Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (49)
Our most spacious suite and good for any business traveler
Room & Suite (37)
You had me at cinnamon! Free Fresh HOT Signature Cinnamon Rolls!
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#34 of 74 hotels in Greenville
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Greenville is home to some of the largest and most exciting industries, including Fluor, Windstream, GE, Michelin and BMW. This Greenville, SC hotel's location is close to the hustle and bustle of Main Street and minutes from I-385 and I-85, as well as within walking distance of everything from the Bon Secours Wellness Arena to the endless downtown restaurants and shops.Business travelers enjoy the convenience of free wired and wireless Internet access in all the hotel's rooms. With Greenville, SC businesses from Michelin to BMW, you'll have convenient access and a quick commute to meetings.Visitors to Artisphere, Fall for Greenville or the many other seasonal festivals enjoy the hotel's downtown Greenville, SC address. A moment beneath the lighted trees of Main Street will convince you why Great Places in America named this a Top 10 Main Street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
335Reviews5Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 132
  • 40
  • 14
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Susan F wrote a review Mar 2023
Charleston, South Carolina
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here last weekend. I can't say enough about our experience. The hotel was extremely clean, as was our room. Every member of the staff was kind and attentive. I'd like to specifically mention how courteous, wonderful and accommodating Lanita was. She is a ray of sunshine and went above and beyond for us and every other person she encountered. It was great to walk everywhere and leave the car parked while we were there. The location is perfect and the hotel is a great value. We will be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eagledress85 wrote a review May 2021
Georgia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have always liked IHG Hotels, so decided to stay here. The front desk was very friendly. We got the King Suite. The room was spacious. The bed and pillows were comfortable. We like that there are 3 trolley stops really close to be able to take to Falls Park. It's also walking distance to many restaurants and shops in the area. The hotel definitely needs some updating though. The carpet is worn with holes and didn't look like it had been vacuumed. The bathroom really needs to be remodeled as the sink is cracked and there's rust in the tub. We asked for new towels and the housekeeper said they were out and she said she had to do the checked out rooms first. We left about 2:30 and when we got back at 5:00 we did have new towels. The garbage was taken out, but no new bags put in. We did go for breakfast the first morning. They had a good selection with biscuits and gravy, sausage links, omelets, fruit, waffles and the other usual things. Overall, we were happy with our stay as it is a quiet hotel. We would probably stay again, but they really need to do some repairs and updating of several areas.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The parking situation is really awful. We parked when we checked in and either walked or used...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 29, 2021
Hello eagledress85, Thanks for choosing to stay with us among your many lodging options. We also appreciate your candid remarks. I am pleased that you found our hotel location convenient, our bed and pillows comfortable and our room well-appointed. I am so sorry to hear about the carpet and bathroom’s condition. Trust that our hotels do their best to ensure an exceptional experience for all our guests. That said, I have shared your feedback to our hotel’s upper management as a reference for continuous improvement on our services and amenities. Thanks again for making IHG Hotels & Resorts your home away from home. It will be our pleasure having you back as our guests’. Best, Kenneth F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bharrier wrote a review Nov 2020
Norcross, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at my first Holiday Inn/IHG property in years. With hotels not full during this Covid era, the hotel had a great price for a huge room that included a conference table for 6 in addition to the expected appointments. The best thing was being adjacent to downtown Greenville, SC. The three days I stayed here, I took advantage of the location and walked through the downtown district to the far end in back. The street is loaded with restaurants all within walking distance. Of course, the Grab and Go Breakfast was slim as can be expected. The room was clean, all desk personnel were helpful and except for one usually friendly. I may try this location again on an upcoming visit to the city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BEGa18 wrote a review Feb 2022
Augusta, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I went to Greenville for the weekend. Holiday Inn Express Downtown was affordable and within walking distance of downtown museums and main street shops and restaurants. The hotel is under renovation, but we had a newly renovated room. All the furniture, furnishings, and bathroom were new and clean. The room and king bed were very comfortable. Two pillows were firm, and two were moderately soft, perfect. At 10am on Monday morning, I awoke to the noise of power tools, but it was time for me to get going anyway. Actually the night was very quiet and we slept very well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ReeSue wrote a review Jan 2021
Minnesota
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed one night. Due to Covid I was most concerned about cleanliness of the hotel and room. The room passed my inspection. It was comfotrable.
The location, just off Main Street made it very quiet yet convenient to downtown shops and restaurants. MOre importantly for me was the beautiful river walk just blocks away. It's a beautiful, well maintained walk and park. I enjoyed a five mile walk, I especially want to mention how helpful Deegee at the fron desk was and always with a smile.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jen wrote a review Jul 2021
Layton, Utah
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Greenville over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Conveniently located on Main Street, (with free parking!! ) there were just tons of things for us to do. I don’t remember the name of who helped us, but they gave a great recommendation for a neat ice cream place that actually rolls the ice cream! And don’t miss Falls Park and Liberty Bridge. I will definitely be coming back to Greenville and the Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RollTideReviewGuy wrote a review Mar 2021
Canton, Georgia
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start by saying that the young lady working the front desk was VERY friendly. That’s where the positive ended.

From the moment you walk in the door you are hit with a heavy cigarette smell. It lingered throughout the building. The room was very worn out feeling, and smelled like cigarette smoke that was poorly covered up. It just felt dingy and sticky. Not the clean feeling one would hope for. As a consolation we were given free snacks from the shop by the front desk...the sodas were expired...par for the course.

Next time I need a hotel in Greenville I think we will try elsewhere. This was a very disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Hello RollTideReviewGuy, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We’re the first choice of travelers who need a simple, engaging place to rest, and what you described isn't what we promised. I'm sorry to hear your discomfort due to the unpleasant smell of the room. This isn't the experience we want you to have or to any guests. I share your review with our hotel management. Trust that the necessary actions will be taken, so this doesn't happen again. On a lighter note, I'll make sure to let our Front Desk know that you were pleased with her customer service skills! We appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. I hope you'll give us another chance to host your stay and we'll make things right this time! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara H wrote a review Jun 2020
Asheville, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived early and were able to go ahead and check in, which was unexpected and much appreciated. Hayleigh, the front desk employee, was very polite and gave us a map of the area, and also answered our questions. The location is very close to downtown, right on the fringe of all of the shops and restaurants. We easily walked down Main Street from the hotel. We had a king room, and the room was large and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We didn't eat breakfast here, so I can't comment on that. For the price and proximity to downtown, you can't beat it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Autumn_Y_007 wrote a review Dec 2021
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I hate rating places a “1” but I polled our family of 6 and they all agreed that it’s a “1.” Let’s start with check in. I did the digital check in so all I needed to do was stop by the front desk to pick up the keys. The girl was out of sight somewhere, finally made an appearance to pick up the phone and slid me my keys without a word. Got to the room and keys didn’t work, had to go back downstairs, back upstairs and the keys worked once and locked us out. Back downstairs, back upstairs…room was dark, dank and uncomfortable. My husband and son slept on the pull out couch and were MISERABLE the entire stay. The pull-out mattress was thin and busted. Their heads were sunken down below their feet so they kept sliding toward the top of the bed where there was a large gap where their pillows would disappear. I should also mention there were only 3 pillows for it, no sheets or blankets when we arrived. After the first night my husband asked for more blankets to try and make the pull out more comfortable, but they didn’t have additional blankets. It was the worst nights’ sleep ever and any woman can testify how fun it is to vacation with grumpy, sleep-deprived men. Let’s move on to the shower. The hot water trickled out, there were hairs on the shower wall and mold. Enough said. We had two queen beds. The girls found a pacifier and tater tot in/around their bed. The tv didn’t work at first so had to call maintenance three times. The lamp/charging station didn’t work and there were very few outlets in the room so the kids sat on the floor, in the corners charging their devices at night because like typical teenagers, they had to have their devices. On a positive note, the breakfast was ok, the “breakfast lady” was very sweet and funny and the night desk lady was nice, giving my kids all the free cookies they could wish for. The location was good. Just a short (or long, depending on how tired you are) walk to the shops, restaurants and falls. The falls are a mile away. For $200/night we expected more.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacqui Rose, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Dec 6, 2021
We regret that you did not have a good experience. Our general manager, Susanne, would like to connect with you to talk about your stay. We are currently renovating our guest rooms and will be like new in March. We hope you will consider staying with us after our updates are completed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee M wrote a review Apr 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived very late in the evening and this was a last minute reservation so not many choices left in Greenville on a Saturday night. First I will say the young lady at the check-in desk could not have been nicer. She calmly checked us in while being bombarded with people who could not take advantage of their free parking because all spaces were taken. That was the only positive.
There is nothing nice I can say about about our accommodations. The room was dated, dark, musty, badly beaten up, thick dust on the baseboards, dirty carpet that looked like it had not been vacuumed for several guests, hair on the bathroom floor. Not only was our room nasty but the public areas were as well. As we departed the next morning the entrance was overflowing with trash....2 employees just sitting inside talking....next time I would prefer to sleep in my car than stay at this property.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 28, 2021
Hi C2616SLreneem, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We welcome feedback from our valued guests. We would like you to consider our hotel a home away from home. It seems we missed the mark on this day because of the general upkeep of the hotel and the cleanliness standards of the room. We value you as our guest, and your well-being is of utmost concern. I am sorry for any disappointment you may have experienced. Your valued feedback will help us to achieve our mission to provide a consistent perfect guest experience. I sent you a private message to ask for your reservation details. Again, thank you for making us aware of your hotel experience. I look forward to your response. Warmest regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mailys C asked a question Mar 2024
Miami, Florida4 contributions1 helpful vote
Are pets allowed?
Trekki asked a question Feb 2023
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina122 contributions32 helpful votes
Have the renovations been completed? Thanks.
Gretchen R asked a question Aug 2017
Clemson football
Answer from Jacqui R
Greenville, SC1 helpful vote
We do accept Clemson football fans! And all football fans!
Answer from Jacqui R
Greenville, SC1 helpful vote
The hotel is just a little over 1/2 mile from the Peace Center - about a 10 minute walk, maybe a bit longer with kids. As long as the weather is good, it is a very reasonable walk.
Mike J asked a question Oct 2016
Gainesville, Georgia32 contributions16 helpful votes
How far is the walk to the closest trolley stop. I use a cane and a long walk for me is hard.
Answer from Jacqui R
Greenville, SC1 helpful vote
The trolley runs right by the hotel
Laurie B wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your room before you check in"
Read full review
Dini O wrote a tip Mar 2023
Cleveland, Ohio204 contributions103 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking Downtown"
Read full review
BarbaraC wrote a tip Oct 2022
Kingsport, Tennessee155 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rate was less than downtown, but it is not that far. Uber to our restaurant was $6."
Read full review
Yorkdog wrote a tip Apr 2022
Williamsburg, Virginia608 contributions197 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great parking and great location to downtown."
Read full review
BEGa18 wrote a tip Feb 2022
Augusta, Georgia28 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a newly renovated room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greenville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$193 - C$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express greenville downtown hotel greenville, holiday inn greenville, greenville holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaGreenville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Games - Greenville (0.5 km), The Children's Museum of the Upstate (0.3 km), and Mast General Store (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lost Cajun- Greenville Downtown, Sassafras Southern Bistro, and Trio - A Brick Oven Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Greenville.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Christ Episcopal Church (0.6 km), Springwood Cemetery (0.2 km), and Kilgore Lewis House (0.2 km).
All Greenville HotelsGreenville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GreenvilleHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars