Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Hampton Inn Hilton Head

Traveller (72)
Panorama of the Double Queen Study Room at the Hampton Inn Hilton Head
360
Panoramas (10)
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
C$278
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#10 of 32 hotels in Hilton Head
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hampton Inn Hilton Head hotel in South Carolina is newly renovated and upgraded! The hotel is the only Hampton Inn located on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. It is located off I-95 at Exit 8.Hilton Head, South Carolina's area attractions include: beaches, shopping, restaurants, theaters, water sports and the Coastal Discovery Museum. The hotel offers outdoors enthusiast the convenience of bike rentals. The hotel features a newly renovated outdoor pool (heated seasonally), fitness center, business center and suite shop (convenience store) for sodas, snacks, ice cream and sundries. The Hampton Inn Hilton Head, South Carolina is a favorite sport destination. Custom golf and tennis packages are available with advance bookings. The Hampton Inn Hilton Head hotel will be perfect for your next event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

1 Dillon Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Hilton Head Airport
Savannah-Hilton Head Airport
48.3 km
See all flights
1,226Review8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 554
  • 355
  • 168
  • 73
  • 76
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dean S wrote a review May 2023
Maryville, Tennessee41 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This older hotel has been renovated and it's very nice. The rooms are small like older hotels often where but very adequate. The breakfast and dining room where clean and food was replenished often. We hardly heard airplanes takeoff or land even though the property is next to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only a couple miles to two public beaches with metered parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience and staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pitt_twins wrote a review Jun 2021
Pennsylvania382 contributions336 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When you decide to stay here the reality is the bathroom is small, the sink is in the bedroom, you are not paying for an oceanfront room (or even paying the price of a room within walking distance of the beach) and you will be within a several yards of the runway for the Hilton Airport. If you planned to go to a Hilton Grand Vacation presentation and thought you would be at the Ocean Oak location, you knew up front that would not happen. Ocean Oak Grand Vacations is small and the individual units are being used by the owners. The Hampton Inn has no control over this. Hilton has adjusted their cleaning schedules and you won't have your sheets changed or fresh towels daily. Towels you can switch out by going to the front desk

This review is about what the folks at this particular Hampton Inn have control over. The exterior of the building and grounds are kept in pristine condition and constantly being maintained. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable .The planes do go overhead, but only during what would be considered awake hours. Our sleep was never disturbed. The employees at the front desk and dining area were absolutely amazing. No matter what you asked, they were there to help. The assortment for breakfast was adequate for anyone's personal taste and there were cookies in the afternoon. The pool and pool deck were always clean and rarely crowded.

Book here if you want a reasonable price, comfortable, clean stay with friendly efficient employees. If you want a more modern hotel this is not the place for you. You get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, Guest Services / Front Office at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Thank you for your sharing your experience with us. It is always comforting when a guest speaks so highly of the staff. Everyone here works hard and it is refreshing to know that our guest notice. We hope that your next visit to Hilton Head you will stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norjean wrote a review Feb 2021
Whitesboro, New York145 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an older Hampton Inn but in excellent condition. All staff were professional and helpful. A hot breakfast was conveniently served by attendants making it a bit nicer than a boxed take away meal. Breakfast choices were standard for chain. Room, lobby and halls were Covid Clean. Room doors were sealed indicating they were sanitized. Plenty of hand sanitizer and lysol wipes around premises. Masks available at reception. Sadly fitness center closed due to Covid. Hotel next to airport. No distinguishable noise from planes. A note: there is no ready ground transportation from the airport to hotel. You must reserve taxi in advance. No Uber or Lyft seems available on Island.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Feb 15, 2021
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We continue to do our best in these trying times, it is always great to have a guest share their experience at our Hotel. We are unfortunately close to the airport but fortunately for us it is not an extremely busy runway. Transportation on the Island itself can be difficult. We apologize that you struggled with getting from the airport. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you stay with us again the next time you travel to Hilton Head.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MediumRare wrote a review Jan 2020
Dallas, Texas72 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re airport side be prepared to be awake until the last jet arrives and up promptly at 7am when the first delta and American jets take off. This property is just off the approach end of runway 5 and is beyond noisy. I’m disappointed that Hilton wanted to be affiliated with this location due to noise and that the city of Hilton Head allowed it to be built.

Not restful, loud neighbor doors, headboards rattle when neighbor doors slam.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hilton29926, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Feb 5, 2020
We apologize that your stay with us was not peaceful. It is unfortunate that the airport is behind our property and this is completely out of our control, but we do understand how the noise can be disturbing. We do thank you for letting us know of your issue with our doors and we will do our best to correct this issue. Thank you for staying with us and visiting Hilton Head.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Troy I wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quick family trip to the beautiful island. Hotel was extremely clean and the entire staff was very friendly. The breakfast was a typical Hampton Inn breakfast but it was very well stocked and quickly refilled.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KristinTimmins, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay with us. We hope you'll considered us again next time you're in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy C wrote a review Sep 2020
29 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel extensively for business and pleasure and stay at Hilton brand properties for 90% of our travel. For this trip, we reserved our stay with our Honors Points. We chose this location because it had been recently renovated throughout and was close to where we would be conducting business for our stay. The hotel is right next to the airport at HHI so the noise is absurd (I admit, I should have looked into this prior to booking so I own this one). Staff was amazing as is usually the case at Hilton properties. Our e-key never worked properly for our room or side entrance and had to be reprogrammed 4 times during our 3 day stay. We found large black ants in our room (7 total over 3 days) and I'm thankful to report we didn't experience any bites. The AC in our room didn't work well ~ I think it wasn't properly sized as we had a large suite so, while it did work... it never got cool enough to sleep comfortably. Upon returning home, we noticed our credit card on file with our Hilton Honors account was also charged for the entire stay (after having prepaid when we booked our trip using our Honors Points). We've spent over two hours trying to get this rectified.

Overall, this was a terrible experience. It is atypical for Hilton properties and I'm not sure if it is hotel management issues or what but I would NEVER stay at this location again. We stay at Hilton properties because we expect Hilton quality. This property does NOT measure up - not even close!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Anywhere but this hotel property.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know about your stay. I am disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectation as a Hilton property and as a Hilton Honors member. My maintenance and housekeeping staff were notified of the room you were in and the issue that you experienced to ensure that this experience doesn't happen again. I apologize that there was an issue with billing and that you had to spend time to have it rectified. This is not the experience that we would want any of our guest to have while staying with us. We apologize that your stay wasn't as expected.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gluten free travelers wrote a review Apr 2021
Pennsylvania99 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful! Go here if you do not expect to sleep. The place is poorly insulated. When the guests above us decided to shower at midnight you could hear everything from the water turning on to it going down the drain. The Couple next door being intimate all night. Then waking up to the staff screaming at each other at 7:30-8am! Finally gave up and left at 10am. This is a disgrace Hilton hotel charging $275 a night and you can’t sleep due to their employees not working but socializing. When i mentioned to the front desk i was told. “I will note it” wow. Lets not forget the airplanes. Top things off we were in a room that could be an adjoining room. Crazy guy next door kept pulling on the door trying to open it (around 11pm) until my husband screamed at him to stop. So we had no sleep at all and have to drive 10hrs to get home. One night here was to much.

Rooms were clean just don’t use the phone it had enough dust to let you know it hasn’t been wiped in over year.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Apr 23, 2021
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I apologize that your stay was not was you expected nor was it what I would have expected you to have. Unfortunately, the room that you stayed in is across the hall from our laundry/housekeeping office. I am not excusing the noise that my staff made and I have spoken to them regarding this issue. When there is a connecting door between two rooms there is the unfortunate possibility that the neighbor in the other room could test the door out and I apologize for that. I have emailed you directly regarding this situation and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PinkIsSoPretty wrote a review Jun 2020
Columbus, Ohio28 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The employees are nice and there’s a nice outdoor pool, but other than that, the hotel rooms are kind of dinghy.

The carpet is kinda gross and the bathroom needs renovated. There were no pool towels and because of COVID the breakfast is a baggie with a sandwich, fruit and canned orange juice. The exercise room is also closed.

They have cable and free WiFi and it’s close driving distance to a couple of beaches.

Personally would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hilton29926, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Jul 3, 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback on your stay. We are still trying to find the best way to give the best service to our guest during these changing times. Breakfast is an ongoing project that we are continually working on to make our guest have a better experience with the current changes due to COVID-19. The department of health has not permitted buffets to be open and our breakfast is considered a buffet. Again, we thank you for staying with us and we will continue to work on improving ourselves.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thatnyctraveler wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York203 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My room was flawed with pee stained carpet which was not cleaned therefore it affected my review. The fact they didn't clean this before putting the room into circulation was disappointing.

