We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 939: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My 10 year old daughter and I planned a trip to Greenville. It was just one night, but we were able to pack alot in because of the quick, wonderful service and convenient location of the Hampton Inn Riverview .

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank marykD2518LO
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear marykD2518LO, I'm delighted to read our property was able to conveniently maximize your trip to Greenville, SC. I am confident your review will confirm with future travelers that no matter how long you plan to visit, there always something to see within an easy walking distance. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Located right near the center of town, adjacent to the park. It's a wonderful setting. Hampton In. Is always a great bet: wonderful beds, complementary breakfast, great staff. The only down side is that they use too much air freshener scents now.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank denny g
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear denny g, The main goal of our property is to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay. When you plan on returning, please let us know ahead of time and we can inform Housekeeping to drastically lower the amount of fresheners in the room. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and I hope you can return... More 

Lexington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016

I went to Greenville with 2 other people on a business trip. We reserved the room in advance and were quoted a price. When we got there and went to leave no one had their bill under their door so I checked out at the desk. After arriving at our training site we looked at my receipt and noticed that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Carl B
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Carl B, Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify that it is never our intention to "bait and switch" anyone. Like most hotels, rates can fluctuate throughout the week due to an increase/decrease in demand. If this information was not specifically listed on your confirmation, please let me know so that I can correct it immediately.... More 

Canton, Ga
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Was a wonderful business trip. Did not have to ask for anything. Staff was friendly and breakfast was amazing, love the fresh fruit salad! Location is perfect, within walking distance to all our dinner locations.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 487metf
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear 487metf, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since it was work related. Our staff knows the importance to anticipating needs of those who travel often, and I am happy we were able to meet your expectations. Should you plan on returning, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything... More 

TN
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Very clean, lovely hotel. Friendly staff, great breakfast and a perfect location to downtown or walking to the falls. Comfy beds and beautiful rooms with a nice view. Also, convenient to local restaurants. We stayed one night, and enjoyed our stay. We will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre_in_Maryville
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Deidre_in_Maryville, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. I am happy to learn that our central location and accommodations fit your needs and I thank you for writing such kind words. If there is anything I can do in the future to make your next stay more enjoyable, please do not... More 

Gainesville, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We have been to Greenville a couple of times but this was our first stay at the Hamption Inn at Riverplace. PERFECT !!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back. Rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly and professional. (Especially enjoyed "Q".) Had a couple of specific requests of housekeeping and they were met to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BB B
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear BB B, We continually strive for perfection, and your comment is "perfect"! My team will be elated to read your comments when I share it with them in our next meeting, especially Q. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the rest of the community, as it confirms the choice for future travelers. We hope... More 

United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Great hotel, great location! Beds are extraordinarily comfortable, there is a great array of breakfast choices, rooms and bathrooms are clean and updated. You are within walking distance of the downtown area and Falls Park, with all of its shopping and eateries.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OmGirl1030
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear OmGirl1030, Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. Your genuine comments only confirm to myself and team that we are meeting and exceeding your expectations of our hotel. If there is anything I can do to enhance your stay in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally at p.munroe@hospitalityamerica.com. Sincerely, Patrick... More 

Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Right on the banks of the Reedy River in "beautiful downtown Greenville" - this Hampton Inn & Suites provided a wonderful setting for a weekend get-a-way. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely friendly, responsive and helpful. The room was well furnished and very clean. An older gentleman in housekeeping / maintenance was so kind and informed us we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomMcB
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear TomMcB, Thank you for being our guest at our Hampton Inn & Suites in downtown Greenville. With so much competition in the downtown area, I am pleased to hear how satisfied you were with our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post about our plentiful amenities, clean rooms and great staff! We hope to serve you again... More 

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We chose this Hampton Inn because it is along the Reddy River Falls area. Room is very nice and being in a fun, beautiful and relaxing place makes our stay here fantastic. Disappointed there isn't a pool and hot tub for mote relaxation. Currently there is construction everywhere and difficult to get in and out if driving, not their fault.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Deb W, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hampton Inn & Suites @RiverPlace on your recent visit to the Downtown Greenville area. I know the construction can be a bit precarious, though I am happy to read you were able to look past that and enjoy the offerings at our hotel. Hopefully on your next visit the construction... More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Very nice facility. A little confusing to park to check in. Valet parking available or underground parking for $7.00 a day. We were early to check in and our room wasn't ready. Reception clerk, Jody, was so nice. Helped us get parked and took our luggage so we could walk around while the room was readied. Came back and everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori T
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Lori T, Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with others on TripAdvisor.com! It sounds like you enjoyed my favorite room type for the same reason, the outdoor concert. As you know, there are many beautiful aspects of Downtown Greenville, and I am happy we could be one of those. Please let me know when you plan on returning... More 

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#9 of 64 in Greenville
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#3 of 64 in Greenville
619 reviews
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: $211 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
7 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the rounded corner of the building have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles robmL5778IA, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles DebC488, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view-I didn't have.”
 of 5 bubbles Gatraveler-7, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Balcony is worth having”
 of 5 bubbles franpaulworcs, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how old the mattresses are”
 of 5 bubbles trixie976, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay