Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Traveller (2570)
Panorama at the Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
360
Panoramas (54)
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

C$75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#26 of 37 resorts in Myrtle Beach
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children's television networks
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Water park
Bowling offsite
Entertainment staff
Patio
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Countdown to Summer Sale
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles10,798 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled close to inviting beaches and entertainment options, Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort is hailed for its location and ocean-view pools, a hit among families. However, guests have called out the hotel for its cleanliness challenges, citing delayed housekeeping and issues with room upkeep. While the atmosphere is described as vibrant, reviewers warn that both rooms and common areas require significant updates. Service experiences vary, with instances of both friendliness and inefficiency. Ultimately, many travelers question the value, feeling the pinch of unexpected fees and inadequate service.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
10,798Reviews170Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,887
  • 2,603
  • 1,741
  • 1,150
  • 1,417
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
edupsmith wrote a review Jun 2020
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States221 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start by saying my review is going to be more critical because I worked at four diamond hotels for over 5 years so I am picky. We also typically stay at North Beach Plantation so I am used to more upscale hotels. The photos online are a bit misleading as we thought this would be more upscale, but it is not. For starters, your access to the room is from outside (like a motel). We stayed in a 3 bedroom oceanfront condo in the Mariner building and I feel they over charge for this hotel. The bed sheets had a stain upon arrival and the sheets + pillow cases were extremely wrinkled. The hotel layout is poor with having the Schooner building in front of the Mariner building. It was not appealing to the eye to be looking down at the roof while staying on the 7th floor. I do not like an obstructed view to the beach especially being obstructed by another building that is attached to the hotel. The rooms are on the smaller side and having the TV stand next to the bed instead of in front of it made it awkward for watching TV in bed at night (the other two rooms had a normal set up with a TV in front of the bed). Smoking should not be allowed on the balcony as it is disgusting to other guests and more than once did we have to smell a cigar or marijuana while sitting outside. There were also many guests smoking at the kid submarine pool which is not safe at all. The Tiki Bar is way over priced; For a hotel that is not very upscale, the drinks should not cost $14. One of the elevators was broken twice which caused a longer wait and luggage carts are just scattered everywhere as they do not have a designated location for them so people will just leave them on any floor they choose. The location is also not the best. This was our first time staying in South Myrtle and it is awful. You hear loud cars/trucks ALL day and night and the type of people that stay around here are not considerate of others (we had to listen to someone blare their loud music on the beach while sitting in front of us and it was not appropriate music for children to be overhearing). We chose to switch up our normal hotel and stay here due to wanting to try a place with a more kid-friendly pool, however we will not be returning and will instead continue to stay at North Beach Plantation in North Myrtle. The only thing I was excited about was that this hotel's kid pool with the submarine is 100% fenced in (even though reservations told me it's not - it actually is).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay in North Myrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shanikwa Fordham, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. i apologize that you encountered some issues during your stay, and it sounds like a lot of these were due to the actions of other guests and tourists in the surround vicinity of your room and our property. I assure you our goal is to provide a fun, safe, and comfortable environment for all of our guests, and our security and management team is always present to address any concerns. We appreciate your honest feedback and once again apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kes1639 wrote a review Oct 2020
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas1,184 contribution391 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice resort along the beach. Really appreciated their flexibility to reschedule in these crazy times with no penalty. This was our third attempt. We had a two bed/two bath condo on the 11th floor. The room needed a bit of updating. Nicely furnished but the tables appeared to have cigarette burn marks. Kitchen was not stocked too well (no wine glasses or cutting board and limited silverware) but the fridge did have a handy ice maker. Housekeeping only left one dishwasher packet and no paper towels (had to call). Also couldn't find the TV remote for the living room (it was stuffed down in the couch, you think housekeeping would have looked for it). We had no service during our stay. Plenty of extra trash bags and trash was picked up promptly in the hall ways.

Not sure how they come up with 23 pools on property. The breakfast is a great deal (large servings, they do buffet but they serve you). We got it to go and ate in our room.

Nice view of the ocean and very short walk to the beach and great hose off area when you come off the beach.

Every member of staff we met were friendly and accommodating.

Very family friendly hotel but then you also have some teenagers running amok and young adults who came to party.

Negatives:
Agree rooms need a thorough cleaning, doors to laundry room were dirty; the HVAC in the laundry room had no cover on it; vents needed dusting; pubic hair in bath tub.

The plastic furniture on the deck needed a good wipe.

Didn't find the beds comfortable -- too soft

We had an ocean room on the 11th floor but could here commotion from the grill area by the pool at 1:00 a.m. that woke us up.

Several people find the need to shout in the hallways which you could hear You could here the upstairs bathroom when they showered.

Our showers had a high pitch whistle; low pressure; and shower head is made for someone not much taller than 5'8" or 5'9.

Although signs are posted for mandatory masks in elevators, many folks disregarded this crowding into the elevators in groups of 4 or more and no masks. And you were stuck in the corner with no where to go.

For the price we paid in October I was satisfied with the accommodations, but if we had gone when we were originally scheduled last May and paid that price (almost 3x the price we paid) I would have been mad for what I got.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Steege, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this helpful review regarding your recent experience at our resort. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was a positive one and appreciate the feedback so that we can work to improve in the aforementioned areas in the future. Thank you for sharing your experience and we sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
sfeliczak13 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Diego, California1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is in a great location and the rooms are big. Just needs to be cleaned and picked up after better. Pools need much better cleaning and elevators are too slow. Kitchen utensils, cups and plates need better cleaning before new guests. The WiFi is terribly slow and if you don’t use WiFi your own service only works on part of your room. Not the side that’s closest to the ocean. Beds are nice and comfy. Showers and baths are decent size and clean. Beware that in the early morning the hot water is SO hot, almost burning. Fireworks went off at 11pm by people on the beach which sounded like gunfire, thankfully wasn’t. Me and my son and friends had a great time on the beach and that location has amazing shark teeth!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Neill, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2021
We would like to apologize for the issues you guys encountered during your stay with us. We take all surveys serious and we will be forwarding these to the proper departments to use them as training opportunities for our team to help deliver the best customer service that we can. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brucej84 wrote a review Jun 2023
Long Island, New York5 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service and quality are a constant. Been coming to Compass Cove for many years. Highly recommend the breakfast buffet and dining and drinks at Crows Nest. The resort does not disappoint. Rooms are clean, great views.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kimmyh93 wrote a review Oct 2020
Nebo, North Carolina11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I went for a long weekend getaway and we were very pleased with the resort overall and would stay again. Our room was clean, housekeeping came daily, we ate the breakfast buffet and the food was hot and priced about the same as any other beach breakfast place. All Covid guidelines were being followed in all locations of the building by staff members. We would stay again. Are only issue was parking because it was bike week and that took the lower level of the parking deck.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinnacle building, oceanfront, and were very pleased with our room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Steege, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Thank you so much for the wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our property and awesome on site amenities, and it sounds like your overall stay was truly an enjoyable one. As always, thank you for choosing Compass Cove and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DavidB wrote a review Jun 2020
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been coming to this “resort” for 5 years and this visit will be my last. Every year it has gotten a little worse but still enjoyed my time but this visit will be my last. Came as a family vacation, booked the 3 bedroom condo.

Staff: Very rude and unwilling to help and the front desk never answers the phone, found out best solution is to use a cellphone so it comes in as an outside call(instant pick up)They double booked the room and had a “well that’s to bad” attitude, had to pack everything up and move to another room 2 days into our stay. Housekeeping is nonexistent!! The rooms were never cleaned, had to call everyday and ask for more towels and when you did get towels they brought you 2 at a time(mind you this a 3 bedroom condo that has 6 adults in it). Same issue with toilet paper and any other bathroom supply, bring two rolls or one soap at a time for a room that has two bathrooms and 6 adults.

Rooms: The “resort” itself is a little dated but still in fairly good condition. The elevators are down half the time. Besides the cleaning staff never coming into your room even when asked it’s not to bad.

NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY: This is what I found to be most disappointing considering my family has 6 children under the age of 12, they advertise towards family environment. This visit drugs and the use of marijuana were everywhere. You couldn’t sit out on the balcony because we had neighbors above and beside us that constantly were smoking so the smell would come down into our room and around the kids. The pool deck people were openly smoking, so you could only keep the kids at the pool for short amounts of time. The staff at compass cove had a “don’t care” attitude, refused to do anything about it.

Overall very disappointing, this has been my 5th and last year coming here. You can find hirer end hotels for only a little bit more money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shanikwa Fordham, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jul 9, 2020
I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was disappointing. This is not the typical service that we wish to offer our guests and I am very sorry that you encountered so many issues during your visit. Please understand that we were confronted with some setbacks due to Covid regarding staffing and supplies and it sounds like this contributed to the disappointing stay that you had with us. We have done our best to correct all of these issues in order to improve in our overall services and accommodations for our future guests, and I apologize that you were not able to fully enjoy your vacation due to our lack of preparedness. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tmcline1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Frederick, Maryland2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Indigo tower in a simple 2 queen room for our daughters softball tournament. Oceanfront (I believe that whole tower is OF) It was clean and inviting. Great views, though the 1st floor you can still see ocean but also the pool traffic is at your back patio. We were on the 4th floor and it was perfect view. Housekeeping was limited to asking for it when needed due to staff and Covid limitations. We only asked for towels every other day and were well accommodated. The tiki bar and restaurant onsite are great considering all restaurants in area are hurting for staff (post Covid) and wait times can be horrible. Laundry, game rooms, multiple pools at each of the resort towers are available to any guest and they are close to each other that walking is no problem from one tower to the next. Price seemed reasonable given the area average and time of year (peak season) All staff were pleasant and friendly - everyone seemed to want your stay to be a good one. You will have to expect with such a busy location and just steps away from the beach that it will get sandy and damp in many places of the shared spaces of the hotel and they did their best to try to keep up with the foot traffic we as customers create. We did have an issue with a ceiling leak that was coming from AC above us, but it was addressed the next morning and all was good. Overall - great experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
certcomm wrote a review Jul 2021
Greenville, North Carolina1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our 3-night vacation started badly when we turned down the bed, only to find a bloodstain on the sheets. I called the Front Desk to describe the problem and request Housekeeping come to give us new sheets. Stayed up till 2:20 a.m. waiting. They never came. Placed towels over the stains so I could lie down. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well. Noticed in the morning the stains were even bigger on the mattress cover underneath. It took more calls and hours later for the linen to be replaced with clean sheets. We paid for 6 breakfasts on the understanding they would be served in the restaurant and presumably made to order. On checking in we were given free breakfast tickets. We discovered we'd paid for a buffet that was subpar to what most hotels offer for free - no pancakes or waffles, no toast, no fresh fruit of any kind, no individual yoghurts. Bacon and hash browns and clearly been made previously, as we got there when it opened at 7 a.m. and these items were cold. Our unit was not clean - stuff floating on water in toilet bowl, black flecks on toilet bowl walls, millions of fingerprints covering surfaces, the carpet was damp. We were given one tiny bar of soap for us both at the sink and in the tub/shower and that was supposed to last for 4 days, one roll of toilet paper. Good thing we had our own soap and that we brought our own disinfecting cloths to clean surface. I guess we should have brought our own toilet paper as well. We were able to get more by traipsing over to the front desk in the next building over. The pools were nice, the view was wonderful, and we enjoyed jumping in the waves. We've stayed in many hotels over the years, ranging from 2 stars to 5 stars. Although Compass Cove is called a resort, the accommodation and service felt like a budget Motel 6, not a resort. We are unable to recommend Compass Cove to anyone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Neill, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Aug 11, 2021
certcomm, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your stay at Compass Cove in Myrtle Beach. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to identify opportunities for improvement, and whenever possible, take preventative action. Please be assured that I have also shared your feedback about your stay with our team so that we can reevaluate our processes and enhance our delivery of service. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mlhanshaw wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room itself was sufficient and clean. The property is large and spread out to where you have to walk to other buildings for things. There was a staff shortage which made it unpleasant because we had to ask daily for towels, trash bags or anything we needed since they were not offering cleaning services during your stay. I was not pleased with my room because I was given a first floor room that had no oceanfront view even though I paid for one, it did have a perfect view of the shuffleboard court since you could walk out my sliding doom onto the court. That was fun having to keep your curtains closed the entire stay because strangers were standing outside my window all hours of the day. (Insert sarcasm). The manager would not talk to us when we asked about getting a different room. They offered nothing. The Starbucks on site was rarely open. Only a short few hours in the morning and closed 2-3 day per week so each time I went to get a refreshing (non alcoholic) drink they was never opened. The Crows Nest was a nice and friendly snack bar but severely understaffed also as was everyone this year, so it took a long time to be waited on and get food, Those working in there worked hard. The hotel was a party atmosphere the entire week we was there, you Couldn’t get in the pools to play with kids due to all the adults standing in the pool drinking alcohol all day. The pool DJ’s were fun I guess but it Just wasn’t our scene. I wanted to relax but that didn’t happen. Overall I would say if drinking and partying and allowing your kids to run from building to building to play in the different pools is for you, you may like the place. I wasn’t satisfied and due to rudeness of personnel, I won’t return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Neill, Guest Services / Front Office at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your stay at Compass Cove in Myrtle Beach. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to identify opportunities for improvement, and whenever possible, take preventative action. Please be assured that I have also shared your feedback about your stay with our team so that we can reevaluate our processes and enhance our delivery of service. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dji75mike wrote a review May 2020
12 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve previously stayed at the resort so I had a good expectation as to how things would have been if this was a regular day. I knew with the pandemic ongoing things would be a little different but the way things were different, you would expect the resort to make contact with guests so they would not have any surprises. That did not happen. Upon arriving, I was told all amenities were closed. No pools, no bars, no gym, nothing. Just the room and the beach. I previously called with questions about my reservation but was not informed about any of this, from the front desk or the third party company I was transferred to to discuss my reservation further.
In the tower I was staying in, there was construction & the elevator closest to my room did not work. So sleeping in after a 9 hour drive wasn’t happening and when we had to leave and go from the room, longer walk. Wasn’t able to use the closet or ironing board due to a huge box being in the closet. But for the good... the bed was comfortable, loved the ocean view and when requested, housekeeping was prompt and did a great job. Overall, I would not recommend Compass Cove right now as the cost and value does not match what is being requested per night especially when factoring in location vs other resorts. Luckily I visit the area a lot, was there the last weekend they were allowed bookings before they reopened, because if I had to depend on taking advantage of the resort only, it would have been a terrible trip. Maybe after the virus is over or the state & city allow more things to be available at hotels and resorts it will be worth it but not now.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShanikwaFordham, Front Office Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Responded May 28, 2020
I apologize that you were not able to use all of our amenities during your stay. Please understand that this is something we had no control over as these closures were mandated by the state of South Carolina. Our resort and amenities are now fully reopened and we would love to have you return to take advanatage of our awesome facility. That you for sharing your experience us and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tony W
Lewisville, North Carolina160 contributions36 helpful votes
Yes they have plenty of parking. Slots are a bit small but are doable if you are careful.
Jim M asked a question Jan 2022
Summerville, South Carolina1 contribution
your ad says in room hot tub but where are they
Jim M asked a question Jan 2022
Summerville, South Carolina1 contribution
Is there a hot tub in rooms or are they just jacuzzi tubs
Kernersville, North Carolina3 contributions
No
Answer from erobinson4067
Lincolnton, North Carolina71 contributions23 helpful votes
Front Desk leave bags
Rena R asked a question May 2021
Are you pet friendly?
Answer from Bill Pennauchi
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
We are pet friendly November through February only.
Evelyn G wrote a tip Apr 23
Portland, Maine10 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid - beautiful beach with terrible resort."
Read full review
no8of9 wrote a tip Apr 12
Anchorage, Alaska38 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't fall for the discount and coupons the office calls you on. It's a trap to get you to buy the tickets then attend a presentation with Wyndam. Ugh we felt kidnapped. "
Read full review
Kimberly H wrote a tip Apr 9
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overall fun resort with lots of pools, hot tubs and amenities to chose from. Atmosphere is fun in summer and warm months. Food and bars good"
Read full review
Paula J wrote a tip Apr 1
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away in my opinion"
Read full review
Barbara M wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a pool person and you go when school is out, you need to get to the pool early to find a spot. Housekeeping always willing to help"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Myrtle Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
C$130 - C$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
compass cove oceanfront hotel myrtle beach, compass cove oceanfront resort, swamp fox myrtle beach, hotel compass cove oceanfront
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
537
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Red Dragon Cove Adventure Golf (0.6 km), The Barrel Sports Bar & Grill (0.4 km), and Coast to Coast Antiques Gallery (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loco Gecko, Woodhaven Pancake House, and Angelo's Steak and Pasta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (4.2 km) and Charlie's Place (5.1 km).
Does Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Myrtle Beach HotelsMyrtle Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Myrtle BeachHotels near Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars