We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,431: English reviews
Start your review of Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
 Click to rate
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First, the room was not very clean. The TV and cable did not work. It took maintenance over an hour to get to the room. And over an hour to fix the problem. Second, we accidentally locked the bathroom door. It took maintenance over 2 hours to get to our room to unlock it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NoName1111222333444
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well maintained facility. Great pool areas, lazy river,water slides,Jacuzzis....family fun. Our room was on the 10th floor, ocean view was fantastic,sun rise to sun set. Staff were friendly and there when we needed anything. A+ for the money, We will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marilyn3962
Penfield, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just returned today from a week long stay in the Carolina's while looking for colleges.We planned to spend three nights in Myrtle Beach since we had dragged our youngest Son along to see colleges. The front desk staff is very pleasant and the check in area is clean and fresh. The rooms are disgusting! Dirt and hair all over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rzielin1
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The resort was great! My son and I were able to enjoy the beach and waterpark in the same place. While there was only one restaurant on the property it was delicious and reasonably priced. The view from our room was amazing and the access to the beach couldn't be beat. It was very congested compared to the south end...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felicia P
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was friendly and welcoming. Every room has a great view. The corridors are a little worn, My 13yo cried when it was time to go home. The kids loved all the different water features, but the lazy river was the hands-down favorite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura P
Tiffin, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After reading recent reviews, I was very worried about our vacation there, but we did not experience any problems. 1) ROOM: The name "resort" is a little misleading. It is more of a very large motel. It is not fancy. The rooms were rather spartan, but clean. It was nice having a kitchen. The bathroom shower was good with very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KoopBER
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

KoopBER, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back at the beach. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

Narragansett, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wouldn't do it again....the location was nice but there are better places for the same price near by. The staff was nice but there was definitely a disconnect between the different staff departments. The pool people (same 2 guys all day and all night the whole 5 days we were there) complained about the housekeeping department not giving them clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank klm22180
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

klm22180, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured during your stay here at The Crown Reef. I will certainly make the appropriate department heads aware of your concerns. Thank you again. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Have stayed at this resort bf and no issues but this time not so much . The kitchen sink shot water from both both sides of the faucet, the hot tubs and other areas has brick crumbling and just looked terrible, our room was on the 2nd floor which is the housekeeping " hub " , we were woke up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank izzy28146
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

izzy28146, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured while staying with us. Please afford me the opportunity to make the situation right. Please contact me at the resort. Thanking you in advance and I look forward to speaking with you soon. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

south carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff is very kind and helpful in every way. They will always accommodate you in any way possible. The housekeeping staff did a great job.The pool area is great for the kids and really like the extra touch with the pool DJ. However it is the worst internet service I think Ive had.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grandfs
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

grandfs, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. We are currently undergoing renovations as we recover from the hurricane that came through in October. It has been a long road traveled as we work to get back to were we need to be so that we can provide our guests with the vacation experience they deserve. We ask...

Copenhagen, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Terrible hotel,we had two rooms one away ftrom the other. Called because people were fighting at 7 in the morning. Swearing throwing things. Called security and they said they came up. Called 30 minutes later someone was thrown up against the sliding glass doors. They told me very snotty that they sent someone. I told them to send them back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank galexand1
Jason H, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

galexand1, Thank you so much for your comments and feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured upon arriving in Myrtle Beach and here at The Crown Reef. I will certainly make the appropriate department heads aware of what was found. Thank you again. Respectfully, Jason H Front Office Manager

1,067 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (568)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (275)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (67)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Jacuzzi Suite (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Efficiency Room (46)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite (50)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
12.7 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,366 reviews
7.3 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,986 reviews
12.6 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,899 reviews
7.0 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.7 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark is home to 514 newly refreshed guest rooms and suites as well as a year-round, four-story tall oceanfront waterpark featuring two 38-foot tall slides, a kiddie slide, silly sub and more. A true family vacation destination, Crown Reef features many additional water features including oceanfront pools, spas, fountains, and the longest oceanfront lazy river on the Grand Strand at 575 feet. Other amenities include Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak, Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop, arcade, spacious conference center, free WiFi, summer activities and an on-site golf department. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Address: 2918 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4854 (Formerly Crown Reef at South Beach Resort)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $171 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Crown Reef
The Crown Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Crown Reef Resort South Carolina
Crown Reef Resort s Beach Myrtle Beach
Crown Reef s Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and other travellers.
75 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (75)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We booked very late and got a less-desirable room (hard by the water slides), I would aim to be higher up if possible.”
laurapS9083VF, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose an ocean view. DO NOT get a splash zone room by covered kiddy splash area and fluorescent lights are on all night.”
KoopBER, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the place needed lots of updating and repairs. ”
klm22180, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are oceanfront”
grandfs, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Really check it out”
galexand1, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5