We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thunderstik Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chamberlain
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thunderstik Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Thunderstik Lodge
 Click to rate
Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This was my 4th visit to Thunderstik for late fall pheasant hunting. Although every year has been extraordinary, I liked this year the best. The weather was really good and there were plenty of birds. The guides are the best and continually go out of their way to make the hunt safe and successful. Watching the dogs work to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorne I
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Brandee and I are so happy we chose Thunderstik Lodge for our Destination Wedding! Beautiful view, location, facility, wonderful lodging, great food, exceptional service, friendly and attentive staff. All of our guests were impressed and pleased to be part of our experience. The memories we all made there will last a lifetime thanks to Thunderstik!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Went recently for a wedding. Very nice staff that accommodated the wedding party nicely. Great view of the river for the ceremony. Clean reception area and great food was provided for the reception. Very well kept grounds. Out of the way but not too far from Chamberlain if you need anything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Chamberlain, South Dakota
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The staff were very accommodating and helpful setting up our stay at Thunderstik Rooster Ridge Lodge. It was a great place for our family to get together and celebrate our parents/grandparents/great grandparents 60th wedding anniversary. It was like a home away from home with plenty of room inside and all the linens/towels etc. furnished. It had an awesome large deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kherman2016
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

We can't say enough great things about our experience ...We rented the lodge for an outdoor wedding on Aug 15. We had the whole place to ourselves the entire weekend. The guest suites worked perfectly for out of town family and friends. Everyone arrived on Friday in time for a sporting clays tournament to kick off the festivities. Fire pit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piipesprite
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I visited ThunderStick hunting lodge in Chamberlain South Dakota on business. I was given a tour by Cary the Farm Manager. The Missouri River is at your doorstep. It sits on a hill overlooking the river and hunting grounds. Gorgeous. The rooms and lodge is one of the best. The hospitality is awesome. They have a Fleet of vehicles to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas T
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 29 October 2015

All of the staff were very friendly and attentive. Lots of birds. Had great guides with amazing dogs. My third time at the lodge with a large group and would highly recommend this place for your next bird hunt. l

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Barcelona
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This is the biggest lodge I have stayed at and they are pushing the hunters through. Not very personalized at all. Rooms are very basic but have TV and internet. Staff works hard but not very personable. A lot of birds but should be with the way they run the business. They are a business of putting out birds for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elridder
Thunderstik, Manager at Thunderstik Lodge, responded to this review

Elvin, Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. It’s unfortunate that you did not get the opportunity to get to know our staff better during your stay. By far the most common compliment given by our guest is the quality of the Thunderstik staff and their friendly demeanor. We have many groups that come back every year...

Winner, South Dakota
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I recently had my wedding here and was blown away with how wonderful the staff was. Everyone was very helpful and friendly! The location was private, the food was delicious, and the view was breathtaking! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura h
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We booked a hunting trip based on reviews we found here and other places, and I must say that everything was very nice, but our guide sucked!! He was arrogant, rude, and never stopped talking about himself except to spit chew juice in his soda bottle or on the ground. And then we found out that he was in charge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane G
Thunderstik, General Manager at Thunderstik Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Jane, Thank you for coming to stay and hunt with us last fall. It’s good to hear that, overall you had a good experience on your visit to the lodge. I was very troubled to hear that you were unhappy with your interactions with me and I plan to use your perspective to improve my interactions with future guests....

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chamberlain
3.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
111 reviews
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
7.3 km away
Cedar Shore Resort
Cedar Shore Resort
#4 of 6 in Oacoma
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
279 reviews
4.9 km away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#4 of 6 in Chamberlain
218 reviews
3.5 km away
Days Inn Chamberlain/Oacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Not that you will be spending much time there, but our accomodations are luxurious and spacious. Just what you'll be looking for after a long day of hunting, fishing and fun! We can accommodate up to 32 people in our two bedroom, two bathroom suites at the main lodge. We also have two luxury cabins near the lodge for special guests. We also host meetings and weddings throughout the year. Call for pricing and availability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderstik Lodge

Address: 24931 Thunderstick Rd, Chamberlain, SD 57325-6329
Region: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thunderstik Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?