We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

672 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 653: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is awesome, and the staff all the way across the board is great, rooms we're very clean, and property well maintained. The management was super,.The Asst manager went out of his way several times to get cabs and help with some other things Greg Deferiico is a true leader and handled himself very professional in my presence. SO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al N
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure you were comfortable. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights on a tourist visit to Charleston. Liked the spacious, clean room with comfortable beds. Fitness room is small but adecuately equipped and also clean. Breakfast is ok, nice oranges. Location: exactly 1.5 km walk along Spring Street to get to King Street, the heart of downtown Charleston. For us, that was ok, especially as the walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katarina2311
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to meeting any of your future lodging needs. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite, and if I were to rate this room based solely on appearance, size, and cleanliness, I would give it five stars. However, the heating unit was not working properly. It was either really hot or really cold. There was no comfortable temperature. The TV in the living area only went up to channel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We offer our most sincere apologies for the malfunctioning air conditioning unit in your room. We have addressed the issue to ensure your experience is not repeated. We look forward to your next visit and once again thank you for choosing...

Carolina Mountains, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to travel to Charleston on an emergency and this stay was last minute. The place as everything else around there was being renovated bu it was very nice and clean the bed was so comfortable the best we have encountered in all our stays at different hotels I felt it was a little pricey but it was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our area and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took a side-trip to Charleston from Savannah and was extremely pleased with my stay at this hotel. All staff were wonderfully pleasant and very helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Felt secure and safe. Nice breakfast selection with quality food items. Looking forward to my next trip to this historic city. Will definitely stay at this hotel again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammra E
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our city. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Charleston, South Carolina for a short business trip and stayed in this hotel because of its proximity to the client. First, even tough it says it is Downtown, you need to know what Ashley River means in this context, it is actually on the left side of downtown and away from most attractions, restaurants, etc. Luckily there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We apologize for the surrounding construction and are very sorry to hear that it negatively impacted your experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain your business in the future. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was recently In Charleston for my dad’s treatment at MUSC. My dad sat down in the lobby chair and was unable to get him up. The beautiful sales gale (Rosey) came over and helped me lift him into his wheelchair. My father was a little embarrassed at first as he is very independent. She noticed that and proceeded to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ph0cas
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to make such an impact on your experience. We take great pride in delivering our guest with exceptional service and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to your next visit to our area. Thank you again for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.

Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is clean, the rooms are clean and large. Breakfast is good, definitely more than average. Staff is willing to help. Parking was a bit of a problem as they are building on the side of the hotel.We needed to park on a side road of the hotel. Construction is starting at 8AM, we dind't have any problems with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmathijssen
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston. Thank you again for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel I've stayed in! Arrived on Friday afternoon after a long drive. No parking, had to park in gravel make shift lot! Hotel was surrounded by construction. We were on 8th floor, in a one bedroom with adjoining living room. We overlooked a construction site that was loud and had work going on at early morning hours, even on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjorie M
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We offer our most sincere apologies for the elevators being out. The problems you experience are unacceptable and have since been addressed with both our Maintenance and Housekeeping staff. Please feel free to contact me on my direct line (843-722-3521) if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail. Thank you again...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Photos included. Must see. Very dusty lampshades. Climate control filthy vent, and would not even turn on. Bed dust-ruffle torn and frayed. Curtain bottom corner torn and frayed. Closet door off track. Could not open or close. No water for about two hours one morning-when we needed to shower, of course.... Was was good.... clean sheets, comfy bed. No, will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had at our hotel. We have addressed the issues you faced with both our Maintenance and Housekeeping staff to ensure that your experience is not repeated. We offer our most sincere apologies for these inexcusable mistakes. Please feel free to call me on my direct...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.5 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $152 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Brookfield, Connecticut
3 months ago
San Angelo, Texas
6 months ago
over a year ago
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors away from the construction are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeH601, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a riverview!”
  • Electrical outlet without cover, yikes!
  • Bathroom curtain would not stay open beyond this
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
  • Change left behind by those previously in the room
  • My
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
 of 5 bubbles NCRNmom, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for floors 7 or 8 to at least get a view and try the river side”
 of 5 bubbles curtreich, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have nicer view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougal71, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors have better views and seemed quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Colleen072015, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay