWESOME. She was... More 

Helpful?
Thank djenaned2016
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will be pleased to share your comments with our staff regarding their service! They do indeed provide true Southern hospitality, and their main goal is to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. Regarding the lobby, we are a non- smoking property, but our guests that do smoke sometimes stand just outside the front... More 

Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Clean, air conditioner great. Shower strong pressure. Great value,paid half of what downtown hotels. easy location to downtown .nice parking. Breakfast ok. Afternoon cookies and coffee all day n lobby.

Helpful?
Thank Dolcesuenas
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you found our location to be convenient! Our area is only a short ten minute drive from the downtown Historic District, but as you found, our prices are much more affordable than actually staying downtown. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope... More 

Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight and the hotel was decent for the nightly rate. Room, bathroom, and lobby were clean. The bed was comfortable. I wasn't fond of the alternating floors for vending machines and ice machines but that's really the biggest complaint. Otherwise, I would book again if necessary.

Helpful?
Thank Tracie W
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that you found our beds comfortable, and the room clean. That's so important! We do have an ice machine on each of our 3 floors, but due to our smaller size, have the soda and snacks vending machines on the first floor only. I apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you... More 

Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The location was great, however when you walked into the lobby and then the hallway to your room it had a heavy odor of smoking. The room did not. Would stay again as long as we can avoid the lobby. Breakfast was nice, and the staff were very nice

Helpful?
Thank traveler2016971
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, and that our staff were helpful! Regarding the smoke in the lobby, we are indeed a totally non smoking hotel, but unfortunately, our guests that do smoke, tend to smoke outside by the front doors. When the automatic doors open, sometimes some of their smoke... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Across river from town, but hotel provides free shuttle every 2 hours (or taxi back cost $9). Good-sized rooms. Top floor restaurant and bar with splendid views. Excellent breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank 186411Visitor
Albrightsville, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stayed here before a wedding. Beds were excellent, free breakfast good. Hotel is expensive, though, and needs a little repair, but otherwise was clean and very nice. Would stay here again. Free coffee a plus!

Helpful?
Thank Donna D
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, and our complimentary hot breakfast. I am assuming that you stayed here on a weekend since you mentioned it was for a wedding, and yes, some weekends during peak tourism season in the summer, can be more expensive than other times. We are significantly less... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This has been by far one of the best hotels I've ever spent the night in for vacation! I'm a germ freak and this hotel was really comfortable for me to sleep in and get a good nights rest! The staff was extremely helpful and new just the right places to send us to for dinner ! The Italian place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for the high praise! I have shared your comments with our staff, and you made their day! Our staff works very hard to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable and feel right at home, and I love it when our guests recognize them for that! Thank you for choosing to stay... More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016

everything was really clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful! i highly recommend it. we were visiting charleston,sc and it was only 15 min away and traffic wasn't bad at all. the area had plenty of eateries and businesses around as well. it is also 20 min from Folley beach which we also visited. the front desk was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joetta T
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for choosing us to be your host for your 2016 vacation. We are indeed centrally located to all of Charleston's major attractions, as well as the beach, as you found. With great restaurants and shopping near by, our location is perfect for starting out to explore Charleston. Thank you for staying with us! More 

New Kent, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel. There were roaches crawling in the microwave and all over the microwave/refrigerator cabinet. The front desk told my husband that they keep the hotel clean. That's not clean to me! Needless to say we didn't eat breakfast there! Wish we would have seen them as soon as we got there so we could have... More 

Helpful?
Thank crdokos
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very upset to hear about this! I am calling our exterminator first thing in the morning to come out and take a look at that room. We do keep our rooms very clean as evidenced by our many reviews, but unfortunately, we have some guests that either leave open containers of food in... More 

New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was very clean. The staff, friendly. The beds were comfortable. The location is convenient to the beach, downtown and interstate. You will have to drive to everything, but for the price you can't beat it and you wont have to worry about parking or crazy traffic.

Helpful?
Thank kb4traveler
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are conveniently located to all of Charleston's major attractions, with the downtown Historic District being a short ten minute drive away. Drive a little, and you can save significantly from the much higher prices downtown. We hope that you will have a... More 

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,013 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.7 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
185 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $116 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Rincon, Georgia
4 months ago
Arlington, Virginia

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of the building facing the pool. Construction was going on across the street and the front was very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 1Linton, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bring your pet or you will be downgraded to this room or one like it on the lower levels.”
 of 5 bubbles robertlrobertson, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were on 2nd floor with no problems- it is very humid, though, so ask if there are some rooms without as much humidity (this was in OCT)”
 of 5 bubbles J4030FZlaurar, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Midway down the hall from the front desk, are two side entrances, which means less walking if your room is near either of them.”
 of 5 bubbles TomR233, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room (117) was on the first floor near the side entrance which was convenient. We had no issues with noise. Room size was adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles 783debbiet, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay