We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,687: English reviews
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location was perfect, the customer service was second to none, the bed was comfortable with multiple pillows. The bathroom had all the amenities. The breakfast was varied and delicious. The staff was the most helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Doreen w
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for two nights, 11/27-28/16, and found it to be most acceptable. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, although it did lack a small frig. The complimentary breakfast was good considering it was buffet style offering varied choices. The Inn is conveniently located in the historic area across the street from the Visitor Center,... More 

Helpful?
Thank aaword
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I came to Charleston with my wife for a weekend get away. I booked late so almost everything else I looked at was full. I am a Hilton junkie so I took a chance on this hotel. It paid off. The location is great. It is a 15 min walk to the top of Market St and a 2 min... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg C
Bartlett, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were really happy to get a room here during Thanksgiving week for a decent rate, given the location in downtown Charleston right across the street from the visitors center (with access to the free trolleys). King Street is just steps away. There's a lovely courtyard adjoining the pool area. The room was comfortable and clean, although I wish the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polishfan
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I just left the Hampton Inn - checking out one day early. My experience here had me change our flight home and get the hell out of here. We went to our room and the second we opened the door it absolutely stunk like smoke. It actually smelled like a bar at 2am. My husband has asthma and my two... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennalee409
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did observe that the carpet is being replaced in room in this hotel and think that is a good idea. The location of this hotel is excellent and the staff at the front desk were terrific. We had a very nice welcome at arrival and had a problem with our room the first night and when we brought this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MBHMarietta_GA
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business and your wonderful comments about the team here. They truly love what they do and I am so glad it showed. We want to be the nicest Hampton Inn you have ever stayed at and promise you we are working towards that goal. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in the perfect location for walking to the lovely sites and restaurants in Charleston. Our room was comfortable. Breakfast was included and most enjoyable. Parking in a nice garage next door convenient.

Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my favorite hotel to visit in the US. The courtyard is lovely and the perfect place for breakfast or an evening visit with family. The location is perfect. We did a Turkey trot at Thanksgiving and the race literally started just outside the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 14_SCTraveler55
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dingy and poorly lit rooms. Trash piled in the lobby. A/C inoperative and promised maintanence guy never showed up to fix it. No decent parking. Woodwork needs painting. Overpowering smell of cheap floral room deodorizer (that stuff is toxic to human health). If I were in management at Hampton I would gut this place and start over. BAD!

Helpful?
Thank Carl R
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

I really do appreciate your candor about your stay and hope that perhaps you will call me at the hotel so I can see where we went wrong with your stay. Your business is very important to us and we did not earn it in this case and would love the chance to do just that in the future. Kevin... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked three rooms before reading the reviews so was rather skeptical what we were going to encounter but was really pleased as everything was pretty good- our rooms were on the 4th floor which happened to be the floor they were renovating and sometimes started a little too early for some of us- they did have a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne D

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
King Study Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Standard 2 Queen Beds Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $197 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved ours on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 721shirleyw, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I like the higher floors away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles MLTMM, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“you would want a room facing the pool area if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles karenj633, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms on the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Lida75, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Parking is extra, and is not connected to the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ycnangriff, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay