We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

South Wind On The Ocean

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
South Wind On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Start your review of South Wind On The Ocean
 Click to rate
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love South Winds. Love Laurie and Kathy. Another perfect vacation. Can't wait to return. Enjoy coffee on the balcony, take a walk on the beach, enjoy the lazy river and go to Carraba's for dinner. Oh, and golf in between. Gotta love South Wind On The Ocean at Myrtle Beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIsaJoan2014
kingsport, tennessee
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the outside is beautiful, and it is funny the review prior to mine tells the same story because they had the same room 1204. it was pitiful, carpet dirty stained over and over in places, walls banged up, the tile was dirty you could not walk in socks or they became black, the bathroom was dirty which I cleaned the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingsporttraveler
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The pools were the only part that was nice. There was a lovely grass area great for late sun but we were told to get off the grass. 805 was in need of a complete repaint, lots of marks on walls as well as crayon scribbles in one of the closets. Carpet had holes and stains everywhere and needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service at the front desk was great, very professional and courteous, started with a 1 bedroom and upgraded to a three bedroom oceanfront (1204). Great price for the time of year, however, be advised that the front desk doesn't open until 0900am which means you need to checkout at the hotel next door if you need to leave earlier...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenneth M
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Kenneth, Thank you for choosing South Wind on the Ocean for all of your vacation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback on how your stay went. I sincerely apologize that we failed you in the aspect of cleanliness, and can assure you we will look into what may have happened as this is not...

NC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I searched for weeks trying to find a 5 BR unit for our family group. Unit 307 was perfect for us and plan to book for next year. I think these are all owner condos and I booked this one through Stoppers Century 21 Real Estate. Was slightly uncertain when reading reviews, but the owner of this unit must be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolann325
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

CarolAnn, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and look forward to many more memorable vacations with you and your family! Please be sure to reach out to the resort directly for some exciting promotions we offer when you are...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

In December my family and I checked into Southwind. We were greeted by Laurie who was very friendly and very knowledgeable of the area and gave us some great recommendations as this was our first visit to Myrtle Beach. We stayed in a 3 bedroom / 2 bathroom unit with the most spectacular view. It was so nice , spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommyoflittles
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

mommy, We were honored to have you with us at South Wind on the Ocean. We are thrilled to hear that you and the family had a great stay with us as well as the area. I will be sure to share your review with Laurie, as she is a great asset to our team. Please reach out to either...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed recently, wonderful ocean front family oriented exclusive condo. Fantastic ocean view. Most of all their services great Laurie and Freddie they treat people as their own. If you need quite/piece place to stay This is the one!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalbacher and L
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Kalbacher, We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the spectacular views that our building offers. We will be sure to let Laurie and Freddie know how much you enjoyed their service, that will put a smile on their...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Our Family had a great time loved the Condo the front desk Clerk Lori ThickPen was extremely helpful gave us great recommendations on restaurants and made sure our stay was pleasant I enjoyed especially the lush gardens and the swimming facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya K
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Sonya, Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay with South Wind on the Ocean. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and that Laurie was such a pleasure to work with. We look forward to making many more memorable vacations for you and your family! Please let...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

I rented a 3 bedroom condo for New Years. My daughter and I stayed 4 days , 3 nights. She feel in love with it and now we are planning next years trip there and renting the penthouse. Laurie is so great at the beginning of check in all the way thru to checkout. To her I say Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William H
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

William, We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your 3 bedroom condo that you rented over New Years, and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went. We love hearing how much Laurie impacted your stay as she is such a joy to have on our team and continually impresses us...

East Bend, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I stayed at this hotel in December. Laurie call twice to see that the room was clean and to my expectations. The view was great and the staff wonderful. It was the perfect vacation. I plan on staying at the hotel again. The hotel doesn't have all the water games most kids likes but sure is wonderful for the adults....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 65starfish
Tess P, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

65starfish, It was a pleasure to have you vacation with us in December, and we can't begin to thank you enough for all of your kind words of feedback in regards to your stay. We will be sure to let Laurie know how much you appreciated her during your stay and look forward to making many more memories for years...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,289 reviews
0.8 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#76 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
188 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#126 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,053 reviews
0.2 km away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#49 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
654 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2531
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $431 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not chose 1204 , and we went thru the resort for reservations,have used VRBO many times and never a room like this”
kingsporttraveler, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to see your room before you check in.”
  • Carpet badly stained
  • Coffee table coming apart
  • Marks on walls, every wall
  • Beds were not level
  • Crayon scribbles on wall
FrancesG464, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for ocean view”
H8481OTwilliamh, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would check the beds before accepting the room.”
gilbertf2015, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mid-level, front ocean view”
  • private balcony view
  • view of room from balcony
E2476KYjoeb, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5