We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kiawah Island Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Start your review of Kiawah Island Golf Resort
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights on a golf plan in early April and paid extra for a scenic view. We were inexplicably given a condo nowhere near any of the golf courses and one that had never been renovated. The view was of a neglected small lake overgrown with trees and plants. Given that the ocean is only hundreds of yards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJL8
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent the week prior to Easter in Kiawah Island in a 1 bedroom resort condo. We were a short walk to the beach and Night Heron Park which also has the resort pool. Our condo provided the resort card which enables use of all resort facilities - a must if you have kids and want to do more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We usually come in April for our kids spring break. This year it falls over Easter and Kiawah is packed! Last year our breakfast at the Ocean course was fantastic so kids asked to go the first day this year. Service was slow and the food was cold. We did tell them and they took 50% off the bill. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECWhit
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and played the Ocean Course and Osprey Point. Both very different courses but an absolute joy to play. Staff friendly were and helpful. Food at each course was also good. Watch out for alligators and snakes when looking for your ball in the rough!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beware when booking a villa that includes "All Amenities". I spent hundreds of dollars for this upgrade only to learn that villa guests are prohibited from using the Sanctuary pool. When I called to complain I was told quote "this happens all the time and we get LOTS of complaints but we (the Resort) have absolutely no control of what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
Mike_Vegis, Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review

We reserve access to The Sanctuary Pool exclusivity to Sanctuary guests. If we didn't, we would have thousands of people vying for a facility that has a capacity 255 rooms. It is the same reason we don't allow non-resort guests to use the resort's other pools. We don't want to dilute the experience of resort guests by allowing thousands of...

Lebanon, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival found the front door was almost off his hinges, the back door to the screened in porch had a broken lock, the A/C unit worked but the filter was filthy. They did come and fix the door immediately and on day three changed and vacumned the filter. Beds were comfortable and otherwise the unit nicely designed and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R-Margaret
Roanoke, United States
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Played a weekend tournament at Turtle Point on Saturday and The Ocean Course on Sunday. Staff at both courses were helpful, friendly and very professional. The golf courses were spectacular. Tees, fairways and greens were in superb condition. Immaculate! My only negative was that Turtle played EXREMELY fast. The course was completely redone a year or two ago. The fairways...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejm99
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My sister and I stayed in one of the Windswept villas. It was a great set up: two bedrooms each with their own bath and a fully stocked kitchen. We called the front desk a couple of times and the staff was always very nice, friendly and accommodating, even for a late check out. We will definitely visit there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auntangie4
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Just thank you so much. For my wife's birthday, everything was excellent, staff service, room and what a wonderful place. You have to go...enjoy a nice cocktail in front of the fire place. Great week end

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Voyageurbabou
Virginia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We have been to Kiawah many times and it is a fabulous place but one thing needs fixing: the Roy Barth tennis facility is terribly maintained. The courts are not swept properly, there are leaves left on the court, weeds growing through fences, etc. For a world class resort this absolutely is not acceptable. Very unfortunate, because we love to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trfromvirginia
MikeVegis01, Manager at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review

We are always working on having the grounds and clay court conditions in excellent condition. We appreciate your comment and will discuss your comments with our maintenance staff. Just as an FYI, w are closed most of the winter months at West Beach with minimum staff. It’s possible we had to open up West Beach over certain busy weekends. Do...

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (202)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Dining (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
409 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,727 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,965 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 21-miles south of beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, Kiawah Island Golf Resort offers an unmatched golf experience with a unique combination of distinctive golf courses, a spectacularly beautiful natural setting, luxurious resort amenities and gracious hospitality. Selected as the best golf resort in the U.S. in Golf World magazine's "Readers' Choice Awards" survey, the resort staff is totally committed to the game of golf and those who play it at every level. Kiawah Island Golf Resort possesses an esteemed golf tradition flavored with the spirit of lively competition. Kiawah Island's championship resume includes the dramatic 1991 Ryder Cup, the 1997 and 2003 World Cups, the 2005 PGA Professional National Championship, the 2007 Senior PGA Championship and the prestigious 2012 PGA Championship won in commanding fashion by Rory McIlroy. It has also been named the site of the 2021 PGA Championship. The resort offers five distinctive, world-class golf courses designed by Pete Dye, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Fazio, Gary Player and Clyde Johnston. Using the island's magnificent setting of rolling sand dunes, expansive saltwater marshes and quiet maritime forests, each architect has created a unique expression of golf's varied challenges and rewards. The resort has received an impressive array of rankings in various magazine readers' polls proving that service is still king on Kiawah Island including being named the No. 1 island in North American Island & No. 2 island in the world in the latest Conde Nast Traveler's annual Readers' Choice Awards With 10 miles of stunning shoreline and an unmatched golf experience, Kiawah Island Golf Resort is one of America's top vacation destinations. In addition to the five championship golf courses, two tennis centers, it is known as one of the top eco-friendly resorts in the U.S. and has a world-renowned recreation and nature program With close to 600 villas and luxury homes and the Forbes Five Star/AAA Five Diamond, 255-room oceanfront hotel and spa, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, the resort offers a wide variety of accommodation options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Price Range: $323 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiawah Island Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Kiawah Island Resort
Kiawah Island Hotel
Kiawah Island Golf Resort South Carolina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiawah Island Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Savannah, Georgia
3 months ago
Huntersville, North Carolina

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kiawah Island Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no way to know. website is awful.”
KJL8, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It seems all the units are arranged nicely, so any would be good.”
R-Margaret, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the ocean, corner suites are best.”
Jay323443, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Sanctuary has an indoor pool only for guests staying at the hotel. If you stay in the villas, you can not use the pool.”
SavyTravlr, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villas are well-appointed. Sanctuary Hotel is gorgeous!”
reduff, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5