Clark's Inn

Clark's Inn

Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (9)
Wonderful breakfasts included
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#5 of 15 hotels in Santee
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

Clark's Inn is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Santee, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

In addition, as a valued Clark's Inn guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Santee be sure to experience local burritos favourites at Pedro's Mexican Restaurant or Taco Bell.

If you’re looking for something to do, Smith's Super Store (0.6 km) is a nice way to spend some time, and it is within walking distance of Clark's Inn.

Enjoy your stay in Santee!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic

Location

114 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142-8931
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Columbia Metropolitan Airport
78.3 km
See all flights
Charleston Intl Airport
76.9 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
266Reviews10Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 84
  • 34
  • 26
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After many years of travel up and down the I95 corridor I found myself around Santee SC on a late afternoon. After hearing about this Inn for years, I finally had a shot to stay and I was disappointed. I was expecting something better kept than many of the I95 hotels. The first room I checked into had a faulty toilet. The front desk clerk checked me into a second room which was an improvement. The toilet flushed, but the shower diverter was a challenge to engage.
The king bed was comfortable, but the room and overall Inn is in need of some thorough cleaning and updating. Looking at the carpet noticing the dust gathering around and under the furniture you wonder how clean every other thing in the room might be.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clark's R, Owner at Clark's Inn
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Good evening, our team wants to extend our sincerest apologies concerning the issues that you have faced with your accommodations. This is not the feedback that we're used to hearing. We pride ourselves on maintaining the highest quality standards for our guests. We hope you will give us an opportunity to discuss your concerns further with you. You can reach our general manager Kittie Collier at (803) 854-2101. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nancy g wrote a review Aug 2020
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania24 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We regularly travel between PA and FL. The highlight of our trips has always been the delightful breakfast. We came through twice this summer, and were extremely disappointed to discover that the breakfast is no longer available. Furthermore, the room rates have been increased. I do not mind paying more if the breakfast returns, but if not, we will look for a substitute for Clark's.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Hey Nancy, our team would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning the fact that breakfast is no longer offered. We pride ourselves on maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers and are saddened that we missed the mark due to the pandemic. Allow us to make it right. You can reach out to our general manager Kittie Collier at (803) 854-2101. We hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul J wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Eat in the restaurant. Ambiance was very nice and welcoming. However, waitering staff were perfunctory and not very attentive. When we found a long blond hair in our food, waitress barely apologised. All we got for hair in our food was a 10% discount. Before this the food was tasty and we'll presented.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarks_IR, Owner at Clark's Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Paul, thanks for your feedback. We hope we can turn these 3 stars into 5. We want to hear from you—please give our General Manager Kittie Collier a call when you can at (803) 854-2101. Thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary W wrote a review Jan 2021
Morrisville, North Carolina2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have stayed here on our travels from NC to FL on several occasions, but this time it was not even close to our expectations. I went into the office to check in and along with my key, they handed me 2 boxes and said "here's your breakfast." I asked about the restaurant and they said it was still there. That's it. Nor further explanation. I opened the box and it contained a plastic bottle of orange juice (which I cannot drink), 2 small muffins of some sort (I can't eat gluten) and one more item. I handed it back to her and said "this is not breakfast" and walked out. The big attraction for us is that we enjoyed a great breakfast in the dining room, which was included in the price. A box handed out the night before (containing nothing I can eat) does not make up for the hot cooked breakfast in the dining room. I paid $125.00 for a room that was sorely outdated, smelled musty, had mold in the shower and looked like it had not been updated since 1980. Oh, and I also cleaned cobwebs out of the corner of the room because I have a fear of spiders. Next time we will most definitely keep driving to find better accomodations.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lori H wrote a review Mar 2023
Petersburg, Virginia2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed in a pet friendly room with our dog on a trip from Florida to Virginia. The room was perfect! The room had lots of nice wood furniture, nice art, comfortable linens and towels. It was spacious and clean. There was plenty of meticulously cared for lawn around for dog walking and also dog waste stations with bags and trash cans. The gift shop at the hotel was interesting with lots of gifts to browse. Our room rate included a nice breakfast. They allow dogs in the outdoor dining area, but it was raining when we woke up the next morning so our dog napped in the car while we ate a delicious breakfast in the beautiful ding room. I hope to stay at the Clark's Inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy B wrote a review Jun 2020
Randolph, New Jersey16 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Clark’s Inn a few times. It was quaint and we were satisfied. However, we stayed there this past Friday night and it was incredibly disappointing. The first room they gave us smelled like a musty basement. We asked for another room which was okay. The dinner at their restaurant was terrible. Vegetables cold, rice room temperature, and the salmon lukewarm. In the morning when we were getting ready to leave, my husband spotted a huge disgusting bug in our bathroom. He took a picture of it and showed to someone in the office, exclaiming we would never be back. Oh, and by the way, the bathroom floor was really dirty!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clarks_IR, Owner at Clark's Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Hey Nancy, our team would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves on maintaining the highest quality standards for our clients and are saddened that we missed the mark. Allow us to make it right. You can reach out to our general manager Kittie Collier at (803) 854-2101. We hope to find a solution promptly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack O wrote a review Jan 2022
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania18 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a room at this place. It was the worst experience we ever had! When we book our room, we asked for a king room which included breakfast for 2 people. The agent that booked our ro room said ok but they we no longer offering a breakfast at the restaurant. They would provide a bagged breakfast to go. We proceeded with the reservation. Cost $128.00 per night. We checked into the inn on Saturday 1/16. After the check-in was completed, she handed me 2 bags stating there were the included breakfasts. What a joke! In the bags we the following. An apple (which was tasteless), a pre-bought peanut butter cookie, a 6oz bottle of orange juice, and a store bought muffin! Totally ridiculous!!! They only provide in room coffee which was terrible!

There web site made no mention about the fact that they had done away with the restaurant breakfast! I believe this is FALSE advertising!

We went the two the restaurant for dinner. Our meals were good and the service was ok.

We checked-out on Sunday 1/17 and continued on our trip. We looked into our credit card account and we reviewing our charges and saw the charge fir the hotel room. There was also an additional charge for $40.50. We did not recognize what this charge was for. I call the hotel and spoke to an agent to inquire about the charge. He asked us we has a pet. We did not. He asked if we ordered room service. We did not. He told me that he would have to refer this issue to the the hotel manager (Kitty) to review and took my phone number so he could leave a message for her to review and call me back. Later on that morning the agent called me back and said that he did had pulled our account and told me that the additional $40,50 was a charge at the restaurant bar. He additionally told me that it was signed for by Danny. Neither wife or myself are named Danny. I called again on Tuesday 1/19 to inquire about the status of the incorrect charge to our credit card and asked to speak to Kitty.. I was told she was not in. I asked when she would be available to discuss this issue. The agent told me that she did not know when she would be in. If she really does work there she very poor communication skills! This person is supposed to be the hotel manager! As of today Clarks Inn has not called us back.

We would not ever stay at this hotel or dine at the restaurant again!!! I would not recommend this business to anyone! With all that is going on in the world regarding business needing customers, this type of customer service is very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay here! Very poor service! Poor cable TV reception as well! Rooms were outdated!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2022
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, but this was investigated and a member of our team did call and let you know there was a hold put on your credit card that should have fallen off by now. Your bank is in control of that. However if the charge has not yet fallen off, please call the front desk at the inn 803--854-2141 and leave a message and we will track it down again and I will call the credit card company to call your bank and see what has happed. Please understand that our organization has people in places that you may not always receive a call from the manager but an appropriate team member may be handling your situation. Again I apologize.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bunkydoodle wrote a review May 2023
Vero Beach, Florida1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We usually stay at the Santee Best Western but decided to try Clark's Inn this time which is more expensive. We thought the rooms might be nicer & their complimentary breakfast could be an improvement over Best Western only to find hot breakfasts are only served weekends. We like half & half in our coffee but there were only a few in the room. Knowing that there was complimentary coffee at the reception office I walked there only to find the door locked. I wound up driving to MacDonald's & bought their coffee. At least at Best Western the reception office is open at 6 a.m. serving complimentary coffee. The Inn's room was nicer but not enough to pay $30 more with a breakfast in a bag. We'll stay at Best Western next time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
blairstown54 wrote a review Nov 2022
Blairstown, New Jersey24 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room for our stay on October 1st. I booked well in advance because I traditionally like staying at the Clark Inn - that was not the case this time. I Booked a room that was pet friendly and when I entered the room it smelled so bad that I couldn't breath. It immediately triggered my asthma. Looking around the room I noticed a big bag filled with water, like a damprid type of bag, in other words they knew they had a problem with moisture. We went out to the front desk and told the woman of the problem and she told us they couldn't help us, there were no other rooms available and that they would refund our purchase. The woman was extremely unfriendly, rude and indifferent. We asked for help to try and find another location since this problem had nothing to do with us, and she told us that we have to look, she couldn't refer us anywhere else. I used to look forward to dining in the restaurant and staying in this hotel I will never come back now. Direct the traffic here pal you're on your own we checked the Holiday Inn across the streetm. We were not expecting to find a pet friendly hotel and to our surprise we found a wonderful room very nice and very friendly people and a great restaurant. So if you want my advice on a wonderful pet friendly comfortable Hotel check the Holiday Inn in Santee rather than the Clark Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JD wrote a review Mar 2022
Lancaster, Pennsylvania8 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Clark's has always been the place we stayed and dined to/from FL. This stay will be our last. First, the room had an unpleasant odor. The ice maker was broken. No breakfast served, just a "go bag" full of junk food. Covid- I get it. But I think some businesses use it as excuse to cut services, yet raise prices. Spent close to $200 in restaurant for dinner, and they did not have any rolls to accompany salads. Food was mediocre, and very salty, for prices. Will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clark's Restaurant, General Manager at Clark's Inn
Responded Mar 15, 2022
I am very sorry that your stay at Clark's was not up to your standards. I would like for you to call the inn so we may investigate the room you stayed, because a report of an unpleasant odor was not brought to our attention and we certainly want to check that out. Our ice maker is not and has not been broken. The reason for a breakfast go bag is we are still unable to get enough workers to be able to serve breakfast and we are constantly working on trying to get more employees to work so that we can open for breakfast, we are certainly not the only business that is having this problem, it's on the local and national news daily about the labor shortage, so we are certainly not trying to make any excuses, it's just the facts. Did you alert your server that your food was not what you expected because it is our policy to certainly get our guest another dish of their choice if what they ordered was not what they expected. If you will call the inn and give us the information of which room and tell us what you ordered to eat so we can follow up on that as well. I'm very sorry for your experience, and would like to discuss this with your further. We certainly want our guest to be satisfied. I look forward to you calling and leaving us your number so we may discuss this further. When you call, please leave your name and telephone number that we may reach out to you. Thank you and we wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from NeenaCambridge_Md
Miramar Beach, Florida42 contributions46 helpful votes
Do not know the pet policy.
Answer from Dee V
Annapolis, Maryland81 contributions31 helpful votes
They do not accept pets, Sorry.
Paula C asked a question Jan 2019
South Belmar, New Jersey4 contributions12 helpful votes
Do you allow a small dog
Scenic34385 asked a question Dec 2017
Aloma, Florida1 contribution
Do all rooms have a microwave?
Answer from Richy31
Punta Gorda, Florida9 contributions21 helpful votes
No they do not. Only the suites.
justcare wrote a tip Feb 2024
Lavallette, New Jersey98 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I-95 close but still quiet !"
Read full review
Kevin M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Port Chester, New York137 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room of stairs are a issue"
Read full review
Alberta B wrote a tip Mar 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book if you need handicapped accommodations!"
Read full review
Jack O wrote a tip Jan 2022
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania18 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here! Very poor service! Poor cable TV reception as well! Rooms were outdated!"
Read full review
Patty M wrote a tip Jun 2021
Shirley, New York3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Conveniently located off of 95 with parking right outside your door"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santee area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
clarks hotel santee
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaSantee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clark's Inn - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Clark's Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Clark's Inn?
Nearby attractions include Smith's Super Store (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clark's Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Clark's Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clark's Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clark's Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Captains Quarters, Clark's Inn and Restaurant, and Craig's Place Deli & Cafe in Santee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clark's Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Clark's Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Santee.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clark's Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is Clark's Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Santee HotelsSantee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SanteeHotels near Clark's Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars