We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area

Save
Share
250 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$153
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-20
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$179
US$148
View deal
SAVE US$31
HIExpress.comUS$153
Priceline
travelup.comUS$179
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (153)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (174)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 73 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical area. We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
892Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 289
  • 260
  • 183
  • 90
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joanna Forst wrote a review Apr. 9
5 contributions2 helpful votes
I have absolutely never had such a negative experience at a hotel and I can’t imagine all the factors that made this situation happen. We arrived to the hotel at 10 pm (mind you check in was at 4). We were told there were no rooms clean at the time. There was a crowd of people receiving the same information. The woman at the desk (no name tag though she later told me her name was Deltrice) was obviously very frustrated with the situation and ran out of empathy for the customers who similarly were frustrated. No time frame was given. Supposedly, 123 rooms were checked out of earlier in the day and there were only two housecleaning staff who were assigned 21 rooms each and that apparently was more than usual but still not enough to cover the need. Al this information seemed to be provided to satisfy customers and was reiterated numerous times throughout the couple hours I stood in the lobby waiting. Additionally, we (the mass of people waiting in lobby) were informed they were “trying to find the general manager” who was supposedly in London. To make matters worse, there was no hot water in the hotel for at least an hour and the maintenance man was woken up to come fix it. All this almost unbelievable situation was now being placed on my family, which consisted of my husband and I with our 6 month old baby who had just flown in from Alaska thinking we would stay at a convenient, close, name brand, reputable hotel near the airport. Well, again we were never given a time frame for how long it would take to get our one bed room which I had called to confirm numerous times in the preceding weeks. I had also called in advanced to reserve a crib. Now, after 2.5 hours of being told they were “finding” a room to clean, they offered keys to a room with no crib. I asked housekeeping who later brought a crib and we were finally settled into our room after 1:30 am. The crib had paint chips with rusty metal and a torn mattress (I do have photos). I made due with blankets brought from home to make shift a cleaner safer place for our baby carrying the burden of this disaster on my family for making the worst reservation in my life. So here we are having paid for a room we couldn’t even get into for half our stay. The hotel in itself was in disrepair, though it was apparent the staff were at least trying their best. That said, NO a staff were wearing masks despite a sign in the lobby stating it is required for everyone to wear. Customers were also not asked to wear masks. My husband appropriately deemed the hotel as a “covid breeding ground” which was reinforced as absolutely no precautions were taken to ensure breakfast was sanitary or safe. On at least 5 occasions I asked to just be refunded so we could leave and drive to a different hotel near our destination in Carolina Shores. Each attempt I was dismissed by Deltrice who repeated she’d find a room and leave. I was calm and cordial to the staff, which was obviously led to them ignoring me while customers who shouted and cursed got rooms first. I was only given a room after staff noticed me silently crying (because of my baby being in this lobby with people all standing around with no masks, not to mention one man who was blatantly stealing beer from the hotel fridge). Another man took three bottles of water without paying which staff were aware of and just shrugged. All in all the whole scene was something you’d see in a movie because of simply how terribly it all played out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Holly K wrote a review Mar. 2021
3 contributions
My husband and I booked this hotel for our anniversary trip to Charleston and chose it because it was one of the few affordable options within walking distance of downtown. However, the service and amenities were extremely disappointing. We stayed four nights, but nobody ever cleaned our room and we were given only two towels and one washcloth. The shower took a long time to get hot, there was no fan in the bathroom, and the AC unit sounded like a freight train whenever it came on. Our second morning there we were woken up at 7 a.m. by the fire alarm going off in our room, which was terrifying. It turned off after 30 seconds or so and was apparently caused by a minor event in the kitchen. I know because I asked at the front desk but the hostess was extremely uninterested in hearing how frightening that had been to wake up to. Oh yeah, and our room smelled like smoke at check-in even though it is a no smoking hotel. They were booked and couldn't switch us so they sent up a guy with fabreze or something to spray around, which really didn't work. We had to leave the windows open for the rest of the evening to air things out. Bottom line: this hotel was clean and safe enough and located a doable 2-mile walk from downtown. However, it falls far short of what you would usually expect of a Holiday Inn Express.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelly Brown, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear U6085RRhollyk Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Charleston and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. From our failure to communicate IHG Covid cleaning protocols to the fire alarm going off, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. I am sincerely sorry! We strive to provide our guests an exceptional stay and we very much hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future for a much for typical stay. Sincerely, Shelly Brown Guest Relations
Read more
Sarah G wrote a review Mar. 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina3 contributions1 helpful vote
Dirty place to stay .Very outdated.Noisy a/c, terrible breakfast choices and no coffee , filthy water in the pool . Trash all over the grounds , crappy parking and an rude staff that doesn’t care. Sad.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelly Brown, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SarahgH8922YR, I am so incredibly disappointed to read your review and would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. We very much care for our guests and strive to provide an exceptional stay for each and every one. I am sincerely sorry that your experience fell short of expectations. Again, my sincerest apologies. We'd very much love to welcome you back for a more typical stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to Charleston. Sincerely, Shelly Brown Guest Relations
Read more
L K wrote a review Mar. 2021
New York City, New York12 contributions11 helpful votes
I booked this hotel two months ago. We drove 9 hours to get there and arrived at 4 pm, after the 3 pm check in. We were told there were no rooms ready and we had to wait. We waited 45 minutes and when I spoke to them again, they said "Let me go and have a smoke and then I will see about your room" . We went in again and asked about our room and the manager accidentally let it slip that they had overbooked and it would be an hour. But she couldn't tell me what would happen in an hour...would we get a room or would we still be waiting. Many others were also waiting around. This is the worst run hotel I have ever encountered. Holiday Inn should be ashamed of the way this is run and the lack of efficiency. We ended up leaving - without a refund - and had to find something else on the fly...after a nine hour drive! The manager was NOT helpful. The three workers that she said were overwhelmed with rooms to clean were in the front parking lot smoking. Will never ever go to a holiday Inn again. I suggest you do the same!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelly Brown, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lk3456, I am so incredibly disappointed to read your review and I am sincerely sorry for your experience. Please email me at sbrown@northph.com, so I can assist in making this right. Sincerely, Shelly Brown Guest Relations
Read more
hmhawk93 wrote a review Mar. 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a very disappointing stay. When me and the other guests arrived, our first room had a soaked carpet and bathroom, as well as an extremely dirty carpet all along the hallway floor where our first room was on. When we were requesting another room originally, we were told by the employee at the front she was going to go get Houskeeping to confront the situation. A lady came from the back office with a spray bottle in her hand and asked, “what’s going on?” I then asked, “Are you with Housekeeping?” She then became visibly offended and in a very snarky tone, “Uh no...I am the Sales Manager.” Needless to say we were caught off guard with the attitude. Once we were moved to our second room, our key did not work, and we had to get our key fixed 3 separate times and still did not work until we were just finally issued a Master Key. Once in the room, the toilet clogged with nothing in it, the tub didn’t drain, there was black dust all over one bed, and there were a few spiders visiting us in the bathroom. We were so over the inconvenience, that we just wanted a clean place to stay and didn’t have the energy to move our luggage and selves to a whole different hotel. I must also add that to receive a plunger for our toilet, it took 2 separate calls to the front and a total of a 30 minute wait. Also, when we originally asked for new keys, the employee literally told us to “try kicking the door in” because “calling someone for maintenance and management meant they had to leave their home to come service us” since the employee did not have a master key. We were told we would have a free night due to all of the inconveniences. Upon check out, the receipt had only refunded us the $98.80 stay and not the more expensive night which was $189.05, leaving our total of $217.52 for the worst hotel services and experiences we had ever encountered. The lady at the front gave us an extremely hard time for asking for a greater discount. Eventually she did refund us another $59.00, which was far more of a fight than it should have been. To top it all off once we finally left, we had to once again return to a front desk for yet ANOTHER refund for the parking garage fees that they had “apparently” validated. We only hope to see that refund along with the numerous others on our card this week. Multiple times COVID and the lack of employees were used as excuses for very poor service and malfunctioning rooms. This illegitimate excuse was even more reason to never return to this hotel again, and to warn others to second guess their potential stay. I can only hope they confront their weaknesses and provide a better experience for future guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelly Brown, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Hannah, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We are incredibly disappointed to read your review and are sincerely sorry for your less than exceptional stay. We attempted to resolve this to your satisfaction while you were on property at our hotel. We refunded half of your stay, provided you with free validated parking, and even brought a gift basket up to you and your guests as an apology. I am sorry to hear those efforts still fell short. My sincerest apologies and thank you again for your feedback. Sincerely, Shelly Brown Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western charleston, charleston best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Nearby attractions include Aqua Terrace Roof-Top Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saffire Restaurant & Bar, Bruegger's Bagels, and Daily Grind.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (2.6 km), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (2.2 km), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (3.2 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.