We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Carowinds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Carowinds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Minden
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Best value/accommodation for traveling north/south to Florida. Friendly/helpful staff, Clean room, good TV, Good internet, new heat/ac units. Very good access to Interstate 79, Very handy access to gas stations..

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you next time! Have a great day!

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I recently made a trip to visit family in the area, and booked this hotel through Travelocity. At the last minute, I found out that I would be able to stay with a family member for the last two days of my trip and only needed one of the three nights I had booked with the hotel. I notified the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had such a rough time with your reservation. On third party bookings such as Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, etc. We are unable to refund you personally due to the fact that you paid the company not us directly. With your situation I personally refunded the card for Travelocity, so that they could give you the refund...

Berlin, MD
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Tried to reserve a four-night stay on line at this hotel while at home, but it apparently was booked fully for at least one of the days on our intended stay. After a fiasco with three unsatisfactory rooms a a nearby hotel we decided to give this one a shot over the counter. The desk clerk was able to accommodate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P M
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. I apologize that the Decaf coffee ran out on your mornings. We hope to see you again in the near future! Have a great day!

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We stayed there 3 times and it was consistent. We paid a little more each time due to price rate increases everywhere. The area feels safe, the breakfast OK. We like a place with waffles which, alone, earned one of the stars. Hampton Inns are better, but not worth the extra $30 more. We think of it as "Hampton Lite".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bingo-player1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back soon, our breakfast will include a build your own yogurt bar as well as toppings for your waffles. Have a great day!

Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I stayed overnight for business and normally stay in more expensive hotels. I didn't do the breakfast or even see what was served. I work in this area, but live two hours away. I stayed at this location so I wouldn't have to make a two hour drive home late at night plus it is close to where I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could provide you with a little extra rest. Hope to see you again. Have a great day!

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 November 2015

First thing I like the Best Western chain, I think they provide good quality and great price. This hotel is located literally walking distance to the Carowinds Theme Park, which is awesome. The rooms were clean, up to date, and spacious. The beds were comfy but the pillow were too soft for me. The price was good. My biggest complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josue C
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, We are glad to announce that starting this year we are hoping before April to have updated our Breakfast to include a build your own yogurt bar as well as build your own waffle bar. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

I do not usually rate chains, we should expect the standard. Am a member of most from Marriott Rewards to La Quinta and all in between. Having pushed hard to make time from Atlanta I was dismayed to find a sign on the front desk "back in 10 min." Well 20 min later and other guests (already checked in) in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel, First off I would like to apologize for the incidents that occured during your stay. We hope that you will decide to give us a second chance to exceed your expectations! Have a wonderful day!

Moneta, Virginia
Reviewed 5 November 2015

The staff were very pleasant and professional The room on the ground floor was great for 4 of us with lots of extra room. The area of the hotel was great and central for what we were doing. The only little complaint I have is the breakfast, it really wasn't anything special and the others in my party really couldn't...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britbabenow
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased to hear that our hotel and location meet needs perfectly. We are trying to improve upon our breakfast so next time you stay there will be more selections. Hope you have a wonderful day!

Reviewed 5 November 2015

Excellent CLEAN Room - Stay Date: 11-2-3-2015. Good Rate for type of room and features. Simple-Breakfast - Cold use some work-Needs more hot food & food layout not enough space for everything! Overall 3-4 Star mainly due to fact this property is almost new and has not been beaten up yet. Will see in the years to come if it...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nelsonh456
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! This hotel was built in 2002 but we have been renovating throughout the years to keep up with the Best Western Brand standard, in the past months our lobby has been renovated, next year will be our guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope...

Fort Mills, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Best Western Carowinds is located right off Interstate 77 just south of Charlette. It is easy to get back on 77 going south. Their is a new Cabela's and amusment park close by. Several restrurants are close and convienent. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast served at 6:30 AM. Staff friendly and sharp.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William A
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a 5 star review! We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for mentioning the amenities in the area as we are located around lots of wonderful attractions that the fort mill/charlotte area has to offer. Have a wonderful day!

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 9 in Fort Mill
128 reviews
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Mill
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
5.6 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte
Sonesta ES Suites Charlotte
#8 of 175 in Charlotte
503 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn at Carowinds
Quality Inn at Carowinds
#4 of 9 in Fort Mill
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest Room Amenities: Cable television, 27 inch with full cable, over 60 channels including, ESPN and CNN, High-speed Internet access, Coffee/tea maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Hairdryer, Iron, ironing board, Desk/work area, Dataports, AM/FM alarm clock, Free local calls, Voicemail, Air-conditioning, Jacuzzi® suites limited availability Non-smoking Rooms: Available Suites: 6 Public Space ADA Accessible Features: Accessible parking spaces and signage (car and van), An accessible route that allows for approaching and entering the hotel, An accessible lobby entrance door, An accessible reception desk or accessible folding shelf or reception area, Public restrooms accessible Guest Room Mobility Accessible Features: Accessible doors and doorways (at least 32-inches of clear width passage), Accessible bathrooms and features, including shower/tub, Accessible room controls (e.g. HVAC and lighting), Accessible clear floor space Guest Room Communication Assist Features: Closed-caption televisions, Telephones have volume control. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carowinds

Address: 3675 Foothills Way, Fort Mill, SC 29708-9299
Region: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Best Western Fort Mill
Fort Mill Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Carowinds staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Carowinds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Q7071ZXdonnab, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our ground floor room was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 694starn, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the third floor, if possible. Much, Much less noise from overhead rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 937pm, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms were OK if you need accessible needs.”
 of 5 bubbles SC29710, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take an upper level room to avoid noise from above, otherwise, the walls are well insulated.”
 of 5 bubbles StaceyH607, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5