We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Booking.comUS$174*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,476: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The inside pools were discussing and hot tub was frozen tub. Lazy river water was also nasty and needs a lot of repairing. Hot tubs had a lot of bugs floating around. Water slides the stairs smelled so bad like pee. Elevators broke down and we had to use stairs to the eighth floor and we had two rooms on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chanda A, Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback and for sharing your observations. We are committed to giving our guests the best customer service ever! We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations and assure that your comments have been acknowledged by our management team. From our pool attendants, full-time security and friendliest staff on the beach, it is truly an unusual...

Stoneville
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel was great with a lot of amenities. The only issue we had was the difficultly in getting from one location to another. You need to be careful and look at elevators to make sure you are in the correct tower. The elevators where very slow and stopped on every floor, every time we got in them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly0730
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Check in was bad. Both mine and my husband names were on the room he went down before me and took my card that I booked the room with and I had his they refused to let him check in cause the card was in my name. Had to call on the way and show my butt. First night there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

We loved staying this March and had no problem with our king oceanfront room. The pools were all warm enough for regular use, although we'd love it if they make them 24 hour at some point in the future. We appreciated the $10 complimentary Loco Gecko credit. It's true the maid service doesn't come regularly during the stay unless requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel stay ever, it was one problem after another. The day I checked in they tried and short me out of 2 days of my stay, I got to my room it wasn't properly cleaned so I called and was given another room. It was a major inconvenience with this stay because they had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jordon P
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The rooms are out dated and stink. saw bugs in the bathroom the first night we stayed the headboard fell from the wall onto the floor at 3am in which it woke up everyone including my 18 month old grandchild. house cleaning was a joke. they only changed our bed sheets once although I did ask for them to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen G
Tess p, Front Office Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you for reviewing our resort on your recent stay with us. We apologize that you did not have the best experience. While you were at the resort we did offer to fix the issues that you were having but you declined. We do not want any of our guests to experience anything less than the best and it...

Vass, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night only for just a quick overnight stay. Our kids enjoyed the indoor slides but we're not able to enjoy the pool because it was packed with people. There was a birthday party going on which took up a lot of space in the slide area. There were so many people that enjoying the amenities was hard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Tess p, Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Thank you Heather for your kind words. We appreciate you so much for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are excited to hear that your kids enjoyed our slides! However, we do apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to enjoy the pool area. Due to the weather, our outside pools are not able...

Reviewed 7 March 2016

Will not return. Room in dire need of updates. Carpet embedded with years of sand. Light fixtures moldy and scary. Tub faucet leaked. Bugs on desk. Only stayed there because soccer team made that decision. Poor decision for team as team was spread all across confusing hotel. No true lobby for gathering. No complimentary coffee. No ice available. Check in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heatherkmd
Chanda A, Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Thank you HeatherMd for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your details are graciously welcomed as it allows us to take ownership of our downfalls, while we continue our quest to get better, in order to be the best. We want to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Your comments have been...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We stayed that this hotel two nights. The bed was very comfortable and everything in our room seemed clean. We lucked out and got a package that included breakfast and it was the BEST EVER!!! It was extremely cold at the waterpark even with it being indoors. The indoor pool was warm but seemed a little nasty. I think this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chanda A, Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

We are honored to have had you and your family with us! We are especially happy to read that our beds gave you comfort and that your breakfast experience was the BEST EVER!! We are disappointed to hear that the indoor pool seemed unattended. Our pool attendants are required to clean the pools daily, so it is unusual to hear...

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 6 March 2016

The rooms could use a little updating and a deep clean, but overall it was a great stay. The staff was very friendly, the only negative that I have is the wait for the elevators is extremely long. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank butterfli4life22
Chanda A, Manager at Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark, responded to this review

Thank you Butterfli4life22 for taking the time to provide us with feedback concerning your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our resort. We are are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly staff! Thank you so much and please do come back and see us again soon! Have a great day! Chanda Almond...

1,101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (602)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (294)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (67)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Jacuzzi Suite (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Efficiency Room (46)
Viewed
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite (50)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
12.7 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,390 reviews
7.3 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,018 reviews
12.6 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,920 reviews
7.0 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.7 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark is home to 514 newly refreshed guest rooms and suites as well as a year-round, four-story tall oceanfront waterpark featuring two 38-foot tall slides, a kiddie slide, silly sub and more. A true family vacation destination, Crown Reef features many additional water features including oceanfront pools, spas, fountains, and the longest oceanfront lazy river on the Grand Strand at 575 feet. Other amenities include Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak, Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop, arcade, spacious conference center, free WiFi, summer activities and an on-site golf department. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark

Address: 2918 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4854 (Formerly Crown Reef at South Beach Resort)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $169 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Crown Reef
The Crown Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Crown Reef Resort South Carolina
Crown Reef Resort s Beach Myrtle Beach
Crown Reef s Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Reef Beach Resort and Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Walls are thin, noise is heard everywhere except if you sleep on the murphy bed in the living room/ocean front with the hall doors closed.”
aprejohn1, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Tower 3- 5th floor or higher”
, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Very spacious and includes a full kitchen with pots and pans. ”
sierra1818, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The in room bathroom is a wifi dead zone lol”
chapmanfamily2017, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are better for less noise, but there is street noise from any room with the way the resort is set up.”
kristink366, 15 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$174* /night
View Deal
HotelsForEveryoneUS$211
Expedia.comUS$174
Orbitz.comUS$174
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates