We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 995: English reviews
Orange Park, Florida
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Hotel very clean rooms nice location but for over two hundred dollars a night I should not have to drive two minutes down the road to a ymca to swim an did not know this til I checked in nothing on the website when I booked the room very disappointed at that from the Hampton so be informed

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desitp
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Desitp, Thank you for your comments. I apologize you were under the impression we had a pool, but we do not advertise anywhere on our website that we do have one at our location. Since we do not offer this amenity, the YMCA allows our guests to utilize their facilities complimentary. I am sorry you feel you were ill-informed,...

Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This hotel is in the perfect location situated right on the river with direct access to the park and walking paths. Staff was extremely helpful, even very late at night with check in and directions. Local shopping and dining is within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Teresa W, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of Hampton Inn & Suites @Riverplace. I am thrilled to learn that our central location and accommodations fit your needs and I thank you for writing such kind words. If there is anything I can do in the future to make your next stay more...

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Great stay!!!! Everything from check in to check out was wonderful. Comfortable beds and rooms were very clean. Every staff member was very accommodating and friendly. We will stay here again when in town.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5098DGteresam
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear I5098DGteresam, I appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It pleases me to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our Housekeeping staff does a phenomenal job ensuring that each room is meticulously cleaned, while our Engineers make sure the mattresses are flipped for maximum comfort. Thank you again for your comments and please let...

Versailles, Kentucky
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Very clean,great staff! Provided print out directions for am appt very easy. Buffet great and clean. Great comfy beds! Perfect spot in town to stay and look forward to staying again to checking out resturants close by!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Julia G, Thank you for the great words! I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy yourself, even if it was only for a night. It seems we made a great first impression so we can be your hotel of choice when returning to Greenville, SC. I hope the doctor's appointment went well and we can...

Fleming Island, FL
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 days at the Hampton River place. It was in a great location on Reedy River just up the street from Falls Park. It was an easy walk to Main Street and all the shops and restaurants. Hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was included with a great variety to choose from. I would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Ruth C, I agree with you 100%! For those looking to enjoy all of what Downtown Greenville has to offer, we have the best location. I like recommending to our guests that they get a full stomach with our fantastic breakfast spread, then walk it off while touring the town. It's great to read that you were able to...

Irmo, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The Greenville Hampton Inn provided a very nice downtown experience and a good meeting location. Service was very good from check in thru departure. Everything was up to our usually great Hampton Inn experience but the room cost seemed pretty high, even for the location. None the less, we would return when in Greenville.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel54281
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Travel54281, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Greenville experience, especially at our property. I understand our rates can be more than expected for most Hampton Inns, however our dedicated Sales staff does a fantastic job to ensure our rates are competitive with other local hotels. Please let me know the next time you plan on...

South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Staff and facility are top notch. Only complaint is the sometimes high price that is charged. Prices are not consistent for the same type of room and apparently it depends on what events are happening in the city.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrisha V
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Patrisha V, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am happy to hear you had a great experience. Regarding the cost of our rooms, we find ourselves comparable to similar properties in our market. While there may be other locations in our brand with different offerings, our team spends a lot of time researching...

Leesville, SC, United States
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Our delightful stay in Greenville was due in part to our overnight at the Hampton Inn. The location was perfect, the room large, clean, and ready upon our early arrival, and the breakfast was excellent. Daniel, at the front desk, was extraordinarily helpful in guiding us through the hectic Sunday town traffic and in offering local information. The fresh fruit...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Nancy R, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.com. I can confirm that our seasoned staff sincerely enjoy providing the best possible experience, especially the ladies in the morning. One thing you can always count on when visiting the Hampton Inn & Suites @RiverPlace is a pile of fresh offerings each morning. I look...

Atlanta
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This hotel exceeded my expectations on location alone. We were in town to see a concert at the arena and were able to walk there from the hotel. The hotel itself sits basically in Falls Park...which are some man-made falls built into the River with some old rehabbed buildings and new hotels. It's very lovely. The view from our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear jgpatlantatraveler, Thank you for sharing such an honest review of our property. The city planners did a fantastic job incorporating the buildings into the landscape, and lucky for us, we have definitely benefited from the views. Also, the carillon you heard was in fact a malfunction, but I am happy to inform that it is back to proper working...

Charleston, United States
Reviewed 27 April 2016

One of the nicest Hampton Inns for which I have had the pleasure staying and I will definitely come back. Pretty location, near lots of choices to the main area downtown, and the people are very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
HIS_Greenville, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review

Dear Lori S, Your review is exactly the kind of reaction we hope to provide to every guest. Each colleague strives to provide top-notch service to exceed the expectations for everyone. If you find yourself back in Downtown Greenville, SC, please let me know if I can be of any assistance. With delight, Patrick Munroe Guest Services Manager Hampton Inn...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.4 km away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
927 reviews
0.6 km away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
123 reviews
9.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Price Range: $227 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Black Mountain, North Carolina
over a year ago
Bethesda, Maryland
11 months ago
over a year ago
USA
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles wilsin2017, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles Panic1522, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a balcony room on the river - get high up. Avoid noise from early birds - I'm talking about the ducks and geese on the river.”
 of 5 bubbles John662, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed having a room looking over the river.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanMarietta_GA, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perfect hotel to run the river trail”
 of 5 bubbles juliecm22, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5