We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Save
Share
301 Savannah Highway U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
HolidayInn.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-24
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$117
US$99
View deal
SAVE US$18
Expedia.comUS$116
PricelineUS$116
Trip.comUS$117
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20-12-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Updated 20-12-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#56 of 73 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
79Reviews7Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 24
  • 16
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dana N wrote a review Apr. 3
15 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights. This is an old but clean hotel. We had problems with our first room. We were moved and received a discount because they didn’t have the type of room we had expected. My problem was that they would not clean the room. I was fine on day one, but expected housekeeping on the second day. I was told that the room would not be cleaned until we checked out We could just put our trash outside the door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy McCauley, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for the review and feedback. Our apologies for not meeting your expectations. As the world continues to battle the COVID-19 crisis, Housekeeping has become an increasingly critical topic and an important part of our IHG Way of Clean Program. Our apologies for the miscommunication. There should have been a flyer that was handed out to you at the time of checking in. For the safety of both Guests & Staff, the program has limited our housekeeper’s entry into the guest room to every three days (or once every five days for Extended Stay guests). Again, we are sorry your experience was not more positive. Please know that we genuinely appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Jay wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Had an issue with check in which was eventually resolved. Then went to the rooftop bar which had apparently already done last call but we didn’t know that and they let us in. The very nice woman asked us if we wanted drinks. The male bartender was so rude to us when she offered us drinks. He got an attitude with me about asking for ice in my drink. Terrible location. You are literally in between two busy roads. The only thing in walking distance is the waffle house. Beds and room were ok. The bathroom had cheap finishes and shower walls were not clean. If there was no other option I would stay here again but definitely not my first choice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy McCauley, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the review and feedback. Our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. The concern(s) you mentioned will certainly be addressed with the concerned party. Please know that we value your business. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Steph S wrote a review Mar. 2021
Caldwell, Idaho215 contributions34 helpful votes
The hotel rooms are pretty run down and it’s a busy location. Tiny bathrooms! We had to switch rooms right away because there was hair all over the bathroom floor. Then the drain in the new room was plugged when I went to shower the next morning. The front desk must have been busy because it took a few calls to get them to answer. The staff was attentive when I voiced concerns. The restaurant was a good experience. Yummy food and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy McCauley, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for the review and feedback. We are grateful that the friendliness of our staff was recognized. To compliment that we’ve worked really hard to offer the best food in the best possible environment, so we are happy to see that reflected on your most recent visit to our hotel. Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority. Our staff is normally known for their exceptional service to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark. On behalf of the entire team, we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate hotel team. Please know that we genuinely appreciate your business.
Read more
Bill Buster Charters wrote a review Mar. 2021
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina259 contributions78 helpful votes
I’ve been staying at this Holiday Inn for 40 years. This is the first time I’ve ever had any issues. The they were very very busy. I called room service for two hours and nobody answered the phone. Then when I did finally get through they told me they were too busy to deal with it. It’s been a long day I’ve been at a wedding and driving around and I didn’t feel like going up to the restaurant and eat and I just wanted to eat in my room and go to bed. I’ll continue to stay here because it’s convenient for me and I have loyalty an old schoolFriend used to run that hotel. The traffic in Charleston is horrible and the city fathers don’t seem to care about doing anything about it just keep building and building and building.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy McCauley, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. Our staff is normally known for their exceptional service and we regret that we missed the mark. The concern(s) you mentioned will certainly be addressed with the concerned party. Please know that we value your business. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Joe C wrote a review Mar. 2021
4 contributions
Not sure why this has four stars...this property is outdated, worn, disgustingly kept and honestly a sh—t hole. The only people who give this more than one star are themselves on par with how the hotel is kept. Had to come into town last minute and this was all thats available. I’d describe it as dingy, small, outdated, overpriced and generally garbage. Rooms small/dirty, staff are as helpful as you could be at a dump, bed cleanliness is at a -1 and the walls are paper thin. The neighbors were “fooling around” all night and thats what we heard, the others were smoking weed and yelling all day. The low class waffle house is right next to the hotel and derelicts were partying in that parking lot all night. Ontop of that you’re litterally 1 foot away from a highway so you’ll be hearing that all night as an addition to the love making and partying. Don’t lie to yourself, this is one step above a trailer park motel if not the same thing in a different form. FYI, restaurant and lobby are garbage as well. This is not a one off review, the amount of dirt and badly kept facilities shows this hotel has long been neglected so STAY AWAY, of course unless you enjoy all that stuff then definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy McCauley, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. I believe the General Manager has since reached out to you to address your concerns. Again, we are sorry your experience was not more positive. Please know that we genuinely appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn charleston riverview hotel charleston, charleston holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Nearby attractions include Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park (1.1 km), Historic Rice Mill (1.2 km), and Brittlebank Park (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ye Ole Fashioned Ice Cream & Sandwich Cafe, Three Little Birds Cafe & Catering, and California Dreaming Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (3.3 km), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (3.0 km), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.2 km).
Does Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.