We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I liked how the hotel was so close to everything. We literally walked everywhere from our hotel. It is right on the beach and there are several places to eat right beside the hotel. Shopping is close but better shopping is 20 minutes away in Charleston. The pool is pretty small but looked pretty clean and their continental breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AshleyMurray
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I really appreciate this guest's review. I was glad to read that they enjoyed their view of the ocean and the convenience of having dining and some shopping close by. I do agree the shopping in downtown Charleston is wonderful. Again, I really appreciate this guest's time, and I thank them for writing a review. More 

Rogersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was our second trip to Isle of Palms, and our second stay at The Palms. We go in October which is great weather and not very many people. We arrived, unloaded our things, parked our car, and never got back in it until we were ready to leave. The beach is beautiful and not crowded. The hotel is older,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisa m
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I want to start out with thanking this guest for being a repeat guest. I was so delighted to read that this guest again enjoyed their stay. It is always nice to read when a guest is able to relax during their stay, that is the point of taking a vacation. When I read that a guest can park their... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

There were only 2 hotels on the isle of palms so we could not be too picky. It is an older hotel and needs updating. The elevator will take you 3 times longer than the stairs. The unloading zone is ridiculous - you get blocked in and cant get out - parking is across the street behind the shops there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jr905
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for our hotel. They were not overly impressed with our facilities, but I am glad they found some positives. I just want to clear up that there are restaurants near the hotel, there are at least 5 within walking distance. There are also a few others on the island... More 

Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Palms was exactly what we were looking for.,,, a nice quiet place on the beachfront with clean, spacious accomodations and relatively close to town. We found all of that. An ocean- front room with a view which was just what the website photos showed. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was good. Other guests were friendly, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I was so delighted to read the review of this satisfied guest. The fact that this guest found their accommodations clean and the staff to be friendly is indicative of the kind of conditions we try to provide here at The Palms. I am also happy to read that they found the location convenient. I am so glad they wrote... More 

Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Isle Of Palms was the last leg of our SC vacation and it did not disappoint. Beautiful sandy beach. Fun little shops and places to eat. Even took an Eco Tour (the highlight). Now the hotel on the other hand was a huge disappointment. A lot of complaints about this place being a bit tired. That's not a huge problem... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Boognish1980
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review to inform us about their stay. I am not aware if this guest reported any of the issues they encountered. From the context of their review, it doesn't sound like they did. We ask that guests please inform us of any issues, so we can take care of them... More 

Blackpool
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We booked this hotel in a hurry while on a 4000 mile road trip from England, then I read some reviews and regretted the booking, but we were pleased we did, right on the beach, ok, it's a little bit tired, but very clean, great staff, we were on a side room with a partial view, wow!, what a view... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolMouse
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am so glad they enjoyed their stay with us. I want to apologize for the internet not working properly. Also I'm not sure where it says onsite parking is possible because our parking is off site across the street from the... More 

St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The best thing about the stay was the beach which except for location the hotel can not take credit. The breakfast was awfull hard bisquits and gravy was terrible. I did not see anyone tending to breakfast but many like us were throwing it in trash. Staff except for the young gal that checked us in seemed to be poorly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Doug F
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for the hotel. I regret to read of this guest's experience. Management wasn't made aware of the issues this guest encountered. I will be reaching out personally to this guest, and I want to deeply apologize for the inconveniences they experienced. My responding to this review isn't for show.... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently stayed at The Palms and had a great experience all the way around. The room accommodations were great: comfortable beds, nice living area and a great ocean front view. The staff was very pleasant as well. There was a funny incident, when a long time patron saw a gentlemen named Steve and thanked him for his assistance. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am so delighted that this guest enjoyed their stay with us. I absolutely love to read when a guest finds thier accommodations well appointed, and most of all, clean. Also their being pleased with the friendliness and service of the staff is important to me as well. Steve is a treasured employee, as all of my staff are, and... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Rooms look like they haven't been redone or even painted since the hotel was first built. A "queen" size bed is actually a "full" size bed. The sheets on the bed do not fit- I checked the sheets on both beds in the room. The room is very damp and smells of mildew; the smell is so strong it almost... More 

Helpful?
Thank inwonderland13
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

While I appreciate this guest taking the time to write a review for our hotel, I would like to clarify a few things. I am the "woman" this guest referred to that apparently in their eyes didn't care about the issues they reported. The guest reported that their door was sticking when they received towels from me early that morning.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Their queen beds are actually full sized beds and the sheets don't fit the bed. Noise level in the hallways is outrageous. You would have to be a line backer to open the door to the room (it gets stuck when you try to open it). Towel rack is falling off. Staff doesn't really seem to care when you voice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelers1313
Islander084, Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We advertise rooms with 2 double beds, not 2 queen beds. The door sticking and the towel rack issue have been taken care of for this guest. The time they took to write this review was appreciated. More 

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Coastal Guest Room (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Balcony Guest Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)
Viewed
Traditional Interior Guest Room (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
171 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
172 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Price Range: $92 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
Charlotte, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles ktownse1, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“ask sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles TandaH51, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front!”
 of 5 bubbles donnasN5234OV, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“ask for there most updated room”
 of 5 bubbles abovelamer, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view or partial ocean view are great”
 of 5 bubbles 760gilbertg, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay