We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

South Wind On The Ocean

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Wind On The Ocean
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for South Wind On The Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We will never stay here again. Bed bugs and cockroaches in our room. The room was not very clean. Urine all over bottoms of toilets. The room has potential to be nice, just not properly maintained. Someone did come and spray for bed bugs however at that point it was too late for our family to leave since it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bre k
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Bre K, While you did not rent directly through South Wind on the Ocean, I would like to apologize for the experience that you had. I would suggest that you bring these complaints directly to the company that you booked through so that they can make sure that their future guests do not have the same issues that you...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 September 2015

My family comes down to Myrtle Beacg,SC at least 2 times a year to golf. South wind on the ocean is quiet (except on weekends in the summer) clean and convenient to everything. The staff, in particular Laurie, could not be more accommodating. She anticipates our every need. South wind on the ocean is our "home away from home." Lee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee K
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Lee K, It so nice to hear that we have become your "home away from home". We strive to treat each of our guests like family, and our fantastic staff like Laurie helps us achieve this goal. I will be sure to pass along your remarks and we look forward to hosting you and yours again soon. Best Wishes,...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Southwinds on the Ocean is the best condominium at Mytle Beach. It is clean. The staff, particularly Laurie, is super accommodating. The suites are large and beautifully decirTed. We stay at Southwinds twice a year. Joan K

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIsaJoan2014
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear LisaJoan2014, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us at SouthWind on the Ocean. We are thrilled to see that you had a great time and are looking forward to your return. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Troy, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Southwind is the best place to stay in myrtle beach. We checked in with Laurie. She is so helpful and nice to us. Our condo was very nice and clean.Everything went very well. We can't wait to come back. A big thank you again to Laurie.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila T
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Sheila T, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at South Wind on the Ocean. We are happy to see that you had a great time and plan on returning. We are looking forward to serving you and yours again soon. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Heath Springs, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The staff was wonderful. Could not have asked for more! We definitely plan on a return trip to South Wind of the Ocean. We so enjoy Myrtle Beach because the beaches are so large and wonderful for any family activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spiritsoflife
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Spiritsoflife, Thank you for the positive comments. We are grateful you had a wonderful time and remember Heath Springs is not that far so come back and visit soon. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Troy, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Check in was a breeze especially with Laurie. She was so nice to us checking us in. We really appreciate her. The condo was very clean,staff very helpful, all around great place to stay.lazy river was nice hot tubs were wonderful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Nicole H, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Diane P, Thank you for choosing South Wind on the Ocean. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic staff members. I will be sure to pass along your comments and we hope to see you and yours for your next trip to the beach. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Rixeyville, Virginia
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Had a four bedroom condo that was very nice and spacious! Great location, too! Our balcony was very big with great views! The best thing was the area is quiet! Next to us is Beach Colony and it's very busy and noisy. Great family area with pools or the beach. Happy with our choice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria W
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear VictoriaW, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at South Wind on the Ocean. I have to agree that our nice, quiet location provides a great vacation getaway. We hope you have a great fall season and come visit us again for your next trip to the beach. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Four Oaks, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

This was a great vacation. The hotel was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was quiet and relaxing. We had a very spacious and well maintained suite. There was a small incident with a broken towel rack but the staff had it repaired within the hour it was reported. Parking was easy. Without any hotel hassles, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa1360
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Lisa1360, Stress free, relaxing vacations are our specialty, I am so glad we were able to provide you the one you were looking for. Thank you for sharing your kind words with us and we hope to host you and yours on your next getaway. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad Assistant General Manager

Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I recently went on vacation with my wife, parents, siblings, and nieces/nephews. Since there were a total of 11 of us, we decided to pool our resources and rent a five-bedroom unit at South Wind on the Ocean for five days. The online photos and recent reviews convinced us that this would be a great property for a family vacation....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank towers85
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear towers85, Thank you for bringing the housekeeping issues to our attention, I can assure you that we are working hard to retrain and correct some the problems that occurred during your stay. Every response we get is brought to the owner's attention so that we make the necessary changes to bring every unit up to meet our guest expectations....

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Our condo was filthy and the carpets/tile flooring were stained and disgustingly dirty. Housekeeping was terrible. The pools/hotubs were good and it was a direct ocean view condo but overall our experience here was terrible and will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJO333
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear JJ0333, Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. It is always disappointing to hear that we have not met our guest's expectations and I can assure you that it is not a normal occurrence at South Wind on the Ocean. I hope that you reconsider and give us a second chance to help you have the...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#88 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
182 reviews
1.2 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,273 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#128 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,010 reviews
0.2 km away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#45 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
643 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2531
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles H8481OTwilliamh, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would check the beds before accepting the room.”
 of 5 bubbles gilbertf2015, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mid-level, front ocean view”
  • private balcony view
  • view of room from balcony
 of 5 bubbles E2476KYjoeb, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms on 2 floor just walk straight into your room”
 of 5 bubbles sheilathayer54, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front any”
 of 5 bubbles dianep706, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5