We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Beach Bundle
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Site
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1015)
360
Panoramas (57)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21-08-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Island Vista
Updated 21-08-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 201 in Myrtle Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The oceanfront Island Vista features luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These modern facilities compliment the long established Island Vista traditions that include warm reception by our friendly familiar staff and a relaxed unhurried atmosphere. Exceptional amenities include award-winning cuisine and oceanfront views in the Cypress Room restaurant/cocktail lounge, indoor & outdoor water amenities, exercise room, and oceanfront Tiki Hut bar and grill (seasonal/weather permitting). Pleasant vacations are waiting for you at the Island Vista...
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Beach Bundle

Location

Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
1767Reviews82Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,226
  • 346
  • 109
  • 59
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daniel L wrote a review May 4
1 contribution
Great hotel, nice quiet location, and friendly staff. Jeff helped us out front as soon as we arrived, housekeeping, servers, and maintenance crews were all very pleasant throughout our stay. Would definitely stay here again next trip to Myrtle Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: This hotel is not along the strip so it’s nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded 1 week ago
Glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay from beginning to end. We look forward to seeing you all again, and be sure to ever let us know if there's anything you need! Thanks for choosing us to share your vacation with!
Read more
Lisa H wrote a review Mar. 2022
Aurora, Indiana19 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This place is wonderful! From the moment you walk into the lobby, it looks and smells clean and fresh. The unit we stayed in was so clean and the beds were very comfortable! We had ample supplies in our unit. The view of the beach and access to it is great! We even saw dolphins jumping out of the water! We ordered food from the restaurant on the premises and everything was great. I highly recommend the pizza. I am very picky about where my family and I stay when on vacation. This place ranks at the top of my list for cleanliness, great accomodations, and friendly service!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded Mar. 19, 2022
Thank you all so much for the fantastic review, and for choosing us for your stay! We look forward to having you all again in the future, and for making you all a part of our family here at the resort. Let us know if there's ever anything that you all need, and thanks again for choosing us to make your stay great!
Read more
Michal Renee wrote a review May 2
3 contributions
Mark at the front desk was so helpful! He went above and beyond for us and we are so grateful!! Hands down will come back to Island Vista because of his amazing customer service. Also, thank you to house keeping, a thousand well dones! We loved our room and hearing the beautiful music of the ocean from the balcony. Location to the pool and ocean was perfect as well. Thanks again, Mark!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you all so much for taking your time to give us some feedback, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you all again soon.
Read more
Steveadventureguy wrote a review Apr. 2022
Toronto67 contributions51 helpful votes
We spent two weeks in March at Island Vista and had a great 2 bedroom suite on the 12th Floor. We had binoculars and they allowed us to watch the daily wild dolphin show from the balcony. Nice. It was our 6th trip to Myrtle and our 4th hotel experience on the beach and it was the best compared to the others. Island Vista is in very good condition, parking easy and you can walk the beach for miles in either direction. Cypress Room restaurant is excellent. Thank you Jamie for breakfast. You're great. Pizza is really good and if you're lazy order room service. I wasn't as impressed with dinner, although still good. Just when we were leaving (mid March) the outdoor pools were heated (before that really cold). My only negative comments are: the outdoor hot tub was not working for a few days in a row, and there was no recycling of garbage in the rooms (I hauled our recycling to the containers on the beach). All the staff were friendly. We also received a resort credit for Cypress which we used and appreciated. Smart idea. Don't worry about Island Vista not being in the center of the 'action' on the Grand Strand. One mile north is River City Cafe which is a simple but good burger/beer place. Walk to it, don't drive. Other tip: there is a Starbucks/cafe in Dunes which is south of Island Vista, so a nice walk in the morning for a coffee. While in Myrtle make sure you visit Huntington Beach State Park to see the alligators in the wild. ITS THE JEWEL IN MYTRLE. Also, go to Vareen Memorial Gardens and check out the beach made of sea shells (this is where the locals go and an excellent birding area). And if you like art/local history, check out Franklin G. Burroughs – Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum which is at the far southern end of Ocean Blvd. It's $5 donation to enter. The original captain's style house, which is amazing, was originally built a few blocks from Island Vista hotel, and was moved down the street. About an hour-ish drive south of Myrtle is Hopsewee Plantation which makes for a good day trip combined with Georgetown. Hopsewee plantation has original slave quarters. You can't go wrong with Island Vista!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: all rooms are oceanfront
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you so much for taking your time to let us know what you enjoyed about your stay, and for all of the great local recommendations for other guests to enjoy as well. It's great getting to hear when our guests enjoy their stays, and it seems like you all got to do a little bit of everything during your stay. Apologies for the hot tub being down for a few days during your stay (often times the early spring and end of Winter are the best time for us to get work done, especially outside), but glad you all were able to find enjoyment in the pools opening back up and being heated towards the end of your stay. We hope to get to see you all again, and thank you for choosing Island Vista for your stay!
