We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Brookings
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Herrin, Illinois
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Hotel is very convenient for visiting the area. Staff is very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was very good. Room met our needs and was very clean and comfortable. Did not use pool area, but it looked great with large water slide!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mw5five
Memphis, Texas
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We stopped off at Brookings at Holiday inn express. We stayed there because they had a waterslide. Beds were great and the rooms were nice The pool was a little small but the slide great the only problem is my seven year old couldn't ride it because he was two inches too short (required height 48 inches) and no exceptions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
Calmar
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I had a 2nd floor room; furnishings neat and clean. I was pleased that the refrigerator was quiet; I've had rooms where they are annoyingly loud. Bed very comfortable. Lobby area cheerful. Check in fast and staff very polite and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia O
Reviewed 12 July 2015

I stayed for one night only with several friends ... We had two rooms, both king rooms. One was a suite with a couch. The rooms were clean, it was quiet, check in was smooth but they did mix up our credit cards since we each used different ones for each room....we double checked on checkout since they had some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxie O
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Stayed one night before a visit to SDSU. We arrived too late for the pool. The water slide is only open certain days/hours so make sure you inquire about that before booking the hotel for that reason. The internet worked well but when I tried to do my VPN to get to my work e-mail, it would not work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8675309bergman
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We stayed here multiple times per year for four years. The rooms were always clean and fresh and the staff helpful. The morning breakfast was very good as well with many nutritious choices to start your day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G8750FZjohnb
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Positives - The bed is pretty comfortable and the location right off the interstate is convenient. Negatives - slow internet even when I'm 1 of very few guests here. No fridge or microwave in the king suite. Breakfast has had 1 or 2 pieces of old fruit every morning. Fitness center is terrible. 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical and 1 stationary...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Allison C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

Dear Allison C, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient and the beds comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the internet service and the fitness center. Please be assured that we will address these to the management...

Durham, NC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

When we checked in we were very worried because there was a VERY LARGE group of young wrestlers staying at the hotel. Our room was on the first floor and near the pool and conference room so we knew we were going to hear the kids for hours. We talked to the friendly staff at the front desk and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanielleDurham_NC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

This is your typical Holiday Inn Express. I was surprised by the price, but it was similar to the other hotels in the area. The staff were friendly. The fitness area could use some new equipment. All in all a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ND_Baseball_Moms
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Express Hotel & Suites in Brookings, South Dakota. We take pride in providing a clean, comfortable room for our guests with friendly service from our staff. As the hotel will be going through a renovation in the near future, all our fitness center equipment will be updated.

Midwestern
Reviewed 7 December 2014

I normally stay at Hilton properties. I booked this hotel for a hockey tournament. The rate was $150 per night. The rooms, lobby and pool area were very clean and nice. The pool area was nice with a big slide. No alcohol allowed in the pool area. The service was sub-par. We checked in on a Friday night and had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vacationhound25
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at our Brookings, SD Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I apologize for the poor service you received. This is not typical of our property, and please be assured this will be addressed with our employees. We expect our employees to provide exemplary service to our guests, and we fell short. Also, the hockey rules...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brookings hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings
0.4 km away
My Place Hotel-Brookings, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
47 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#8 of 9 in Brookings
481 reviews
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Brookings
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006-4700
Region: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Price Range: $166 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Brookings staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always choose the top floor, backside away from traffic, away from elevator and ice/vending machines.”
353brucep, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Has elevator mid hallway so rooms towards the ends are quieter.”
marciao409, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not the first floor by the pool.”
DanielleDurham_NC, 3 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Get a room away from the elevator.”
vacationhound25, 7 Dec 2014 | Read review
“This area, right off the interstate, has a number of hotels. But the area is rather quiet and not much of a view. I think just about any room would be fine.”
burnsomaha, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5