Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel

Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel

Ocean plaza myrtle beach
Traveller (149)
Pool & Beach (19)
Ocean Plaza Motel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#161 of 181 hotels in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Myrtle Beach does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Ocean Plaza Motel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

The property also features a pool to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Myrtle Beach, Ocean Plaza Hotel is located a short distance from First Baptist Church of Myrtle Beach (1.6 km) and Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade (2.4 km).

While in Myrtle Beach be sure to experience local tapas favourites at The Chemist -Craft Cocktails and Modern Cuisine, Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, or The Fowler Dining Room.

Best of all, Ocean Plaza Motel makes it easy to experience some great Myrtle Beach attractions like Barc Parc South, which is a popular park.

Ocean Plaza Motel puts the best of Myrtle Beach at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Indoor pool
Vending machine
Beach
Self-serve laundry
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Price:Save up to 25% OFF!

Location

1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Myrtle Beach Intl Airport
320Reviews13Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 56
  • 57
  • 42
  • 141
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ransom007 wrote a review Feb 2021
Anaheim, California1,123 contribution448 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel has free parking (you get a permit when you register). To check in you need to go next door to the Paradise. The check in process was very slow and they charged a $15 resort fee on top of the room charge. The property is pretty run down. The room has an outside entry and was poorly designed and I was concerned because both the door knob and dead bolt were loose. There was a small refrigerator, a microwave oven, and a coffee pot and the room had free wi-fi. I did manage to get a good night's sleep and my requested wake up call. Check out went without any problems.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimberly R wrote a review Jul 2021
Bristol, Virginia1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First off I usually do not reserve a room when we go to the beach, crazy as it sounds, bc for the most part we go right after Labor Day so there is usually tons of rooms available. BUT, this time we were going early June so I figured it might be wise to reserve one. After a month of comparing prices and locations of different motels my choices were down to Ocean Plaza Inn and Polynesian resort (had no clue they were sister motels lol) I finally chose Ocean Plaza. When we arrived at the beach it was early in the day, it was so hot and muggy we were all miserable, my husband children and I. Went straight to the motel hoping we could beg for an early check in. The lady behind the desk was very rude and hatelful! She had no empathy at all to my situation. Granted I am sure they get a lot of the same every day, but when you see an over weight woman with a very flush face and sweating profusely it might be a good idea to AT LEAST ask if she is ok. NOPE! All I got was a hateful response saying "check in is after 4pm" it was only 12 at this point. If it weren't for me already paying for my room in advance, I would have told her were to stick that reservation!
So after all of the drama with the motel, we went to WalMart to walk around get cool and try to find a place to change clothes. Note to self, dress in little to nothing on the way to the beach so your not miserable when you get there! SMH We basically piddled around shops for almost 4 hours, and also went to the arcade and enjoyed the air conditioning lol. So at 15 til 4 we were back at Ocean Plaza, with the thoughts of it will take at least fifteen minutes to get checked in. Once we checked in we were told our room wasn't ready yet!!!! We didn't get in a room for another hour, 4:00 went to 5:00 By now I'm furious, and my first day of vacation was ruined. This set the mood for my stay at this motel.
When looking for a room, I didn't expect to find something spectacular in my price range. You get what you pay for, as the old saying goes. I was actually very surprised the room was so clean and smelled good actually. We were supposed to have free wifi, so my kids could play on their phones and tablets. We had it for ONE whole day, never got again. We were told it was being repaired, everyday this was the response to us asking about the Wifi! My other complaint about the motel was the elavator! It was disgusting, smelled of mildew VERY bad! Being on the fifth floor we had to take it or walk up the steps, but being on vacation there was no way! lol
To sum my long story up the only thing I liked about our trip was the room, beds were comfy, beautiful ocean view, and a powerful shower. If the owner would now revamp his staff, and fix that nasty elavotor and ensure the wifi is working I MAY go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean view above the third floor, otherwise you cant see the ocean at all
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordynn M wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I got a deal off Groupon for $40. I thought it covered everything. Then we get to the check in spot ( which is actually the place beside it) and they say I have to be charged $15 extra for parking and pool etc. then we get to the room and the ac wasn’t working. I clean the air filter in it and it helped a little. Then the phone wasn’t even plugged in so it was unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Larry H wrote a review Jun 2022
Ashland, Kentucky4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upoon arrial was greeted and check in was prompt and efficient. Great accomodations. Staff was friendly and answered any questions I had. Resort and rooms were clean. Location was excellent. Would definitely stay here again on return to Myrtle Beach area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: oceanfront room was above and beyond my expectations, excellent room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Review wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel is definitely older but can provide for what you may need for a relaxing temporary get-away on a low budget. Staff and maintenance will respond and the motel does its leg work to try and work out issues, even if things get limited seasonally. The staff's due diligence is respected and If you plan to be a guest then practice your own personal safety and prepare your own supplies beforehand for a simple short-term stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place should be torn down, The room we had was awful. First time we tried to get into out room the door wouldn't open. I had to literally slam my shoulder into the door to open it. When we finally did get in there was a man in there . He said he was maintenance there to fix the AC although it seemed to work fine. Later that day, we tried to use the hot water and there wasn't any. I went to the front desk to inform them and they acted as if I was bothering them. They finally did send someone and they informed us that the hot water had been turned off to that room and that they would turn it back on. The room itself was in awful shape. The walls had holes and cracked cement, on one the beds would tilt down and touch the floor and the other side would go up into the air when you sat on it. Outside on the balcony there were bottle caps and used cups from the previous tenant. They never came in to clean the room, make the beds, or supply us with clean towels. I went to the front desk to ask for clean towels and she called someone on the walkie talkie to get us towel. 4 hours later, still no towels and its now 9 PM. My wife tried to call the front desk from the room phone to ask about the towels and the phone wasn't working. After further inspection, we could see that the phone cord had been cut. I had to go to the laundry room and get my own towels. There were all kinds of rules listed that were never enforced. Needless to say, we couldn't get out of this place fast enough. They even had the nerve to charge us a resort fee and wouldn't explain what it was for
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go to another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JESSICA R wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel ocean plaza, Viking motel, and Polynesian Resort are all “sister hotels” I gave 1 star because of location only. This hotel is awful, it shouldn’t even be allowed to operate. We get to ocean plaza(reviews were good for this hotel when booked) to check in, office is closed (red flag 1)had to Polynesian resort ( by the way awful awful reviews) , my husband checked in this is for a one night $117.44. Red flag 2,should have been the keys they gave you to the room they were actual keys from the 70s( don’t get me wrong something can last a long time if you take care of it). Red flag 3, took forever for elevator and when it arrived we got it and the whole bottom of the elevator was torn out around the floor ( I looked at my husband and he said let’s see the room) red flag 4 got to the room opened the door and like 10 pamphlets fell out when the door opened. Red flag 5, the table was filthy in the room, red flag 6 where there should have been baseboards it was ripped from the drywall to the carpet and was black, solid mold all around the floor where baseboards should be. We left immediately (not even 10 minutes after checking in) went back to office expressed my concerns and how we could not stay in those conditions especially since my child has serve asthma and mold will trigger an attack, the front desk lady said we could Stay at there “sister” resorts. I said no thank you if you let this place look like this and run it like this one we do not want to go there either just a refund of 117.44. She got the manager “Tonya Williams” who said I could choose a sister location or go somewhere else that we were not getting a refund. I asked for general manager she stated I could call the number on the receipt and speak with “Krystal/Crystal Loyd” she told me to have a nice night I told her I could stop payment with card company she said I could try she stated to call the number on the receipt and tells me bye. I said there is no number in the receipt and she leaves the room and she just leaves me in the lobby by myself. This place is just all the way around awful. It’s 2023 inflation is high, gas is high, family vacations are not a thing anymore. And when we decided to do a family trip to the beach we come across people/companies like this. $117.44 is a lot of money to take from someone. All I wanted was a refund and all she kept saying was stay at as sister property and what “if” they don’t have mold. We had 12 hours in the car half of which was pouring down rain. We wanted a nice, comfortable, clean place to stay. And we got mold, bugs, dirty mess and a company/resort who takes hard working individuals money for a unsanitized, moldy building that is falling apart.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Responded Jun 19, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. We are a budget friendly hotel, and we advertise ourselves as such. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the menus slipped through the door by outside vendors. We clean these out of our rooms daily, and we return the following day to find 10 new menus. We attempt to stop these restaurants from doing this at every chance we can, but we cannot catch them every time. We have been able to visit the room that you were assigned to, and we do see where the original carpet baseboard had been removed in order to replace with new wooden baseboard. We are sorry this was not completed prior to your arrival, however, we were not able to see any of the baseboard areas that were "black, solid mold" as you have mentioned. The area where the baseboard had been removed was white from the primer used before the room was last painted. Thank you again for voicing your concerns. Our best way to improve ourselves is from valuable guest feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NoDanaOnlyZuulWNY wrote a review Jul 2022
North Tonawanda, New York38 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Run. This place and the "Polynesian" place next door are the same motel. The directions say to go to the other place (1001), but then if Ocean Plaza is open you have to walk over there.
Booked through hotels.com. After the confusing start, they charged me an additional $15 for fees/taxes, then the fun began.
We were given a lower-level room, and the page said "no view." Since we were only staying for a few hours to sleep before catching a very early fight, we didn't care about the view. However, we were not prepared for what we were offered.
We had to take a rickety elevator down a floor, then walk through a hallway and outdoor area that was reminiscent of a scene from Trainspotting.