Read more
Dona M wrote a review Apr. 2022
Maryville, Tennessee2 contributions
+1
We have been coming to Island Vista for two years. Last year, we visited twice. We just returned home from a weekend getaway. I won the photo contest with a photo of our daughter, son in law, and granddaughter on the beach at sunrise. We won a two night stay in a suite and it was wonderful as always. I cannot say enough good things about Island Vista. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Everything was well stocked and very clean. When we checked in, guest services was so pleasant. We arrived a little early and got checked in. Our room was being cleaned so we went shopping and they called us when it was ready. Breakfast in the Cypress Room is always delicious. The staff is friendly and attentive to requests. I highly recommend asking to eat outside. There's nothing like having breakfast and listening to the ocean. In the evening, pizza and hot wings from the lounge is always perfect. We order this every time we stay. I have recommended Island Vista to our family and friends. Last year our daughter stayed for her first time and this Fall, my parents will be visiting for their first time. Thank you Island Vista for the most much needed relaxing weekend. I already miss you. ❤
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you all so much for taking time out of your day to let us know that you all enjoyed your stay. From beginning to end it sounds like you all had the exact experience that we strive for with each of our guests, and it's great to hear when we're able to deliver that experience. We thank you for sharing your family with us, and we look forward to treating them with the same customer service that we value ourselves on and have shared with you over the last few years. As always, thank you for choosing Island Vista for your stay, and we cannot wait to have you and your family again.
Read more
ilovemashedpotatoes wrote a review Apr. 2022
Columbus, Ohio206 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
Our family stayed for 6 nights we couldn't have been happier with our stay. First of all the staff here was outstanding, very professional and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel location was perfect for us, it's right in between South and North Myrtle in a quieter residential area, there are a few hotels close by but it's not the noisy hustle and bustle of the main area in the South. The hotel itself was impeccably clean, there were multiple staff and maintenance folks washing and cleaning every area of the hotel during our stay to make sure it looked perfect. Our room was incredible. It was essentially a condominium, washer and dryer, two bedrooms, a humongous TV - the biggest I've ever seen in a hotel room, probably 65” is my guess. Incredible unobstructed ocean front view too complete with rocking chairs on the balcony. Our room almost looked as if it's never been stayed in, it was that clean. Parking was very easy, attached to the hotel itself - in south myrtle you usually have to walk to your parked car across a busy street but not here, you never are exposed to the elements. There are several pools here, indoor and outdoor, all of which were very clean and heated. There are a couple of hot tubs as well, the outdoor hot tub is nice as you can see the ocean right from the hot tub. There are several direct beach access areas from the hotel. Also there are several tabletop fire pits outside for use in the evenings. The landscaping is amazing. The free in-house dvd rental is a nice bonus, it works similar to redbox. The restaurant in the hotel is also nice, we ordered take out pizza and it was very good! All in all it was a fantastic experience. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this place to anyone I know. By far this is the best place I have stayed in Myrtle Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Creating a vacation experience like this is exactly the reason that we all do what we do here on the property, and getting to see you all enjoy your stay is the reward. From the décor in the common areas of the resort all the way down to the guest interaction, we strive for nothing but the best experience in Myrtle Beach. We hope to have you all again for a future stay, and thank you for choosing us for this most recent one.
Read more
SLF830 wrote a review Apr. 2022
Greenville, South Carolina92 contributions19 helpful votes
While the view is perfect, ocean front, the few staff members they have are rude! (very uncaring) Our room was ready early which was a plus, but the dust and dirt around the edges of the carpet clearly showed they do not clean throughly. The furnishings need an update and there was a musty smell in the front hallway. We were there for a wedding and several of the couples in our party had funky smells and dirt in there units. Also, at least 5 of us were treated rudely by the front desk staff! Unacceptable! And you must go down to front desk as they did not answer their phone. I would avoid this place at all cost until updated and under different management!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: South side rooms are closer to elevator, but if you want a great room stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc A, General Manager at Island Vista
Responded Apr. 10, 2022
We look forward to the positive comments that we receive, but it is always concerning when a guest’s expectations are not met. We most often get to hear very positive reviews about our staff members, our service, and the high standards we strive to provide to our guests. When a disappointment is indicated to us, any of our guest service departments are immediately available to resolve the issue and we would like to have had that opportunity with you. Guest service is our top priority always and that standard is never static, it is always evolving, always with the goal of being the best. I am very proud to have been a working part of that-never ending goal for more than 15 years and have yet to see rudeness or any lack of care from our employees… a smile and a warm welcome, that’s the hospitality our guests most often perceive and it’s the easiest thing we do. Problems can occur, but it would be an extremely rare day in which we would not find a solution right away. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we hope you will choose to visit again.
Read more
Bernice B wrote a review Mar. 2022
1 contribution
The location is great. Not too far from the boardwalk. I booked a 2 bedroom suite and my husband and son said I picked a great spot. The rooms were clean, well kept and plenty of room. Will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Thank you so much for taking your time to give us some feedback, and we look forward to having you all again for another stay!
Read more
MSChrisCharlotte wrote a review Mar. 2022
Charlotte, NC12 contributions6 helpful votes
Been coming here for about 15 years and we were hugely disappointed with this stay and are concerned management is deteriorating. We booked our room and confirmed in advance that they had us all set. When we got here they did not have the room we had booked and forced us to stay in a much lesser room and then move the next day which is inconvenient and they did next to nothing to make up for their screw up. This was our second visit in a row where this happened. Then we have multiple power tools right over our bedroom at 9 in the AM. I know 9 is not early for some but when you are on vacation and stay out enjoying the town, it is a very rude way to be woken up. 15 years and I think we are done. Way too many options down here and our loyalty is clearly not appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc A, General Manager at Island Vista
Responded Apr. 3, 2022
Hello... Thank you for choosing the Island Vista as your host for 15 years! We are so sorry to hear that after so long you encountered the issues you’ve described. Direct communication with our guests is very important, and if an unpleasant experience is brought to our attention at the time it occurs, you would be pleasantly surprised at how fast we go right to work not only to make it right for our guest but also to identify areas that need improvement to benefit all our guests. Due to the private nature of Trip Advisor, we are unable to identify who to call to let you know that we do care very much about our guests… in that call, I would find a proper solution and invite you to allow me to be your personal ambassador to help arrange a future vacation. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor is unable to assist you in the ways that we would… they are there as a guide for travelers looking for a great place to stay. Travelers are very savvy these days with so much information available, and when they find so many very positive reviews on a site, they know they can pretty much rely on what they see. Your review certainly does stand out among others, and we sincerely apologize that this experience did not meet your expectations. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with the best vacation ever.
Read more
dean g wrote a review Mar. 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Day One Review Five Star: First of all, the location is great. Right on the beach. Quiet neighborhood. Friendly Staff. Three Star: This Hotel must be at least thirty years old. Appliances in room were college apartment quality. Fully stocked kitchen? No. Suite much smaller than pictures on Tripadvisor. My bad. All in all, the location is worth it. Wish the fact that these rooms/condos are owned by individual people was transparent. More to follow.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Sorry to hear about the beginning of your trip, but glad I was able to speak with you and I hope you all ended up enjoying the rest of your stay. Customer Service and taking care of our guests, even when they experience issues, is our top priority. If there's ever anything you need during your stay, don't hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you again in the future, and thank you for choosing us here at Island Vista.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
island vista myrtle beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sea Island Inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Island Vista
Which popular attractions are close to Island Vista?
Nearby attractions include Polynesian Fire (1.0 km) and Rose Arbor Fabrics (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Island Vista?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Island Vista?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Island Vista?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Island Vista?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Island Vista?
Conveniently located restaurants include Luigi's Trattoria, AJ's Pizza, and Santa Maria Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Island Vista?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Island Vista?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Island Vista offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Island Vista?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (6.2 km) and Charlie's Place (5.3 km).
Does Island Vista have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.