We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Governor's House Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (232)
360
Panoramas (7)
Traveller (232)
360
Panoramas (7)
Dining (21)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. We are the only inn in America where you can sleep where a signer of the Declaration of Independence once lived. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room features
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:15% OFF + FREE PARKING
Location
Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
276Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
170Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
551Reviews
375Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 442
  • 70
  • 24
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Stayed here for our first time in Charleston, and was a great time. It’s centrally located and the free onsite parking was a great feature. Breakfast was very enjoyable. No complaints, was a fabulous time. I would highly recommend staying there.
Read more
Response from TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for coming to stay with us at the Governor's House Inn. I'm glad you were able to appreciate all that we offer to our guests. Charleston is an amazing place to visit and we're so glad you chose us for your accommodations. We look forward to you visiting us again. Karl
Read more
Governor's House Inn lived completely up to the reviews. Tracey was helpful before we even arrived by sending walking maps of the City and setting up two tours ahead of time to ensure availability. The accommodations were excellent, the staff all friendly and helpful. The breakfa
Read more
Response from TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn
Responded Nov. 5, 2018
Thank you for visiting the Governor's House Inn. We're so glad your first time visit to Charleston was so special. We appreciate hearing from you, so you may let other future guests know what to really expect upon arrival. We work very hard to make every person enjoy their time here in Charleston and we love that you asked for our help to make everything about your time here so memorable. Please come back soon. Karl
Read more
We reserved the Rutledge Suite and what a beautiful suite with a nice porch on the 2nd floor!! Needless to say it exceeded our expectations! The Staff were attentive to our needs and Alejandro did an Awesome job with breakfast and scheduling private carriage ride!! Price was in l
Read more
Response from TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn
Responded Nov. 5, 2018
Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Governor's House Inn. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and we especially appreciate knowing that we exceeded your expectations. You are correct when you recognize the fascinating history here at this Inn. We know of no other home in the United States where someone can sleep under the same roof as a signer of the Declaration of Independence. The fact that it was the youngest signer makes it that much more special. Please come back and see us soon. Karl
Read more
As a international boutique hotel consultant and expert, I am none less than a hotel snob. I see some bad reviews on here and the truth is, no property pleases everyone. In fact, I didn’t even read the reviews before booking. I’ve been to Charleston many times but this particular
Read more
Response from TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn
Responded Nov. 1, 2018
Thank you for appreciating what we do here at the Governor's House Inn. We work very hard to do everything possible to make all of our guests feel right at home here. At times we've decided that we simply cannot please everyone no matter how hard we may try. When that happens we do our best to listen to concerns and make changes where possible. When the concerns and comments are beyond our control we are simply left to moving on in ways where we know we can do better. Thank you for understanding that situation and allowing other readers to see what is really going on here at the Inn. We look forward to your return visit. Karl
Read more
Location could not be any better. Easy walk to most sites and restaurants. Of course, no hurricane weather helped a great deal. The room was fantastic and very comfortable. Excellent a/c and heat. We really loved the period furniture and preservation of the house. We will b
Read more
Response from TravelingGuy1977, Owner at The Governor's House Inn
Responded Nov. 1, 2018
Thank you for visiting us here at the Governor's House Inn. Yes, it does help when we don't have to contend with hurricanes. But then again it does make things exciting! I'm glad you were able to appreciate our outstanding location and everything we do to keep up the house. We work very hard to make sure the property is well maintained and our guests are well taken care of.\ Please come visit us again soon. Karl
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Governor's House Inn
The Laurens Room at The Governor's House Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Governor's House Inn
The Middleton Suite at The Governor's House Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Governor's House Inn
The Middleton Suite at The Governor's House Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Governor's House Inn
The Middleton Suite at The Governor's House Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Governor's House Inn
The Laurens Room at The Governor's House Inn
Previous
Will any of the rooms have working fireplaces in Dec 2018?
While many of the rooms have fireplaces we do not allow them to be used by guests. The liability for the property is too great a risk. I'm sorry.
0 votes
We have 3 girlfriends planning a trip to Charleston in October and wonder if you have a room/suite that would accommodate all of us staying together?
Thanks for writing. The real answer to your question depends upon sleeping arrangements. If there is no problem sharing a bed you might not have a problem. The Washington Suite has a Queen size bed and a couch that pulls out a mattress (Queen size). I will warn you though; pull out mattresses are never as comfortable as a regular bed. Anyone thinking that they will sleep as comfortably in a pull out couch is fooling themselves and we don't want to say we didn't warn you. Please also know that we charge $50 per person for the use of the couch beyond the double occupancy rate. That charge is to cover additional housekeeping, breakfast, etc... Feel free to call the Inn to deal with any other questions. Karl
1 vote
Show all answers
Are any of the bedrooms on the main level?
There is one bedroom on the main level just off of the dining room. It is known as the Wagner Room and you may see pictures on the Inn's website.
0 votes
Do you still have a high tea at 4 pm each day and is it open to the public or do you have to be a guest to enjoy? Thanks!
We do not have a formal high tea. Instead we have wine and savory meats, cheese, etc... for our guests.
0 votes
Show all answers
What time is breakfast served in the morning? Is it at a set time or is there a range of time where they serve breakfast? I am trying to plan my itinerary and this information will be helpful in helping me know how early I can schedule any tours. Thanks!
Breakfast is served from 7:30 until 9:00 am.
0 votes
Previous
12
"Third floor is nice with great views and no one above you. We were in Magnolia. Nice size bathroom too."
"Mattress in the Magnolia suite was a little too soft for our liking, Lots of staris. No access to an outdoor porch from this suite."
"Loved the Middleton Suite. It had a very large and beautiful private balcony"
"Upper Rooms were smaller, but much more private."
"See above review."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$310 - US$373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
governor`s house hotel charlestongovernors inn charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing