We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

HIExpress.comUS$120*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

716 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 697: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is downtown across the street from the Ashley river. Easy access to expressway to go to Folly beach but not walking distance to historical downtown but there is a trolley or you can easily drive to the historic section, parking is not that hard to find. There is parking at the hotel but it fills up quickly, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob5006
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Rob5006, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay at our hotel. Although we are not located in the Historic District, we are within 2 miles of all the popular attractions on the peninsula! I am glad you were able to drive there...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The highlight of our stay at this hotel was the breakfast buffet, which was far more than I had expected. However, the air conditioner in the room was incredibly loud and since it turned on and off, sleeping was difficult at best. When the A/C was off, the road noise and sirens through what apparently were Saran Wrap thick windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, We wanted to thank you for choosing our property for your stay in Charleston. We apologize for the issues you encountered and have made sure all th staff are aware and all issues have been addressed. We do hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Best regards, Staff & Management

Staunton, Virginia
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I frequently stay at Holiday Inns all over the east coast because we have a credit card that allows us to earn points toward free nights. Most of the rooms are very clean, but not this one! The bathroom was especially dirty. As I was doing my make-up, I had a cockroach fly across the vanity, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcelveen_ka
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear mcelveen_ka, Thank you for taking the time share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that our manager was able to offer fair compensation for your unpleasant experience. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and I am so sorry to hear that you experienced anything less than such. We did indeed have the pest control company...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Overall, very clean, nice hotel. I don't know if you should request a room on the other side of the hotel, but we had one facing the street we came in on. Starting about 9pm until finally falling asleep, there were sirens (police or ambulance, not sure) that went up and down the street at least once an hour, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emarie2015
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear emarie2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had and overall positive experience with our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience with the sirens and helicopter noises due to the nearby hospital. I understand how frustrating this can be when you are trying to rest....

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two nights on a 2week holiday....it certainly is a long way from downtown and you need to get a taxi...uber seems the best choice.The hotel was reasonably priced and clean and breakfast was included.we managed to use the pool which was fine on a hot southern day. If you have time to book stay somewhere more down town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPRedman
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear RPRedman, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. We love our city and are glad to hear you enjoyed the attractions and had a chance to cool off at the pool! While we are not located in the Historic District,...

Port Charlotte, Florida, Usa
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Typical Holiday Inn clean, competently and relatively accessible. The usual and expected amenities. Pool, Usual breakfast. Friendly staff. Not exactly walking distance to historic s section . Ample parking, nice view of Ashley river

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Phillip B, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and that our amenities met your needs. We realize that you have options on where to stay in Downtown and certainly appreciate you choosing us for your visit to Charleston. We hope to...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I traveled to Charleston because my brother was having a serious operation at MUSC. I wanted to be there for him, and my sister-in-law said that this hotel offered special rates for people with loved ones at MUSC. She mentioned $79, and a microwave and refrigerator. The fridge and microwave were important to me, because I am currently on Nutrisystem,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara R
Tyler D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Barbara R, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel was accommodating to your weight loss needs! We truly value our partnership with MUSC and are so glad we have the ability to provide accommodations for patients and their...

Georgia, United States
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Curious staff is the only reason it is two stars instead of 1. Housekeeping didn't change out shampoo/conditioner/mouthwash bottles in restroom. Shower didn't function properly and I slipped and fell against the toilet. The safe in the hotel locked with my laptop and values inside and wouldn't open. First thing in the morning two maintenance men are drilling through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Jack M, We wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us while in Charleston. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and have addressed the issues with Maintenance and Housekeeping. We thank you for your feedback and comments as it helps us to continue to improve our service and procedures. We hope you will...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The staff was great! Carol Westbrook, Myeisha Gaskins, and Dierdra were very sweet and accommodating. Carol was especially kind as we were celebrating a birthday. Room was clean, pool was very nice, and buffet was very good. All around great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chameleon313
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear chameleon313, We are delighted you chose to spend your birthday with us while in Charleston. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope you will be coming back to stay with us again soon. Best regards, Management

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We came down for our 10 year anniversary. The staff was great, very clean and budget friendly. Just minutes from downtown and 15 min to Folly Beach. Several fast food restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BWJW2006
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear BWJW2006, We are grateful for you choosing to stay with us for your anniversary. Thank you for your review of your experience and we hope you will be back again for another anniversary stay. Best regards, Management

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $198 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor, river view”
rosalindb591, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Two sides of the hotel look out onto roadworks or a building site.”
markg973, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Book thru a 3rd party for a better deal.”
sherw00d28, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“make sure the construction next door is over”
lbator1, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility, and service”
taylorv139, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$159
Booking.comUS$120
Expedia.comUS$120
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates