We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Blue

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,422: English reviews
North Carolina
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed two nights in February for a couple's getaway. Used a Groupon and got both nights for $99. Charged another $40 at desk for taxes and resort fees. Felt like it was a good deal until I asked to see a room at the very nicely remodeled Sea Crest next door. They had pretty cheap rooms too and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christa H
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are sorry that your stay at Hotel Blue was not up to our standards. We do strive to make all our guests happy and to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us. We have passed your comments on and we hope that you will try us again in the future.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Blue; just a getaway. The hotel staff and management there were excellent. Even though it was off season the hotel ran like in season. Clean rooms friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We are looking forward to going back this summer. I loved the fact they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art O
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a nice review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed having the garage attached the resort and that you had an outstanding stay. We strive to do our very best . We hope that you will visit us again as soon as you can.

Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Bought a Groupon, always had good experiences with getaways from their site. This hotel was a sham from the start. Terrible cleanliness. Room was gross. Shower was clogged and had no pressure. Stains on chairs. The hotel itself had potential but housekeeping and management is a fail. Reservation was for two nights. Stayed one and I was very kind in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blake G
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Purchased a Groupon for a two-night stay. Didn't have high expectations since the price of the Groupon was low, but did expect safe and sanitary conditions. Unfortunately, we didn't find them. The first room we were given was an oceanfront double. My 5-year-old noted the rusty mirror, dirty tile floors, and what appeared to be a knife stab hole in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonMama
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

My mother, myself, and my 17 month old child stayed here to do a getaway night at the beach. My mother had stayed here in the past and had nothing bad to say. Unfortunately, we were put in a room that joined with another room where others were staying (of all rooms vacant here in the winter). About 2am the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Banzelon
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us. We would like to first apoligize for any issues you had while staying with us and your comments have been passed on. We are sorry that you had a noise issue, we do have security and managers on property at all hours of the day and night. Had we known we would...

Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We had a very nice stay. The beds were comfortable, and we had good service. One really nice thing about Hotel Blue is the parking garage on each level. You park outside your room of the Hotel on that level, how cool!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank liz s
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed being able to park close to your room. We hope to see you very soon.

Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Recently tried to use a groupon for a 2 night stay for 6 people. Upon arriving and after paying, I was informed that everyone must be at least 21 to even stay at the hotel. I was told to contact groupon (who has excellent customer service and was exceptionally polite and professional; and gave me a full refund plus a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJP324
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review for us. We would like to apologize for any issues you had while staying with us and can assure you that appropriate steps are being taken to correct any issues. We strive to do our very best and we take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level....

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Sun - Tues getaway by using our groupon for an $89 stay with free breakfast and an oceanfront balcony view. We were made away of the additional "resort" fee as well as the breakfast at the other facility and went anyway. While we are used to 5 star stays we knew exactly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill N
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us using the groupon specials. We are sorry for the shower and have passed that onto our maint. Manager. We are continually making improvements to our resort and hope that you will come see us again in the future.

El Segundo, California
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nice location and views. I didn't think think the service and attitude from the front desk was anything more than average, however the clean staff was very friendly.Room was OK but the hotel is in need of some updating. Was disappointed to discover a roach problem, maybe that was because the room was on the 1st floor next to pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bt43
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par. We take all our comments serious and have passed them to the correct managers. We strive to do our very best and show all our guest a great vacation. We are continually making improvements to our property and hope that you will consider visiting us again in...

Darlington, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 January 2013

this is our first time staying here and we enjoy the peoples and staff.we will come back again we ware here for our 32nd anniversary.while we ware there.we walk on the board walk and ate crab lesg and all kinds of sea food and walk on the beach and pick up sea shils and the hot tub was so wounderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny C
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending such a special time with us and for sharing your comments with everyone. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time and loved the area, close shopping and of course the crab legs..YUM! We look forward to seeing you again.

1,105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (592)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (489)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (9)
Viewed
Lazy River (12)
Viewed
Ocean Front Efficiency Room (47)
Viewed
Ocean Front King Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean Front Two Bedroom Suite with Handicap Accessiblity (72)
Viewed
Ocean View King Suite (50)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (36)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room Double Suite (52)
Viewed
Ocean View Two Room King Suite (61)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,229 reviews
0.9 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,166 reviews
3.9 km away
The Palms
The Palms
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,154 reviews
10.4 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,337 reviews
1.5 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $136 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Blue staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Blue staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the side of the hotel away from the pool or get the highest floor possible. The music from the pool bar is unacceptably loud!”
R4416ZDsarahm, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“partial view of ocean may be cheaper”
LWSmith24_7, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beach view is a MUST!”
Z9616ULmelissac, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very good view, accessible to the ocean, a water park, and bowling in the sister hotel next door.”
ttaylor75, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book Oceanfront view”
  • View from 410
  • View from Room 410
TLH1968, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$75
Expedia.comUS$75
Hotwire.comUS$75
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates