We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Hickok House

CancelonUS$104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$135*
US$104*
Great Deal
US$110*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 25 July 2016

First off I have to say that the staff at the front desk were GREAT! Very friendly and accommodating. However, having stayed in many a Best Western (& other hotels) across the States, this one did not hold up to what I expected from that chain. Most noticeable was there was not refrigerator in the rooms. I haven't been in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lvnlifgrl
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. You are correct we do not have fridges or microwaves in our rooms. I do strongly recommend that if these items are important to you to always ask the hotel directly if they offer them. We...

Reviewed 24 July 2016

We completely enjoyed our stay in Deadwood, SD. The BW where we stayed was clean and well maintained. It got cold our first night after a rainstorm and we discovered they turn off the heat in the summer. They brought blankets and a heater if we wished, so not such a big deal. Pam, who waited on us in the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 400dalenem
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations but hope you will give us another try. Pam is a big asset to this facility. She definitely can brighten a persons day. thank you again for your feedback, it will help us...

grantown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

average room a bit noisey close to road, room had refridgerator taken out. No Best Western free breakfast had to use diner on site for added expense. Close to center of town for easy walk or you can use the trolley that stops at hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your stay not being the BEST. We have never had fridges in our rooms. I understand that this can be a bit of an inconvenience. We do have one in the office that we can store medications and other items for our guests. We do have an onsite restaurant for made to order breakfast....

Tucson
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Hotel was well organized, clean and staffed with nice people. Pam, in the coffee shop, is a gem. We love her. The day could have started no better. She had everyone in the restaurant laughing and talking to each other.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al C
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Pam is wonderful she does her best to start everyone's day out bright and happy. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the rooms clean and inviting. We hope to see you again. We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This Best Western room was very comfortable. It was fairly large for two people. Bed was firm. Staff on site was friendly and helpful. Had to buy ice for cooler as their ice machine upstairs was not working properly. Could buy breakfast at the restaurant...just okay. Patio was great to just sit and relax. Was away from downtown, but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Our patio areas are a great place to relax and unwind after a day of touring The Hills. When it is hot and everyone fills their coolers the ice machine can over heat and stop making ice, so we do sell bagged ice for filling coolers. We do also offer free ice for small containers. We hope that you enjoyed...

Albuquerque
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for only one night. It is well equipped with micro and fridge. Hot tub was right outside of our room. Loved the comfortable beds. Bathroom fairly small but clean. Ate in the restaurant attached and food was good. Wish hotel was more close to the rustic downtown although it is in the Deadwood town. Would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad you found everything to your satisfaction except for the size of the bathroom. I do need to address that we do not have fridges or microwaves in our rooms. We are just a short 3/4 of a mile away from Main Street but that can be a bit of a distance...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My husband and our 12 yr old son spent two nights July 2 and July 3,2016 in this hotel. It was motel style which we did not mind at all. It was far enough away from the main street in Deadwood that it was quiet in the evenings. The only thing is that we had to pay for breakfast every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alloha2011
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in Deadwood and as our guest. Our restaurant has some terrific staff. They are a fun to work with and more importantly love our guests. Pam can remember what you ordered from stay to stay. It amazes us all. I am glad you were...

Clermont
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The price was way too high for mediocre quality. Water pressure and heat did not work properly, Poor lighting in room. Restaurant understaffed and snotty staff. Put this hotel on your "must avoid" list

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

I am so very sorry you had a bad experience with us. I wish you would have told us about your concerns while we were here. We would have gladly done our best to correct any issues you had so that we could have corrected them. I would appreciate it very much if you would contact me at 605.578.1611 so...

Wisconsin Dells, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Very nice place to stay. Clean rooms, friendly service, good restaurant and quiet. Have stayed there several times and have never been disappointed. Walking distance to downtown. A small casino and lounge. Just a family friendly place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate you being our guest. We hope to see you again soon. thank you for the feedback, it is nice to know we are helping people enjoy Deadwood.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

I had a very comfortable clean room, on a quiet street, five minutes to Main Street, Adams House, Adam Museum, and the HARCC. Affordable meals at the Hickok Resturant ....I will return and stay for convenience of location and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hickok House, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host your stay while you were in Deadwood. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for providing us with the feedback about your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to submit this review.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
155 reviews
2.4 km away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1304
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $84 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Hickok House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the rooms near the casino and diner.”
ErnestoV32, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 106 or 107”
simpydone, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
TechyD, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
R7459BCkathleenm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
UtopiaCentral, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$104* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$110
BestWestern.comUS$110
HotelQuicklyUS$135
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates