We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really quaint friendly hostel. It is definitely showing some signs of old age but it just adds to the charm really. Breakfast is quite simple but your so close to so many fantastic eateries. Staff are very friendly but not always around and when you consider that so many hostels in the U.S are so expensive this one is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seb B
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for 4 nights the week of Thanksgiving. I've stayed in hostels before so I had an idea of what to expect. They did a great job of making it very easy to find the hostel once arriving in Charleston, and it's in a great location! Check in process was super easy, but check in time isn't until 5:00....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsie P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Notso Hostel is a relaxing place to be. I knocked off one star because I was confused by the morning food offering and felt a lack of warmth because of this. This was also due to my expectation of eating something different than was presented. So my experience is colored by the lessons I am offered to learn in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
Queens, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights at the Aimee room (I think the photo that appears on the hostel website is not that of the actual Aimee room). The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, but the hostel in general was really dirty. Dust and stains everywhere you looked at. And I mean old dust, it looked like it had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quieroperderdevistaa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of people have commented on the negatives of this place so I am going to leave that out. The quiet time imposed is a reasonable request even if there are police sirens going past at all hours. They have provided ear plugs so I believe thats helpful. I also understand that you cannot make amendments to a property...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Binkyatavern
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I reserved ahead, arriving via train- asked for a lower bunk ( never received a reply to this, so assumed my message was received, as I have stayed in many hostels)- noting I am a bit older & unable to use upper bunk. Train was late, so arrived after 10pm - no staff - room key & note were left...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Annie E
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do clearly state that bunks are first come first serve and since you were a late arrival, we set out a late arrival packet for you. You booked a room that was on the second floor which is also clearly stated in the room description. For future guests, please be sure to read all...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I loved my stay at NotSo Hostel. The hostel has a great atmosphere for meeting other travelers, the staff are very kind and it's in a nice neighborhood. Not to mention, Charleston is a wonderful place to visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jomillerwrites
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Reviewed 25 August 2016

It's cheap, yes. And reasonably close to downtown (though the neighborhood is not the best...walk in large groups at night). However, sometimes you pay in frustration. In the future, I'd rather pay for a nicer experience at a hotel and enjoy my trip than the alternative: be miserable at NotSo Hostel. My female friend and I were visiting Charleston for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JenniferCollins80
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are not able to control what the other guests are like, however we do provide clean, safe accommodations for travelers. If you wanted a more private experience, we have the annex location which works well for guests who are less interested in sharing space. Many guests rave about the wonderful neighborhood...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Very overrated and expensive for what it actually is: a hostel! We paid nearly 80 dollars for a private room that basically consists of four walls and a bed. Not even a bin or a plug to be found. Actually, there was an oscillating fan that we left on all night as it was so hot but it ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Caro2k
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, there are plugs in every room and our price is the most affordable downtown by more than $100+. We understand that hostels are not for everyone. Many people rave about the location as we are right downtown in one of the best neighborhoods in the city. The same staff has been here for years working...

Lorton, Virginia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Overall a very good hostel experience. We stayed in the annex which is an old house near king street. It was easily walkable to some restaurants and bars and we brought our bikes which made it easy to access the area of downtown closer to the end of the peninsula. Area felt safe. Room was tiny (Goldman), but clean. Bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walkingincircles
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! So glad you enjoyed your stay at the annex and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,568 reviews
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $82 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles 794kelsiep, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
 of 5 bubbles C6321HMjohnp, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingTnHillbilly, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
 of 5 bubbles 255mima, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles K5504RKbrunop, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5