The room was pitch black and illuminated only by the lighting in the next building's parking lot coming through the HUGE picture window. As we stepped into the dark, dank space, we were immediately accosted by a rotten/damp smell that was mixed with copious amounts of air freshener.
The a/c did not appear to be working properly, as the compressor would not kick on and blew lukewarm air. The carpeting was torn up, stained, and literally sticky, and there was black mold in the already dingy bathroom. The single chair looked like someone had urinated on it, and the one light fixture was rusty.
I checked the beds for bedbugs and found none, however, there was what appeared to be blood stains on the mattress cover.
Completely skeeved out and feeling unsafe, I contacted hotels.com immediately. The agent was unable to reach the person sitting at the front desk, but said he would escalate the matter. We walked out and handed in the keys within 20 minutes of entering the room and booked at the Red Roof Inn for the few hours of sleep we were afforded (after showering) before our 6:30 AM flight.

I was informed today that I was denied a refund because it is a "past booking," and “have a strict refund policy.” This does not surprise me at all, as I can see by their reviews that I am not the first to get scammed by this fleabag motel (or the first to mention blood stains).
My advice is to pay the extra $20-30 and stay ANYWHERE else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linda M wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Got there lobby was locked had to go to the Motel next door to check in. Lady was screaming blood murder try to get away from so man. Finally got checked in parked and went to the room. All I can say is why hasn't this place been condemed. Floor was filthy and sticky. Bleached everything from door knobs to light switches. Saw three roaches. Made sure to check the mattresses to make sure there were no bugs. Went to check out the pool and someone had thrown a gallon of milk in the pool and the milk was spoiled floating on top...checked out next day. Please Please go somewhere else. Dead bolt was broken looked like someone had kicked the door in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Please spend extra and go somewhere else. I didn't feel safe at all.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shawn S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room had no hot water in the shower. There was no daily house keeping which was ok but it took 3 days of asking to get fresh towels and we needed to empty our own trash from our room daily. The pools and their surroundings where dirty and people where smoking all over the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ej asked a question May 2021
Farmington, New York
Age limit?
Victoria M asked a question Mar 2018
Newark, New Jersey
Do they have smoking room ?
Answer from povmgmt
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Ocean Plaza is a non smoking property. All rooms and public areas of the building are non smoking.
Answer from povmgmt
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Our hotel has been undergoing major renovations due to damages sustained during Hurricane Matthew in October 2016. We will be opening all floors at a staggered pace during the month of June. Once rooms are complete we will be updating sites such as Trip Advisor in effort to remove old reviews. We have new appliances, cabinets, bedding, fixtures, and room furniture currently being installed. I feel the property will far exceed your expectations based on reviews you have read from the past. We always attempt to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities. Your cancellation policy will depend on how you booked your reservation. Many online sites such as Expedia, Booking, and their affiliates allow you to cancel up to the day before arrival with no penalty. If your room was booked directly through us we charge a $15 fee for cancellations made 8 days or more prior to your arrival. Any cancellations on our reservations made within 7 days of arrival do forfeit the first night plus tax. I hope this helps answer your question as well as calms any doubts you may have about your upcoming reservation.
lucigray asked a question Jul 2016
1 contribution
Is it in walking distance to the Gay Dolphin?
Answer from povmgmt
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
The Gay Dolphin gift shop is approximately 1.5 miles North of our property.
Answer from Brian C
Chesapeake, Virginia19 contributions5 helpful votes
Parking is right in front of the hotel and I am sure they have an overflow lot, though it wasn't needed when we were there. If you have a large vehicle, parking can be tight.
Corey C wrote a tip May 4
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure if you go here EVERYONE coming has a valid hard copy ID. They wouldn’t take a guest of the rooms temporary state ID. "
Read full review
Jacquelyn I wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get coffee and h20 for your stay! Also you can make a big pizza in the ovens in your room "
Read full review
Jay wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This property is substantially unmaintained or improved in any way."
Read full review
Tajma J wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Right on the beach…… customer service is great…. "
Read full review
Kanani K wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is disgusting!! Low budget and brown looking !! Don’t stay here "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Myrtle Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
C$82 - C$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean plaza hotel myrtle beach, ocean plaza myrtle beach
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Family Kingdom Amusement Park (0.8 km), Jungle Lagoon (0.8 km), and Family Kingdom Water Park (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Romana Italian Restaurant, Loco Gecko, and Thorny's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (2.7 km) and Charlie's Place (3.6 km).
Does Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Myrtle Beach HotelsMyrtle Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Myrtle BeachHotels near Ocean Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars