We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Charleston\\
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Charleston's NotSo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 455: English reviews
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It was good value and clean. I stayed in the middle house (Cyprus room). The bathroom was much better than I expected. The staff is very friendly and so are the people stays there. I only stayed for a night but wouldn't hesitate to stay longer next time if I visit Charleston again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJ T
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2012

They forgot one thing at the Notso Hotel.  I think it's Great. Because it really is not so great here.  When a single room here costs more than a proper hotel, such as Best Western, and still they can't manage to vacuum, provide towels or decent  pillows, you know you've done something wrong in coming here.  Yes, it's a hostel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rugbymug
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. To stay downtown in Charleston on average costs $200. Staying at the hostel is considerably cheaper than staying at the Best Western. We provide towels for $1, we vacuum and mop since we have hardwood floors, and update our linens (including pillows) regularly.

York, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had great trepidations regarding this stay as I am older than most of the 20 somethings that I met here and I really rather not share a room or bathroom if given a choice. That being said, I decided to give a hostel a try and am very glad I did. I stayed in the middle house in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda T
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had a wonderful time at the NotSo Hostel in Charleston. The staff were super friendly, present and helpful, even though it was a busy memorial day weekend (Hannah especially rocks, as doesthe coolest manager on the planet, Ms. Vikki). I have to be honest, I'm pretty adaptable so i am good in a lot of places but i did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAIAquarian
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed in the annex in the Kingsolver room. It is our third visit to Charleston and we love the city. Staying at the NotSo was a real treat everything was clean and there were stacks of fresh towels so every one could take a shower when ever. We found our host to be friendly and helpful. There were bagels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apple-Yves
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I've traveled all over this great country and stayed in a great many hostels. And Notso is one of my favorites. Every time I've come through, I've met some great fellow travelers and had some interesting conversations over a few drinks. The porches are WONDERFUL. I've enjoyed renting bikes from them and riding along King st. down to The Battery....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank totallypartytime
Tyler, TX
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed here as part of a 30 day rail journey. This place was simply GROSS. It just has a dusty, dirty feel b/c that is what you will find. The staff member that I dealt with was overloaded with academics and working a lot of hours at the hostel. Well, not working but being there. I asked her to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grettasmith
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. The dog poop was an accident and was deeply clean afterwards. We have cleaned out the showers and provided a shower rack for people to put their bottles on so that they are not on the floor. The mattresses are covered to prevent bed bugs which they have done effectively for the past seven years....

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just because Hostels are great in Europe does not mean you'll enjoy this one. The beds were worse than sleeping on the ground and they are wrapped in a heavy vinyl so anytime anyone moves in the bed, it's super loud. The showers were filthy, staff was pretentious, and they don't wash the blankets. I watched the lady wash the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nader A
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank your for your review. At the time you stayed, our laundry room was in the back in a private house, so I am not sure how you watched an employee wash the sheets. We use high efficiency biodegradable detergent for sheets and blankets. The mattresses are wrapped for protection and we offer extra blankets to everyone if they want...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I am giving NotSo Hostel a "very good" rather than "average" rating because, as other reviewers have noted, the price and location are excellent. I think if I was college-aged I would have given this place 5-stars, but for older travelers I would have to warn that the bathroom and common spaces are not very clean and the organization of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vespartina
Raleigh
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I ended up having to stay here on a complete accident and fell in love with the place! Nicole and Emily were extremely nice and very helpful! The two kitchens allows you too cook your own food and eat the provided breakfast. Even though I was only there two days and was only able to sleep there I can see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbills63

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Aimee Room (14)
Viewed
The Andrew Adams Room (29)
Viewed
The Brazil Room (13)
Viewed
The Cyprus Room (18)
Viewed
The Dylan Room (13)
Viewed
The Goldman Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (340)
Viewed
The Kendall Room (28)
Viewed
The Kenya Room (19)
Viewed
The Kingsolver Room (17)
Viewed
The Taylor Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
7.3 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,764 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
1,119 reviews
1.3 km away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $82 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Charleston's NotSo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in the Cyprus Room. Seemed a little more quiet than the main house.”
794kelsiep, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Air bnb next door should be good.”
C6321HMjohnp, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“relax, deep breathe and enjoy”
TravelingTnHillbilly, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“i think the rooms are all pretty much the samebut i prefer the rooms i side the main house as i like to go down for coffee in my pajamas....”
255mima, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Staid in room in building 2 stairs, 6 rooms in backyard. A kitchen. A balcony with chairs to relax. great for couples.”
K5504RKbrunop, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5