We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,027: English reviews
Lugoff, United States
Reviewed 3 June 2015

This was a very nice hotel and extremely friendly staff! I will definitely recommend to all to stay here! My son loved the pool! The breakfast was great and the lady was so helpful and nice! The rooms were clean the bed was amazing comfortable! The location was easy to get to from I-26 and close enough to downtown that...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca H
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca! We're so glad that you and your son took advantage of our newly renovated pool! It is a feature of the hotel we are very proud of and makes a vacation so much more relaxing. We hope to see you again soon!

Baltimore, United States
Reviewed 3 June 2015

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn in Charleston, South Carolina. It was a short drive to the Historic area.. The Best Western is a motel rather than a Hotel. The Breakfast Included was good. The rates are very affordable. The room was clean and comfortable. Charleston is a Fun place to visit. Don't forget...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edmond F
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Edmond F, Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you during your stay here in Charleston. We are delighted we could provide you a positive experience! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area!

Greenville, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Have stayed here multiple times and will continue to return when I am in the area. Love the staff. Always nice and friendly. Have to visit Carol for breakfast. She will make your day. Goes out of her way to make sure you are taken care of. Lots of good eating places in area also.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry L
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Terry! Thank you for being a loyal guest with us! We are always delighted to hear of guests returning, and that we can provide you a great experience during your stay in the area. We will see you again soon!

Garwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Stayed there with my wife for 4 nights around Memorial Day. Excellent service, above average breakfast, large and well kept pool (10' deep at one end). Nice rooms, evidently newer built hotel. Within 10min of downtown Charleston, but without the noise and crowds, and for much more reasonable price... Also, a lot of lunch/branch type places within walking distance, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank totalman99
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Totalman99! Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you during your stay here in Charleston. We are delighted we could provide you a positive experience! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015

We had two nights at the Sweetgrass. It is an older hotel but recently refurbished, the grounds were neat and the gardens well landscaped and colourful. The pool looked inviting, although we didn't take a dip. The room was nicely furnished, the beds comfortable with lovely linen, and the shower hot and strong. Having an onsite coin laundry was an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy2233
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Judy! Thank you for allowing us to accommodate you during your stay here in Charleston. We are delighted we could provide you a positive experience! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area! P.S. Bessinger's BBQ is pretty great! All our staff love the food so we always recommend!

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We enjoy BW hotels and this was no exception, a good location, attractive property, professional and friendly staff at what I believe to be a reasonable rate; about $100 per night and a free breakfast for two-that sounds good to me.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn! We would be delighted to have you back again the next time you are in the area. Have a great weekend!

Reviewed 27 May 2015

I stayed at the Best Western Sweetgrass Inn in 2011 and thought it was a great location at a very good price. My most recent stay, April 2015, showed me how much things can change in a short period of time. The room we were given at check-in was unacceptable - it was damp and smelled of bleach to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Er T
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Er T, It saddens me to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us! The pool was closed for renovations while you were here unfortunately, but it is open and has been fully renovated. We hope the next time you are in town that you take advantage of our newly introduced room types that were also created...

Reviewed 27 May 2015

Very expensive for quality..one of the older Best Westerns, but convenient to Charleston. Indifferent cleaning staff. Check your bill very carefully at check out as we had long distance phone charges added to ours.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 292bonniem
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie! We are glad that we could accommodate you during your visit to the Charleston area! We hope next time you are in town that you take advantage of our newly introduced room types added during renovations this year as you will enjoy the vaulted ceilings in the rooms with an excellent view of our newly renovated pool. Thank...

Elkhorn, United States
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The 2nd day we were there we came back to our room after a day full of activities to find our door had been left wide open by housekeeping. I reported it to the desk person, who did not pass the information on to anyone. later that night someone tried getting in our room, almost as if housekeeping left it...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natolie M
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Natolie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn. We apologize that it was not the best experience for you, and we hope the next time you visit the area you will stay with us again to see we have made great improvements in all departments of the...

Conway, South Carolina
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The hotel is very nice, conveniently located. Landscaping and grounds, very good. Staff friendly and helpful. I plan on rebooking in next two weeks, again. Wish there had been an elevator, maybe a few extra pillows in the room. A good and comfortable experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaroleK J
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn! It is always a pleasure accommodating loyal members to the Best Western brand as we strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. We hope to see you the next time you visit the area!

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
197 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $126 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It looked like it would be lovely to have a pool view room, but they all seemed like they would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 985tiffanye, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pet Friendly available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shanghai-McCoy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like rooms on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 379roberts379, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 120. Parked in front of room, in main building. Ice machine close. View of pool ( very nicely landscaped) very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraB34, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have only been on the back side”
 of 5 bubbles Z2038DEtinas, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5