We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
Belmont, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

A small hotel with a friendly, helpful check in. Our room was ocean front with a balcony with table and chairs. The room had a mini frig/freezer and a microwave and a small sink in the kitchen area. Two queen size beds and a fold out couch provide a lot of sleeping options. There is no restaurant at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deborah R, Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay! We try our best to please every guest and get excited when we read a 5 start review like yours. We hope to see you and your family again. All the best for all the upcoming holidays!

Asheville, NC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Received a stay in this hotel with a groupon from a family member. It's a beautiful area right on the beach. We knew there was construction going on, and had no problem with the stairs as the elevator was being replaced. It was beautiful weather and we hoped to swim in the heated outdoor pool, but it was only heated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilmaNC
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello WilmaNC, First off, thank you taking the time to write a good and comprehensive review. Although, it took me a bit to respond, we, as a team, read your comments and took them to heart. We've had recent turnover in our Housekeeping department and starting December have taken a room by room blitz to our balconies and unit furniture....

Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Third time we have stayed at The Palms. The hotel was very nice even if it was doing some construction. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Had an side ocean view which still allowed us to sit and view the ocean. Breakfast was served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert G
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gilbert G, Thanks for a 5 start rating.....that means a lot to the entire team here! We do hope you come back to visit....feel free to call me directly should you decide to return as we have return guest discounts that aren't available on line. Best to you and yours for this Holiday season!

Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I usually do not write negative reviews. Hopefully, though, writing one will cause the hotel to get better housekeeping. During the night, I smelled urine coming from somewhere around the left side of my bed. Also, the bathroom was not clean; there was a hairball laying in the corner. (Room 123). They had apparently tried to clean the room the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neesha S
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neesha S. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting expectations during your stay. We talked when you were here, and after you told me about smell by the bed, we did shampoo the carpet......I just wish we could have fixed it so you didn't have to leave. We team-walked the room after you left (along with the Housekeeper),...

Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

While this hotel is at the beach, my room view certainly was not......certainly you can likely upgrade. The place is undergoing construction and the overall is quite dirty....and no elevators due to construction....not a big deal to light travelers like me. My room on the third floor was rank stale smelling, the carpet worn and dirty and the bath tile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdvRider_IOP_SC
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AdvRider, We appreciate you taking the time to give a candid pro and con review of your stay here with us. I especially like your "trash the place like Joe Walsh" share; we still use that one since we read your review! A couple of things came to light after we looked into your comments.....you're right; our common areas...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Been staying at the IOP for many years. This was our first stay at the Palms. Honestly, it's all about what you are looking for. We had great customer service. The rooms were VERY small and all beds are full size. I was surprise they called it a Hotel, because all rooms were open to the breezeway and that made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheRodgers2015
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning TheRodgers2015, Thank you providing your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear of your positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon! Thank you again for taking an opportunity to share your feedback. Don't forget to contact us directly to take advantage of our wonderful Loyal Guest...

Energy, Illinois
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Room was nice and clean for an older property. We had an ocean room view on the side of the hotel, nice view and you could hear the waves breaking on the shore! Property was mostly clean except for some areas of renovation (to be expected). Breakfast was good, lots of choices! We knew the elevator was being replaced, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Michael S, Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your experiences for your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that everything met and exceeded your expectations and thank you for taking an opportunity to share your experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We recently stayed at this hotel, we had a 3rd floor room. The elevator was closed, but we were warned of this prior to our stay, so in all fairness that was acceptable. When we entered our room, the carpet was not clean and there was hair on the bathroom floor. I went to the hallway and asked housekeeping if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Cindy B, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you faced during your visit. I have addressed the issues with my housekeeping staff and my new Executive Housekeeper, in hopes that these mistakes will not occur again. We strive to...

Reviewed 28 October 2015

This visit was from 10/23-10/26 and was room 203. I am not usually one to complain about a hotel, but this place was not very good. Nothing like what the hotel photos portray the place as. The room was very dated, did not feel clean, and smelled a bit. The beds were comfortable, but only had a few sheets -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indysteve1970
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Indysteve1970, Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us; however, in this case, we clearly fell short of your expectations. With the building being just over 15 years, we have begun renovations throughout the property; however, we...

Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I found this hotel by chance while searching Charleston-area groupon offers. I came across The Palms hotel by chance and I am SO glad that I did. I got my room for $79/night and stayed Monday through Wednesday. I had an interior room, so no ocean view for me. Although, if you ask me - being an ocean front property......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandra_keller
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Alexandra_Keller, Thank you, so very much, for your detailed and positive feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you have rated your overall experience as Excellent and thank you for taking an opportunity to share with fellow travelers. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back to the...

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Coastal Guest Room (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Balcony Guest Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)
Viewed
Traditional Interior Guest Room (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
171 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,849 reviews
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Price Range: $92 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
Charlotte, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles ktownse1, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“ask sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles TandaH51, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front!”
 of 5 bubbles donnasN5234OV, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“ask for there most updated room”
 of 5 bubbles abovelamer, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view or partial ocean view are great”
 of 5 bubbles 760gilbertg, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay