Island Vista Oceanfront Resort

Traveller (1082)
Panorama at the Island Vista Resort
360
Panoramas (57)
Island Vista
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

C$399
Get rewarded with One Key
C$399
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 180 hotels in Myrtle Beach
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The oceanfront Island Vista features luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These modern facilities compliment the long established Island Vista traditions that include warm reception by our friendly familiar staff and a relaxed unhurried atmosphere. Exceptional amenities include award-winning cuisine and oceanfront views in the Cypress Room restaurant/cocktail lounge, indoor & outdoor water amenities, exercise room, and oceanfront Tiki Hut bar and grill (seasonal/weather permitting). Pleasant vacations are waiting for you at the Island Vista...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Beach Bundle Package

Location

6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,861 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Island Vista Oceanfront Resort is lauded for its pristine, well-maintained facilities and serene beachfront location that strikes a perfect balance between tranquility and accessibility. While some guests have called out the rooms for their dated decor, the consensus among many travelers is that the accommodations are spacious and the beds comfortable. The laid-back atmosphere, complete with fire pits and live music, contributes to a relaxing experience, although opinions on value for money are mixed, with some reviewers mentioning unexpected charges. The staff's warm and professional service frequently earns high marks from guests.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Professional
Amenities
Top-notch
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,861Review85Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,298
  • 360
  • 112
  • 61
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
blondie16 wrote a review Mar 2023
New Bedford,MA490 contributions211 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay very much. Resort is right on the beach. In a residential area, so the beach is not crowded. Great indoor and outdoor pool areas. Helpful staff. Comfortable condo. Quiet at night.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Mar 30, 2023
Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation with, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities while here with us. We hope to be able to see you all again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeoniaNeveu wrote a review May 2020
Burlington, North Carolina6,003 contributions310 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Some USA States have relaxed the Stay At Home Rules from the Corona Virus (COVID19), so we headed out for Memorial Weekend to enjoy a few days to go See the Beach and Relax. Although Stay At Home Rules are no longer in place for South Carolina, and Hotels and Restaurants are now open to Stay and Dine in. This Resort Hotel did a good job continuing to keep some good rules in place to help try to keep you safe from the Virus that is still out in the World, by having social distancing and some Mask wearing rules remain.

The Lobby requires you to wear a Mask if Social Distancing is not capable, and they only want one person to check you in or out in the Lobby area Front Desk. There was no Housekeeping Services, but they gave you Trash Cans to Dump stuff, and if you need Towels or anything of the sort they will leave it for you and collect your dirty ones outside of your Door. Our Room 209 was clean and comfortable, but the only complaint was that the Refrigerator did not work well at all, and might need to be replaced, someone did come to look at it and said that they will fix it, but we did not stay long enough to be there to see that task happen, and we did tell them that we didn't need it for our stay being so short, but at least they did have someone come to check on it. Otherwise everything else seemed to work, but we did not use the Stack Washer and Dryer in our Room, so we don't know the condition of it working, but it looked clean.

The Pools and Patio Seating were all open, but the Furniture was arranged for Social Distancing from others. We did not engage in Swimming or nor did we visit the Outside Patio Seating with others, nor did we go on the Beach. We were just so content and delighted for the wonderful view from our Balcony with chairs, of our Oceanfront View of both the Beach and Pools/Patios, as it was a way for us to be out there but not fully out there and still enjoy everything in how we wanted to get back out here again to stay in a Hotel and have a change of scenery from being at Home. It was no big deal to reuse our Towels, so we didn't need the Towel service and we made our own Beds no big deal, and we were able to sweep, and wipe the Floors on our own, because you have a full kitchen and can bring your own cleaning products to use.

The Parking Garage was great and convenient to be attached to the Resort and it made it easy to get to your Vehicle and to your Room without really needing to ride the Elevator, which was great for social distancing as well.

The Resort has a Tiki Bar and Restaurant but we did not visit those places, but rather we drove out to pick up Take Out Food from other Restaurants and also bought Food from the Grocery Store to prepare some of our meals, which all is conveniently located in the area. We drove around the area but we did not engage in any activities during our stay, we basically kept our same Safe rules that we had been doing at home while staying here, but we had a lovely view to enjoy a change of scenery.

We had been to this Resort many times some years back, but that was before the Virus, and so we decided to give it a try again, and we were very pleased with our Stay and would return again. We do recommend this Resort Hotel for a comfortable and friendly and safe and convenient fun stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a Higher Floor if you love a wide View of the Area from your Balcony but don't mind...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Travelfreak101 wrote a review Oct 2020
Lexington, Kentucky67 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Island Vista is always a great vacation. Despite the hotel beginning to age, it is kept in top condition. Some units are better than others but I don't think there is a bad unit on the property. I would try to avoid single rooms that join another suite because you can hear your neighbors and smell the food. It seemed like there was security everywhere. This is a nice touch in this day and time. I like this part of town because it is residential and the beach is not very crowded.

The staff is accommodating on room requests and we did not meet one staff member on our vacation that did not go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Shout out to Allison for helping me find rooms and being so nice. Shout out to JoAnn for her saying, "We are doing everything we can to make your vacation perfect." Now that is my kind of hotel! Also, shout out to the two men in the Cypress Room. They could not have been more friendly or helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: High or low, the staff tries to accommodate requests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Nov 6, 2020
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Jo Ann is correct....we are willing to do anything and everything we can to make sure each one of our guests loves their stay as much as we love our property. We hope to have you all again in the future, and we appreciate the kind review. Thanks for choosing us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie wrote a review Oct 2020
Charleston, South Carolina12 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
OMG! This warning should be on their web site- single rooms (not suites) are just the extra bedroom that the suite didn't book. It's exactly like you are staying with those people! Every sound, every conversation, every cough, laugh and cry! And the icing on the cake is the steel second door for these "adjoining" rooms that slams shut each time someone uses it. SLAMS- the loudest sound ever!
I had the "pleasure" of staying next to a family that left before the sun came up. Slam, slam, slam, at least 5 times before sunrise.
I called the front desk for a late checkout, on the off chance I could go back to sleep, and was told that I should have booked a suite! I'm 1 person, I don't need a suite nor should I have to book a suite to enjoy a simple nights sleep.
Since the adjoining family left before sunrise I thought I would get some peace, oh no- more excitement on the way!
Maintenance! More slam, slam, slam in and out then bang bang bang. I get it they had to fix something but certainly the staff can be cognizant of the slam issue and try! Then the cleaning lady decided to complain about her job to the maintenance man! I had enough, I stuck my head out the door to let them know there was a sleeping person next door. The maintenance man was pleasant and apologetic, the lady just kept talking as if I had said nothing. I tried agin, I asked if she would like to continue her conversation while standing over my bed because that's how loud it is in my room.
Literally 15 more slams as various maintenance people traveled in and out.
Serious design flaw and fair warning should be given! Thank you front desk lady, no next time I won't book a suite I'll stay at the Marriott!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc A, General Manager at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Oct 20, 2020
When we hear of any sort of unpleasant experience from any guest at the Island Vista, we immediately go to work to find the solution. We were surprised to see such a post, but since it was after the fact, we could only call to try to provide remedy. Unfortunately, problems are best resolved at the time they occur and because we were unaware of your issues, we could only address your concerns after you departed. Pleasant vacations are our top priority at the Island Vista and because we were unable to help with your issues while you were here, we provided compensation to you and sent confirmation of the refund to your email address. Thank you for offering to remove this post on the phone yesterday…however, it still appears to require a reply and we understand. The issues you described are being addressed , but Trip Advisor is not able to provide refund or a personal assurance of a better stay during your next visit, nor was your post required at all to facilitate a remedy. You had only to let us know at the time of the issue. Again, our highest priority is our guest’s experience. A one-star review certainly does stand out among the many others we receive. We are very proud of our great reviews and are especially pleased that the daily efforts of our staff accomplish the goals that lead to them. As already mentioned on the phone, we hope you will choose to visit again, and we can assure that you will have a better experience at that time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dakota wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York78 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
In all honesty, we have mixed feelings about our stay at Island Vista. After much recommendation from friends who have gone to Island Vista for years, we decided to give it a try for a long weekend. On first arriving, the front desk was staffed by two female employees who were less than friendly. They looked annoyed to be bothered checking us in and all questions were answered with a short response. The hotel and grounds are beautifully kept. The beach itself is immaculate. The rooms itself are fair . Some rooms have a shared entrance with other guests. Unfortunately we paid very high price $600+ and were given one of these rooms. The room sharing our entrance was rowdy and loud and had many people staying in it- four times than the recommended amount of people . There were multiple members of that party without keys and we had to endure them banging on the entrance door all night as well as a revolving door of people coming and going until 4:30 in the morning. However, being from NY we should have been tipped off to what may transpire; an armed guard stationed in the main entrance to the hotel. Also a huge concern is the fact that the hotel does not enforce the POSTED no smoking/vaping policy as we had to smell marijuana all night through the wall. A room change was unavailable until the following day. The next morning, after being informed that we would be notified as soon as our room was available, a wait over five hours, we contacted the desk and were then told they “forgot” to notify us of the new room availability.
We were surprised by a daily resort fee which was hefty in price on top of the rate we paid for the room. When checking out, Remember to ask for your $150 fee that they use as a room hold when you first check in to be refunded. After checking out we were told the $150 would be refunded once housekeeping did a check. Two days later we had to call to get our money refunded as the resort again, “ forgot” to refund it.
Breakfast is great at the restaurant downstairs but dinner was sub par. Service was slow and our waiter had minimal Knowledge of anything on the menu. When our order did arrive, it was completely
Inaccurate and having already been sitting for two hours, having it corrected was not an option. We used our $100 credit that the desk had given us at check in and the meal which consisted of a salad hamburger and steak still costs us an additional $100.00 to cover the remaining costs. Mind you, we did not drink alcohol during or coffee afterward.
Overall Island Vista is probably the nicest place to stay down in Myrtle Beach in comparison to the other hotels. However, we are not sure we would travel there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc A, General Manager at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jun 15, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Island Vista. When a guest’s experience does not match expectations, our entire team feels that disappointment and the issues you mentioned will not go unaddressed. Please know that we have pursued the no smoking policy for years now, and as you experienced, courtesy exists at a variety of levels these days. Most guests simply regard such a policy as that and not only just honor the policy because it is there but because they understand that everyone benefits from that policy. We provide a smoking area, but then it becomes a matter of regard toward others if one chooses to ignore the rules. There is a monetary penalty in place and even eviction could occur, but as you can see, there are still some that just do not adhere to the rules no matter how hard we try to enforce them. We will not stop trying, though. This would be a good time to mention our security team… our officers are fully qualified SC Law Enforcement trained and authorized to provide safety and security for our guests, and I cannot count the times we (and they) have been personally complimented and thanked for their presence at our property… not because of any impending danger but because it is the outstanding amenity that it is. Unlike New York and other states with recently changed laws, marijuana is illegal in South Carolina, and if a person is caught in the act, they will find themselves in a difficult set of circumstances. If a room switch is arranged in advance, it is only because a specific arrival date required it… these are not the best options for anyone, including both guests and staff. We would like to streamline that inconvenience in any way we can, but the guest in the destination room is entitled to stay until the check-out time at 11:00am, and only then can our staff begin to prepare it for the waiting guest. We cannot cut corners in these processes for the sake of speed, but we are much aware of our guests’ need to complete that change as early as possible so they can enjoy the day. To avoid the need to switch rooms, and especially to get the best rates available, it is always best to book early. The $150 is not an actual transaction but is a pre-authorization and typically appears back into your account as available funds the same afternoon you check out… if this did not occur, it was in error, and we apologize for any inconvenience. Restaurants throughout the area are all very busy, and for a variety of reasons are often understaffed while many people have not returned to work… we are well staffed for the needs of our guests, and while I have never heard of someone waiting for two hours to receive breakfast, that was without doubt not a good experience, especially if everything was wrong… the Cypress Room normally receives outstanding reviews for both service and cuisine. We can promise a better experience next time. Thank you again for choosing the Island Vista… we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
missmelindam wrote a review Dec 2021
Tallahassee26 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We rented a 1 bedroom grand suite in an off week in mid-December between Thanksgiving and Christmas. We requested a quiet room and they put us on the top floor in a room on the end (room 1402). Perfect! I don't think I've had a quieter condo/hotel stay. If you catch warm weather, it's a great time to be at Myrtle Beach. One of the outdoor pools was heated nicely and swimmable in December (we're from Florida, so fairly wimpy when it comes to pool temp). There is also an outdoor hot tub. There is also a nice indoor pool with a small lazy river, a splash pool, and a second hot tub. Since it's COVID times, we thought we wouldn't get to use the indoor facilities, but it was completely empty, so we gave it a shot. The staff mostly wears masks. There are signs saying that masks must be worn in public areas, but honestly, I didn't see a lot of guests wearing them. The restaurant does have good outdoor seating options, and there are plenty of outdoor loungers in the pool and beach area if you are concerned about good ventilation. Highly recommend springing a little extra for the "grand suite" for the high floor and large living space (dining seating for 8 and ample living room seating). We had a full, well-equipped kitchen, full washer dryer and two full bathrooms for a one bedroom (It's really a three-bedroom condo, with two of the bedrooms locked). The only room for improvement was one of the drains in the kitchen ran a little slow, and the living room carpet could stand to be deep cleaned. Other than that, we has a blast!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 1402 is on the top floor and on an end. Great room!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Jan 2, 2022
Thank you all for the well thought-out and in-depth review of the property and your stay. Guests like you all who take your time to let us know the ups and downs of your stay absolutely help us to better the experience here at the property, and we're greatly appreciative of you all taking the time to do so. Happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for choosing us here at Island Vista for your getaway!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MonumentalWonders wrote a review Feb 2022
Asheville, North Carolina86 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled in January for 5 nights and arrived about 4pm, there were no lines and we were given a credit to use at the Cypress Room which we used the evening of our anniversary. We used the DVD rental (free) located in the lobby multiple times. Very good selection of movies. They staff were all very professional and friendly.

Our unit was on PH14. Extremely clean and well stocked with most things you would need. They do not provide paper towels but that's no biggie. The bed was comfortable with amble bedding. The unit was HUGE! I was not expecting so much room when booking a one bedroom, however it is clearly a 3 bedroom unit as the other bedrooms off the hall were locked and there were plenty of plates and utensils for a very large group. It was a pleasant surprise. In the hall closet there were beach chairs, a cooler and umbrella, however traveling in January we never used them.

The indoor pools and hot tub were amazing, we enjoyed going down daily starting our first night. Aside from one day we had the entire pool area to ourselves and even that one day it was only 4 other people. Very peaceful and relaxing which is what we were there for. I would suggest bringing your own beach towels, there is a rental system which requires a charge to your room for a deposit each time you take a towel (I think it was $15) and it's credited back once it's been returned.

The only down side and this was in no way the fault of the resort, we lost power twice. The first time was in the wee hours of the morning after midnight the night before the ice storm, I believe they must've been testing their emergency generator in preparation of the storm as the temperature outside was 40 degrees. It was out for several hours and came back on at 5am. Being on the top floor the generator must be on the roof as we could hear it running loudly all night.

The second time we lost power was the night of the storm which was our anniversary, we came prepared knowing it was a possibility and it was probably one of the most romantic Anniversaries we've ever had.

I highly recommend this resort especially in the off season when it's quiet, however this would've been a great place to bring our children when they were younger too.

We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Feb 11, 2022
Wow....Thank you all so much for taking your time to post such an outstanding review of the property. It looks like you all stayed in our Oceanfront 1 Bedroom Grand Suite, which is the perfect suite for a fantastic occasion like your anniversary. It's great to hear that everything went well, despite the storm, and that you all were able to enjoy your stay. Thank you so much for choosing us for your anniversary, and we look forward to having you all again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil S wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a 3 night stay in a Grand Suite for roughly $300 per night for a 2 bedroom suite that was supposed to be 2 full size beds in one room with a king bed in the master. My wife and I booked this room because we were bringing our children and wanted them to sleep comfortably in beds and the Grand Suite comes with a bigger balcony for some amazing views. We payed the $295 deposit 2 weeks in advance and on arrival I was charged the remaining $626 and given our room keys. They put us on the 2nd floor which was a 2 bedroom but only 2 beds total. Not what I had paid for! The balcony view was blocked by a scaffold that they lowered down each day and tied off onto our balcony completely blocking our views. We complained and was offered a 10% discount for the inconvenience. After returning home they charged my card the whole amount without applying the 10% discount as promised. We will not be doing business with this company again. They have no concern for the people that pay good hard earned money and they dont mind lying and cheating people for it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc A, Manager at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Mar 19, 2020
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced… whenever we have any sort of design or construction upgrade, we always try to let our guests know in as much advance as possible. The equipment you mentioned is there as part of a project that enhances appearance, function, and safety for all units. This is the time of year to perform such enhancements, but we must also coordinate with the availability of the technicians doing the work. Another example of a process currently in place is the installation of large 50” smart TV’s on the wall above the new credenza consoles for a much cleaner more open look, as well as a great picture. We try to keep any such inconvenience to a minimum, we post such procedures so that everyone is aware, and we always thank our guests for their patience in helping us to keep our standards high. During your visit, our resort was at 97% occupancy… we would have been very happy to have our bell staff to help you move to another unit, but there were no alternative suites of that size available. Our only option was to apply a discount to your stay (posted on March 14). That was refunded to your card on March 16, your check-out day. Credit card companies can take up to 10 business days to reflect a refund to your account, but please be assured that you did receive that. We are in the business of hospitality, and we want all our visitors to have the best vacation ever at the Island Vista. We hope you will choose to visit again, and we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a better experience at that time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peachessc2015 wrote a review Apr 2021
Anderson, South Carolina16 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with a large group about 3 years ago. I remembered having a great time here so I looked this place up and booked it again. It is off the main strip so traffic is not an issue, and the beach is pretty private, so you don't have to worry about large crowds. The Cypress Room restaurant is pricey but very good, and we found ourselves barely leaving the property, and ate at all of the on site restaurants during the day. We were even given a surprise "Cypress Room" gift card upon check-in that was nice. Check in is not until 4 pm and our room was not ready upon arrival. We had to wait until a little after 4:30. If you are on the top floor (room 14) be aware you will need to use the PH (penthouse) button on the elevator. Also our room was 1412 but the room number is really PH 12. We tried to get into room PH 14, but quickly realized it was occupied. So it took us two trips up and down the elevators and asking for help, to get this all sorted out. Nobody explained this room numbering system to us upon check-in. I'm so glad I always look for the room first before hauling luggage around. The view from the PH floor is amazing, so it was worth the trouble!
Everything that you need is right here, so I think I'm going to make this hotel my family's official vacation spot and come here regularly from now on. Some reviews claimed that the rooms were out of date, but 1412 has been updated and everything is in great shape, so if you need a good room book this one.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: PH Floor will give you one of the best ocean views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Steven Penn, Guest Services / Front Office at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Apr 15, 2021
Glad to hear you all were able to get past the room number situation after I spoke with you at the Front Desk, and I'm glad that unit upstairs on the penthouse floor was worth the stay and the trouble. Any reservations made directly through us here at the resort do receive that Cypress Rewards Card at check-in, so look forward to it with any additional future stays. As always, thank you all for choosing Island Vista and we look forward to many more vacations with you all!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krista D wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was expecting a much much nicer resort for $2200 for a 3 day weekend. The lobby is very outdated, the doors are all worn down, the carpet is old, the elevators and rugs are dirty and outdated. The first impression leads a ton to be desired.
The rooms are still popcorn ceilings and dated furniture.

The downstairs pool area and outdoor dining was great but the staff was so short handed we had to put our own tables together, they were never wiped down.

We paid for full service and received very little service. No maid service, had to ask for towels and we felt badly for how understaffed the restaurant was. THose that were there worked hard but it was so apparent that they are charging top dollar for bare minimum.

If I am paying this much for a vacation i expect a lot more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: get a high floor lots of noise downstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marc A, General Manager at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2021
We always look forward to the many great reviews we receive, so it is naturally very concerning when we find that someone’s expectations are not met. An added concern when we discover disappointment on Trip Advisor is that it is then past the opportunity we might have had to address the issue, the opportunity to find the solution. We recently redecorated our lobby with an antique effect on our cypress woodwork, new color scheme, all new lighting, all new furnishings, and custom plexiglass. Guests who have stayed with us for years have left us with many compliments on those new touches, but as with any sort of interior decoration, everything is not for every taste and we are sorry you did not find these pleasing. From your Trip Advisor post, we could not tell which door seems to need repair, but if we could, I can assure you that it would not need repair very long… our maintenance and housekeeping staffs are all here to make sure things are right, every day. Originally, our service was altered by state issued pandemic mandates and we adjusted to provide the best service possible… in doing that, we found that our guests prefer to maintain the minimum contact and still have requests met right away. For some reason, restaurants and many other service industries throughout the country have had a difficult time achieving full staff… many of our area’s finest restaurants have actually posted signage encouraging patience, but we have not found that necessary because of the dedication of our employees. Again, we apologize that your expectations were not met and we hope for an opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from KellyGirl222
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania28 contributions30 helpful votes
The one in our living room was a smart tv.. someone had actually left their netflix signed in. (doubt that will be the case this year). The bedrooms were not smart tvs but we did hookup a chromecast.
Carolyn V asked a question May 2023
Charlotte, North Carolina8 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there grills you can use?
Answer from jane k
1 helpful vote
sorry, but we went when it was cold -- I'd phone them
ana asked a question Mar 2023
Durham, North Carolina
Is it safe to stay here
Answer from Andre B
Georgia1 contribution2 helpful votes
Very safe. Great part of Myrtle and 24-7 security that casually walks around premises and garage.
Paul asked a question May 2022
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Are toasters in the kichen
Answer from Steveadventureguy
Toronto, Canada83 contributions78 helpful votes
You bet!
Answer from SLF830
Greenville, South Carolina92 contributions21 helpful votes
The parking deck (there are two) is very tight (small spaces) and dead ends at top, we had to back down the curvy ramp one night because they do not and will not (even after we asked) put up a "garage full" sign. I don't know if you can get another parking pass, but my advice to you is stay somewhere else!!!
Robert P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Fairfax, Virginia15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant’s pizza and crab cakes are delicious "
Read full review
Edie M wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is a little tight, but not a problem."
Read full review
Heidi l wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything was wonderful. Not busy in December and we love that."
Read full review
Kat1999 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Riverview, Florida232 contributions122 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 704 was perfect."
Read full review
Marie B wrote a tip Sep 2023
Winchendon, Massachusetts2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This resort does not have k-cup coffee makers. We went out and purchased an inexpensive one for in our suite. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Myrtle Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
C$321 - C$591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
island vista myrtle beach
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sea Island Inn
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Island Vista Oceanfront Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Polynesian Fire (1.0 km), Rose Arbor Fabrics (1.2 km), and 88 Keys Piano Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include AJ's Pizza, Luigi's Trattoria, and Santa Maria Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Island Vista Oceanfront Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Island Vista Oceanfront Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (6.2 km) and Charlie's Place (5.3 km).
Does Island Vista Oceanfront Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Myrtle Beach HotelsMyrtle Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Myrtle BeachHotels near Island Vista Oceanfront Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars