We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
 Click to rate
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

I made a last minute reservation at this hotel, not being able to obtain a reservation at the Holiday Inn. This Holiday Inn Express is supposed to be a step down from the top of the line Holiday Inn. If you are seeking a quality stay try this facility. The room was clean and updated, as were the common areas....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Management response:

Alan S., Thank you very much for your thorough review. We appreciate your great comments on the Holiday Inn Express. We would to have this be your new vacation spot of choice in the future. Have a great Day.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very positive experience from check- in to check- out. Everyone so accommodating !! They even offer to pick you up and give you a ride to an outstanding breakfast buffet. Rooms were amazing. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Management response:

Dear John H, Thank you very much for the fantastic review. I will definitely share with the Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island Team. We truly hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding! Efficient! A "feel good" hotel! I don't know where to begin...towels are fresh and thirsty, Ironing board and Iron, coffee maker, safe, large freezer and fridge, microwave oven, hair dryer,swimming pool and on and on. Sleeps 4 plus a pull out sofa. High teck useful furniture with built in charging stations, coffee table that turns into a work station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank townhallman
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My daughter and I stayed two nights and had a great experience. It's located just one block from Coligny Beach access and Coligny Plaza with many restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. It's just far enough off the beach to be quiet and relaxing but with easy access to everything. The property itself is less like a hotel and more like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
Management response:

Dear Scott P., Thank you very much for backing up what we strive to perform.. A super quality stay across the board from our Team to the product itself. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Jay Robertson

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We have stayed here a few times as the Quality Inn. Holiday Inn Express has made nice renovation job. We like this area of the island and the hotel is close to a lot of things to see/do and restaurants. It's quiet except when the people let the doors close on there own...very loud. The have garage parking and surface...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank txlnstr
Management response:

Txlnstr, Thank very much for your kind remarks. It goes to show how hard we try to make our guest feel as welcomed and comfortable as possible. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Jay Robertson

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I didn't feel like fighting the traffic northbound on I95 anymore so I thought I would take a short respite here. Greta was welcoming and very sweet! A note to first time stays: don't be caught off guard by the rooms being in a separate building from reception, and all the alligator warning signs. I walked around alone this evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa K
Management response:

Dear Alexa, Thank you very much for your welcoming comments. I will share your comments with the Team and we look forward to providing Great Southern Hospitality to you in the near future. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived very late at night after a ghost tour in Savannah. I was a little disappointed because I was under the impression the hotel was closer than it actually was and we were exhausted after a long day of driving then sight seeing, but this was my fault alone. The front desk was amazing, even changed us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iceselarakarisma
Management response:

Hi Iceselarakarisma. Thank you for your great recommendations. We certainly are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose us again as your Hilton Head Island destination hotel. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I was visiting Hilton Head recently with some friends and stayed here. I had an enjoyable stay. It was a unique hotel in that the front desk and lobby are about 2 blocks away from the building with the rooms. Rooms are top notch! Comfortable large beds. Good linens and soft blankets. Shower had solid water pressure, but bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Management response:

Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your great review. It truly is appreciated by guest like you that our efforts in providing a great vacation destination is noticed. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

columbus, ohio
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Most of the other reviewers commented on the poor design of this facility. The signage is extremely confusing and as much as I appreciate the fact that the manager is reading these reviews, it would be nice to actually see change occur. There are several great things about this hotel: 1) The location is near the beach; 2) The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank critc17265
Management response:

Hi critc, I am truly sorry for your unfortunate experience. I will help to address some of the issues for you. 1. I can't see where IHG.com states only 6.7 miles from I-95, however, I will have the IT department try to see where it is listed. 2. I am unfamiliar with Waze, however, I can see that this is...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well located near Coligny Plaza. Unusual layout. Reception, breakfast room located in a seperate building from the rooms. Our room was located about five minutes walk from the Reception building, a bit of a drag for breakfast. There is a shuttle available if you want it. The building our room was located in an open corridor to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roadwarrior1000
Management response:

Dear Roadwarrior1000, Thank you very much for your considerations and bringing them to our attention. We are please that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your possible visit with us in the future.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
195 reviews
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 29 in Hilton Head
733 reviews
2.8 km away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
582 reviews
8.4 km away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#18 of 29 in Hilton Head
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our resort style hotel offers 153 rooms with either a King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and many rooms additionally have sleeper sofas. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee Machine, Iron/Ironing board, free Wifi, additional plugs for electronic devices, 49" Flat Screen TVs, Programmable in room Safe, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, telephone and a radio alarm clock. Fully ADA compliant rooms are available upon request. Check in at our newly renovated Registration building just off South Forest Beach Drive and then just a short drive to the rooms building overlooking our wildlife lagoon and pool. Our entire complex is just a short stroll to Hilton Head's famous beach, Coligny Plaza with its shops and restaurants, the BiLo Plaza, and Van der Meer Tennis Center. Located just 45 minutes from Savannah Hilton Head International airport, 20 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 15 minutes from Hilton Head Island Airport. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Address: 2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Quality Inn South Forest Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: $109 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a pool over looking the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles townhallman, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Read the details of my review.”
 of 5 bubbles critc17265, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles dos7940, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even numbered rooms on the fourth floor are parking lot views, odds are pond and pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles Rod6760, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the bench about a mile away”
 of 5 bubbles demariomonicap, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5