We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Twilight Surf Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Twilight Surf Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 June 2016

First the pros, right on the beach, ice cream/food shop across the street, convenient location, has a pool, kitchenette, and cheap! Office and housekeeping staff are friendly. Cons are it could definitely use some updates, as in carpet, box springs for the beds, a bed skirts wouldn't hurt, a bath towel to step on, possibly keep the drink machine filled,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy G
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Stacy. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Twilight Surf. We appreciate your constructive criticism. Please know that the management has been made aware of your recommendations. We hope you will visit with us again in the future!

Arese, Italy
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We spent one week in this hotel, our room was on the last floor (side view). The room was clean, the housekeepers and the guys at the front desk were really nice! The hotel is right on the ocean and close to several restaurants. We had some problems with the fridge and the oven and the owner fixed it really...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simone P
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Hi Simone, thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to be accommodating and address any concerns guests have as quickly as possible. I am happy we were able to do so for. We hope to see you in Myrtle Beach again soon!

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Omg!!.Where do i start.This is the worst motel or whatever they call themselves,I've ever stayed in.My extended family and i decided to stay at this place for a three day weekend.Since one of my family members stayed here several years ago,most of us went with this idea.After driving around finding out everything else was booked,didn't seem like a bad idea.Wrong.What...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sophia G
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sophia, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you had problems during your stay and wish you had mentioned them at that time. We make every effort to deal with issues as quickly as possible. While Twilight Surf is an older, family-run business, we think that is part of its charm. We have made improvements...

Williamsburg, Kentucky
Reviewed 29 July 2015

we stay on july 19 2015 until 25 had a great room on the ground floor no 4 it was clean and the maid service was great met news friend had all around great trip clean pool I know that they do clean the pool because I seen first hand I have stay there alot thru the years and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie B
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, thanks for taking time to leave a review. We really appreciate your patronage over the years and look forward to seeing you again in 2016!

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Hotel was pretty bad, room not cleaned, floor not vacuumed, hair left in bathtub, tub not cleaned, coffee pot not cleaned, bread crumbs on top of microwave from toaster, and, the worst part........roaches in the kitchen area; behind cabinets, crawling on the walls. I obtained a gallon of bleach from a housekeeper and cleaned the bathroom, walls, etc myself. Spoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Robin. We are sorry you experienced problems during your stay. Please know that your concerns will be addressed. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us during your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

I have stayed there several times before but last year it changed when I was checking in the man checking me in was so very rude!. The staff in the office was so very rude! But I chalked it up to people have bad days. But this year I was going to stay there again until I called today to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, we apologize for the problems you experienced. Please know we take your comments seriously and that they have been addressed. Again, we are sorry, and hope you will consider staying with us next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Elizabethton, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Some people like the new, fancy hotels, but if I have the chance, I choose the Twilight Surf. No, it doesn't have a huge new pool or rooms, but it is ocean front, has good parking, and decent size rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jennifer c
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review, Jennifer. We think that Twilight's age is part of its charm. For those of us who grew up here, as well as long time visitors, it reminds us of wonderful childhood memories and days gone by!

Clyde, Ohio
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Older motel, but clean,friendly. Stayed June 15_19. Very hot &humid, but it was clean & right off beach. Had fridge,microwave,coffee maker, though you supply your own coffee. No continental breakfast, but a place across street is good. The only washer & dryer were outside & a little rusty, but worked. We travel by motorcycle so limited in what we pack....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy F
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave a review, Kathy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Twilight Surf and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean. Not a bad place to say. This is something that The Motel can not do anything about. We where kept up all night long from the loud radios from the cars going up and down the boulevard until 4 in the morning. Parking lot right beside Twilight a group of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cindy B
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Cindy. We apologize for the noise in a nearby parking lot. We do not allow loitering in our parking lot, but unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about adjacent hotels and public spaces. We hope you will visit us again! Feel free to request a room closer to the beach. If available, we...

Union, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Stayed here Easter weekend April 2015.Will be staying here again in June 2015.Clean and spacious oceanfront efficiency room,easy beach access.Great rates!Great location! Very friendly people in the office.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Zena B
TwilightSurfSC, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review

Hi Zena! Thanks so much for your kind review! We agree that Twilight Surf is a great affordable, family-friendly motel! We do our best to keep the motel clean and well maintained and are happy that you noticed the time and effort we put into these tasks. We hope to see you again in 2016!

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#134 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
150 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#67 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
536 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#160 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Southern Breeze Motel
Southern Breeze Motel
#115 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
67 reviews
1.3 km away
Vancouver Motel
Vancouver Motel
#52 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step out of your air conditioned room and onto the sunny beach. Guests have long enjoyed the close location of the Atlantic Ocean. Not only is the Twilight Surf Motel oceanfront, but is also in the heart of Myrtle Beach. This means golf courses, shopping centers, and amusement parks are only minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Twilight Surf Motel

Address: 1703 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4631
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $40 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilight Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Twilight Surf Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Twilight Surf Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the rooms far from the street and from the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 12SimoneP, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
  • carpet not vacuumed
  • old food on carpet from previous guests
  • old food on floor
  • Very dirty carpet
  • Ice bucket dirty
 of 5 bubbles robind93, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get ocean front if available.”
 of 5 bubbles 250jenniferc250, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“we had an awesome view of the beach from the 3rd floor. There are no elevators but we managed the steps just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles lisabR8686XG, 11 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Bottom floor are good for the handicap but if you want a good oceanfront view, 2nd floor and up are better.”
 of 5 bubbles courtneym697, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5