We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,072 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,048: English reviews
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My family and I have had to stay here for an entire month last year because of a fire in our home, and now we are in between homes and had a couple of weeks before we can move into our new home and we wouldn't have chosen any other hotel! Everyone here is so friendly and helpful!! The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigi T
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gigi T! We're so glad that we can make this transitional time for you an easier one with a great hotel and staff who can help you with a smile! We take great pride in our service to guests, and we cannot wait for you to stay with us again!

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We had a fabulous time before our cruise. The hotel was just right for parking our car, while cruising. The hotel was redone . I slept like a rock! The bed and sheets were comfortable. We stayed on the first floor next to pool. The morning breakfast was good. The shuttle picked us up and carried us to the port....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn Minshew M... m
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Joann! We hope you had a blast during your cruise! Our most popular package that we love to offer is of course the cruise package because we get to help you stress less before your vacation and see our guests' smiling faces when they return from a much needed vacation! We hope the next cruise you book you will...

Taylors, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Was pleasantly surprised. Good breakfast, clean rooms, and beautiful pool. Comfy beds. Big TV. Needs better parking. A little out of the way of things but close enough. Would surely recommend to friends and family and i will visit again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul K! It is good to see we surprised you with a great experience when you stayed with us here in Charleston. We value the opinions of our guests in hopes that we will be the first hotel you think of when you come back to visit Charleston! We hope to see you again soon!

Sanford, NC, United States
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Very nice place to stay. The employees were very helpful anytime I needed anything. The pool was great and very clean and the lounge chairs and tables around were like new. Free breakfast was great. Would stay here next time we are in Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Daniel R! It's always good to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We love our pool also! We take pride in having the best pool in the Charleston area. We hope you will be staying with us again in the near future!

Elizabethtown, KY
Reviewed 19 September 2015

The staff at the BW Sweetgrass Inn were super helpful and professional it is clear the hotel is very well managed. The rooms are cean and the grounds are well taken care of. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms seem to be just rennovated. Breakfast was nice and the hostess, Carol was fantastic She was kind and treated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElCid83
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi ElCid83! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Charleston! We are always excited when our guests have a pleasant experience. We hope this means we will be seeing you again the next time you visit the city!

Reviewed 18 September 2015

Comfortable beds, clean linens, updated bathrooms, nice exterior, clean pool, helpful staff. The only drawback was the cloying scent of mildew or mold in our room. Regardless, we stayed three nights:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dacotah Q
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dacotah Q, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately the Charleston weather makes it very difficult to prevent this issue, but with the weather cooling down it makes guests more attracted to the area of Charleston during this season. We hope we will see you again soon and take advantage of this beautiful weather!

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 September 2015

It depends on the day you book if this is a good value. My room was great and I like a hotel that you can just drive up to with an outward facing door. But the price differences for weekday, weekend, busy times, etc. Make this a very inconsistent place for me to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Wendy S! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at Best Western. We do take pride in having a great value for our guests and an excellent experience. Now the season is starting to slow down for travelers so we try to encourage our guests to visit Charleston in the Fall and...

Reviewed 13 September 2015

This hotel is in excellent condition, well maintained with a staff that is friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is items on the continental breakfast were gone before we arrived. We arrived about 90 minutes into service.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinae760
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Christinae960! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience while you were staying with us here in the beautiful city of Charleston! I do hate that there weren't all the irresistible items that get eaten so quickly out there for you during the busiest hour of breakfast. We hope we will be seeing you again in...

Greenville, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Close to Folly Beach with out being on it and paying the big $$$, this hotel is close to amenities and only a 15 minute drive to downtown Charleston or Folly Beach. If you like a nice pillow-top bed...this place is for you! They have a nice outdoor pool and breakfast in the morning. Outside access to rooms and you...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer G
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer G! It is great to hear that you had a great stay while you were here visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to inform potential future guests about all the great amenities we have to offer! We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon!

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I chose this hotel because #1 it was proximal to the airport, #2 it was pet friendly and #3 it wouldn't hit my wallet too hard. My bride was returning from visiting her family in Tennessee and returning via Southwest at 4:30 p.m. to CHS. We live at the beach and I thought it would be a nice surprise for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigMikeinMB
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear BigMikeinMB, Thank you for highlighting all the great amenities we offer at our hotel! We are always delighted to hear when guests have such an awesome experience! We not only strive for a comfortable stay but to provide excellent customer service as well. We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon!

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 60 in Charleston
207 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $155 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Maplewood, New Jersey
Charlotte, North Carolina
3 months ago
East Providence

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“two stories, no elevators. rooms do not open to pool.”
 of 5 bubbles K5013DYdonnap, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go to back of hotel, rooms need upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles sadler8613, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No problem to recommend this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles Theyeddie, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It looked like it would be lovely to have a pool view room, but they all seemed like they would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 985tiffanye, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pet Friendly available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shanghai-McCoy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5