We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley

1524 Savannah Hwy Us 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-06
View deal
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (77)
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (209)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley
Updated 21-01-13


#29 of 73 hotels in Charleston
Travellers' Choice

Welcome to Sleep Inn Charleston, your Charleston “home away from home.” Sleep Inn Charleston aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Charleston, Sleep Inn is located a short distance from Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site (2.9 km) and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (4.3 km).

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as Sleep Inn offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk. Plus, Sleep Inn Charleston offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Christophe's Macaron et Chocolat, which is a French restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you are interested in exploring Charleston, check out a lighthouse, such as Morris Island Lighthouse.

Sleep Inn Charleston puts the best of Charleston at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
475Reviews31Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 131
  • 48
  • 20
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hoosier_Travel_Nut wrote a review Apr. 4
Indiana255 contributions85 helpful votes
I stayed here for several days while exploring Charleston. Because this place is such a mixed bag I will divide it into positives and negatives and you can decide if it's a place you would stay. Positives: The bed was comfortable and came with plenty of pillows. Shower area and bathroom were small, but perfectly acceptable. The shower itself was good-sized and had good temp and pressure, TV, fridge, and microwave were all very nice. A comfy chair was available to watch TV in. The breakfast each morning, despite being grab and go, had a lot of options available. I always felt full and it was nice to be able to immediately start sightseeing and not have to worry about where to eat breakfast. There is an AMAZING BBQ place just west of the hotel (it's an easy walk - it's called Bessingers). Negatives: While it's true that you are not far at all from downtown Charleston (probably 4-5 miles) getting turned left onto the Savannah Highway can be challenging during huge parts of the day. it is an extremely busy road. If this hotel were on the opposite side of the street, it would make life much easier. I found my room to be pretty noisy. It was right by the elevator and you could hear everyone's conversations getting on/off and the ding of the elevator. One of the nights I was hear, someone on the floor was smoking and I don't think they were cigarettes! You could smell it in the main hallway and it even crept into my room for a short time. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I got a good deal or had enough Choice Points. It didn't wow me, but it wasn't the worst hotel stay I've had either.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
mjvinson wrote a review Mar. 2021
Concord, North Carolina393 contributions165 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here while spending a weekend enjoying the beach on Kiawah Island about 35 min south from the hotel. The rentals on Kiawah were outside our price range and finding accommodations that are pet friendly there made it extra tough as well. This hotel was very affordable with a not too high pet fee, so we gave it a shot. The room was clean and comfortable, with big, soft king bed. The AC worked just fine. However, the water pressure in the shower was very low and left a lot to be desired. The hotel did make a nice accommodation with breakfast given the pandemic restrictions. They gave us a menu to choose from each night that we dropped off at the front desk, and the next morning I was able to pick up our selections at the front desk. Overall it was a fairly nice stay. Nothing too fancy, but not too cheap as well. Pretty good for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
22tea22 wrote a review Feb. 2021
Sparks, Nevada50 contributions53 helpful votes
If everything was perfect it would be 2 1/2 stars , that being said the roaches although I grew up w/ them I don’t want to bring them home w/ me so that’s the 1st thing The 2nd thing is this place doesn’t even come close to Covid standards if that’s something that concerns you The shower and the toilet are basically in a closet together the sink is outside that closet next to one of the beds The rooms just aren’t cleaned or disinfected after the guest check out and the new guest check in that’s obvious There is a fridge & microwave the beds are comfortable w/ 4 pillows the room itself is a decent size, This should probably be a $39 hotel so the value is not proportional accommodations I’d say pass on this place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Aspect-01 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Charleston, South Carolina1 contribution
Ok for the price. Make sure you put items in the safe! Had do not disturb sign on the door but my medicine was still taken. Management tried to help but to no avail. They said that no master keys were used in my door but very unclear as far as copies? (I only had one key)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Response from Bill Richards, General Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley
Responded Dec. 17, 2020
Dear aspect_001, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you misplaced your medicine. As was discussed with you during your visit, an audit of your lock indicated that only the key issued to you had opened the door. No master keys or "duplicate" keys opened your door during your stay. Again, thank you so much for the review.
Read more
Todd wrote a review Dec. 2020
Cramerton, North Carolina1 contribution
We booked this hotel to stay at while participating in the Cooper River Bridge 10K. The race was rescheduled and then canceled due to COVID-19. I called the hotel and they agreed to refund the charges which they did. Three weeks later they billed my credit card again for two nights.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Response from Bill Richards, General Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley
Responded Dec. 10, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to reach out regarding this billing issue. I would suggest that you contact me directly to discuss this issue so we can get it resolved. Thanks again.
Read more
US$87 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sleep inn charleston hotel charleston, charleston sleep inn
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley
Which popular attractions are close to Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Nearby attractions include Break Out Escape Game (0.4 km) and Charleston 9 Memorial Park (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swig & Swine, The Glass Onion, and Early Bird Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (7.4 km), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (7.1 km), and Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site (2.9 km).
Is Sleep Inn Charleston - West Ashley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.