We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Hill City\/Mt. Rushmore\/ Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 291: English reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We have been to the Black Hills many times, staying at hotels, motels and rental cabins in Hill City, Custer and Keystone. The Super 8 in Hill City is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. They had a major problem with their water, and we tried three different rooms. None of them worked right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don K
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to respond. We had a major problem with our water regulator, which has been changed out. Water issues are now back to norma. Thanks again.

Glendive, Montana
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Called the day we were to arrive to let them know we'd be later than planned. When we got there we were called by name. Now I know it's the off season and probably not a lot of check ins... It was still a nice greeting. Only bad thing is the water pressure, when the neighbor used water at the...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bertd2016
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I have let the staff know that things like initial greetings do make an impression. Also, I am having the maintenance staff look into why water pressure could have dropped. Thank you again. Sherryl A

Spearfish
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We booked this as it was Christmas time. Family lives in town but thought it would be nice to have a room and be able to relax in a hot tub. We were way off and wishing we had never done this. The parking is not ideal (althought we're use to it since we're from here). We had to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pookie08Spearfish
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am directing this to ownership to keep the ball rolling on the updates to our facility. We are in the process, and I appreciate your response to show that the upgrades are needed. Thanks again, Sherryl A

Reviewed 30 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553marilynd
Beresford, South Dakota
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We got there about 10 pm and the guy came to the door complaining he keeps trying to lay down but people keep coming. He was just very unpleasant the whole transaction. They had no toiletries such as toothbrushes that most hotels do. The website says rv parking but there really wasn't. We had to make do with a gravel...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 691tifanyc
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, our trailer parking north of hotel could be larger, but we do accomodate multiple when needed. Thanks again. Sherryl A

NJ
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Lakewood
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The room was ok and the price was right. Left hotel about 10 am for sight seeing returned about 3 pm and room had not been touched beds unmade and towels coffee cups etc was not replenished. went down and picked up coffee and cups

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank judybalzano
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Have checked with housekeeping paperwork, and was marked 'do not disturb' on our records. Very dependable, she must have passed your room prior to your departure. Advised all to check later all such. Thanks for letting us know. Sherryl A

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We were at the Super 8 in Hill City, SD in late September. The halls had a very odd odor to them. The room was ok. The air conditioner worked well, however the front panel was hanging off when we walked in. There was a used tissue under one of the night stands that was not ours! My husband, a...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maloriek2015
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the in depth review. All areas have been adressed and updates are on schedule for the winter season. Thanks again, Sherryl A

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6256ZBrichardl
Sherryl A, General Manager at Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area, responded to this review

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
71 reviews
5.1 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.7 km away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area

Address: 109 Main St., Hwy 16/385-Main St & Deerfield, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hill City/Mt Rushmore Hotel Hill City
Super Eight Hill City
Hill City Super 8
Hill City Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Face parking lot. Get rooms on corners. Could here people talking in basement from 3rd floor.”
jeffpR5803FV, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in Rapid City when traveling over the winter.”
J7119DXmelissas, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not get an end room - the fire doors are slamming all night long.”
greggT651BF, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want to do stairs to get to your room, ask for a room that is on the elevator side of the hotel.”
deanballweg, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“advise BEFORE hand if you need elevator access”
pookie08Spearfish, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5