Outside of this stain, the hotel grounds are nice and well taken care of. As many state breakfast is very tasty! It's a two story hotel with and elevator. Free parking, good wifi, functional business center, gym, and pool. I'm sorry to report airplanes do fly very close to this property and is pretty loud! Thankfully it stops between 10 PM to 6 AM for certain.

Room amenities:
Shampoo
Hair Conditioner
Body Lotion
Make up Remover Wipes
Iron and iron board
Coffee maker and coffee
Blackout curtains
Alarm clock
Tv and cable
Several USB plugs
Towels, face cloths & hand towels
Refrigerator
Microwave
Ice Bucket
Paper cups

Rooms look exactly like photos the property furnishes. Staff is friendly and wear mask not many of the guest wore mask in public areas but overall in Hilton Head many people don't wear masks in public areas. Property is close to many things on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There are no room that shield you from airplane noise. Bring your own pool towel. There is a room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin Kronenberg, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Jan 13, 2022
We apologize that upon check in there was a stain on the carpet in your room. I hope that this was brought to the front desk attention and we were able to move your room. Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Hilton Head.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Captain Tony 👨‍✈️ wrote a review Jan 2020
Canada367 contributions154 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hampton inn is just OK, nothing spectacular to tell anyone you stayed here.
It is an older building on 2 floors. The rooms seem to have been updated and are acceptable. The breakfast area was being worked on while I was there which shows they are trying to improve the property.
My biggest complaint would be that the hotel is located less then 100 yards from the end of the runway. We got an early morning wake up by a jet aircraft taking off at 6:30 am then another 20 minutes later.
If you like sleeping in and relaxing I suggest you look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KristinTimmins, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that it was less than satisfactory. We are always looking for ways to improve, so I appreciate all of your feed back. Thanks again for telling us about your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley W asked a question Jan 2016
South Dakota2 contributions
Is there a shuttle to/from the airport?
Answer from Jessica O
Beaufort, South Carolina1 contribution
We do not offer a shuttle but UBER is available on the island and the average cost is about $5 each way
EMJ42 asked a question Oct 2015
Brandon, Mississippi27 contributions24 helpful votes
Do you provide bikes for guests to use?
Answer from Linda P
Hilton Head, South Carolina8 contributions
The hotel does not provide bikes for guests, however we do work with the Bike Doctor, 843-681-7531 and they will deliver the bikes to the hotel for you. Kind regards, Linda
Answer from Skip Y
Hilton Head, South Carolina13 contributions6 helpful votes
I'm very sorry but you must be 21. I would suggest checking the Park Lane, the Beach Houae, Red Roof Inn, Day's Inn or the Ramada Inn.
Kat F asked a question Feb 2015
Mount Vernon, Ohio36 contributions7 helpful votes
Is the pool heated? If we come in early April that will be important.
Answer from Skip Y
Hilton Head, South Carolina13 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes, we start heating the pool April 1 and we will look forward to welcoming you the hotel. Kind regards, Skip Young General Manager
Annmarie S wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here. "
Read full review
Susan W wrote a tip Oct 2023
Kenosha, Wisconsin9 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy this lovely hotel. "
Read full review
Al S wrote a tip Sep 2023
Atlanta, Georgia10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about the close by beach, free parking, which is never crowded. "
Read full review
Bryan G wrote a tip May 2023
San Francisco, California6 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would stay away from this particular hotel."
Read full review
Dean S wrote a tip May 2023
Maryville, Tennessee41 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only a couple miles to two public beaches with metered parking"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hilton Head area.
PRICE RANGE
C$208 - C$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn hilton head hotel hilton head, hilton head hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaHilton Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hampton Inn Hilton Head - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Nearby attractions include Zion Cemetery and Baynard Mausoleum (0.4 km), Northridge Cinema 10 (0.3 km), and Public Kitchen + Wine Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bella Italia, Fiesta Fresh Mexican Grill, and Taste of Europe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn Hilton Head offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn Hilton Head?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mitchelville Freedom Park (2.6 km), Zion Cemetery and Baynard Mausoleum (0.4 km), and Fort Howell (2.2 km).
All Hilton Head HotelsHilton Head Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hilton HeadHotels near Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars