We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 997: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My family stayed in two rooms with king size bedrooms. The rooms were very clean, full of space, had a kitchenette, and very nicely designed. The hotel personnel from the front desk to the waiters and waitresses and the drivers of the shuttle van were very friendly and accomodating, professional and quickly answered any questions we had. This hotel provides...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbkeane
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear kbkeane, This is a very lovely place to stay! I am happy to hear you enjoyed yourself at our property and fully immersed yourself in the Downtown Greenville attractions. Hopefully you can choose to stay with us on your next visit to the Upstate area! Sincerely, Patrick Munroe Guest Services Manager

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Great stay ! Excellent customer service and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping in downtown . Valet service for parking is very convenient . The breakfast is a easy go to in the mornings . Very clean room and comfortable bed and pillows .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deena1217
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear deena1217, I am so happy to hear how well your stay was with us! The staff does a great job to make sure each guest feels they can fully enjoy themselves by creating a convenient atmosphere. Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Inn &...

Knoxville
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Hotel was clean and friendly- yummy breakfast buffet which included the usual plus fresh fruit and helpful staff Location was very convenient to both the market area and the historic district We took our bikes and were able to connect to trails quickly (loved swamp rabbit trail to Furman)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TN75
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear TN75, Thank you for sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor.com. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the fresh breakfast offerings, and hope the food as well as our location can bring you back to this hotel on your next visit to Greenville, SC. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Patrick Munroe...

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We booked this hotel because of the typical Hampton amenities that, unfortunately, I assumed would be at this location as well. I should have looked at it in more detail but found out upon arrival that this location is very much geared toward business travelers versus family travelers. This location does not have a pool or laundry services. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacztir
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Stacztir, Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. Regarding the pool, we do have an agreement with the local YMCA where our guests can utilize their facilities. To do so, simply show them your room key and you will have complimentary access. I know this is not ideal, but an...

South Carolina
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Downtown Hampton Inn & Suites for 2 nights recently to celebrate our 48th anniversary. Our visit was perfect. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic with eggs,?sausage, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit and much more. All hotel employees were courteous and very helpful. The hotel was in a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherryGran
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear SherryGran, Congratulations on your 48th Anniversary! I am so excited that you chose our hotel to enjoy your very special occasion. I am confident that your positive review will reassure future travelers that our property is THE hotel to stay when visiting Greenville, SC. Thank you for the great comments, and congratulations again. Please let me know if there...

Atlanta, United States
Reviewed 2 August 2016

This is a great choice for lodging if you want to experience the downtown and river walk area. This hotel is within easy walking distance of many nice shops and restaurants. I would recommend for a nice getaway.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Patricia G, Thank you for sharing your experience of the Hampton Inn & Suites @ RiverPlace! I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to visit the natural beauty of Greenville. We hope we can be your hotel of choice on all future visits to the Upstate South Carolina area. Warm...

Hoschton, Georgia
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, in a perfect location to explore downtown Greenville and Falls Park. The staff here is very kind, also. I do recommend eyeshades at night, however, as our room, while very nice, had an older layout---the bathroom sink area being separate from the rest of the bath. There was also no night light in shower/commode area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UniqueCritique2012
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear UniqueCritique2012, Thank you for sharing your honest experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community! Our parking situation will only get easier as the construction of the Embassy Suites finalizes. As for the towel bar, this is something that has been previously mentioned and I have brought it to the attention of the General Manager. Thank you again for...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really enjoyed my 3 night stay here. Had a super corner room on the third floor with a great view over the river. Service from reception to breakfast is excellent. Only complaint is plastic cutlery and paper plates at breakfast. When paying $300 per night you should expect more! Breakfast itself was very good and I really enjoyed the fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear David B, I am so happy you enjoyed this beautiful city of ours, and thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Your comments regarding our breakfast presentation definitely brings a few ideas to mind, which I will make sure to share with upper management, and possibly our corporate offices. Thank you for your kind words and we look...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 27 July 2016

this hotel is truly in the perfect location. Right next to the Lazy Goat restaurant with amazing food. Rooms were really clean, it was quiet and the views were nice. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast but it looked fresh and yummy. It was a wonderful experience! Recommended with kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThatOrganicMom
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear ThatOrganicMom, Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel with the TripAdvisor community! I am happy you were able enjoy the restaurant next door; I recommend them consistently for their food quality and atmosphere. We hope you have the opportunity to return to the Hampton Inn & Suites @ RiverPlace so you can enjoy the complimentary breakfast! Sincerely,...

Reviewed 27 July 2016

Don't let the name fool you , these suites are awesome location is Perfect. Park & forget your car, walk to every attraction in this charming city. The circular suites are awesome. Very clean decent breakfast & snacks all day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PDMRacing
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear PDMRacing, The City of Greenville is a very walkable city, and our location downtown allows travelers like you a perfect experience. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the one-bedroom suites. I am glad you had a great time and we hope to be your hotel of choice for all future visits to Greenville! Sincerely,...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
927 reviews
0.6 km away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
123 reviews
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: $227 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
11 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles wilsin2017, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles Panic1522, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a balcony room on the river - get high up. Avoid noise from early birds - I'm talking about the ducks and geese on the river.”
 of 5 bubbles John662, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed having a room looking over the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanMarietta_GA, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perfect hotel to run the river trail”
 of 5 bubbles juliecm22, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5