We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

678 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 662: English reviews
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms were typical hotel room size, and everything was clean and comfortable. Typical breakfast buffet included - tasty options and also dining area was more like a restaurant w booths and tables. Pretty outdoor patio avail w tables and umbrellas.

Helpful?
Thank txwise
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that it was comfortable and clean. Thank you for your time and have a great day. More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We took a road trip with our two dogs and decided that the Black Hills Area would be fun. Searched for a central location hotel that was dog friendly. We definitely chose the right location and hotel. Our room was ground floor and very close to the dog-walk area. The set up was ideal for our needs. Also had bags... More 

Helpful?
Thank mubbs
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We were happy to hear that you and your dogs had a great time while staying with us. We appreciate your comments, and would love to have you folks as guests again in the future. More 

San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This is a good place to stay (centrally located) to Mount Rushmore etc. It is just outside of town (walkable). The breakfast is tasty and there is a restaurant on site during the summer. AN adder touch is materials to clean car windows.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ljdSd
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate all guest feedback, and were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Columbia Heights
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We were upgraded to a luxury suite which made our stay even more enjoyable. Two bedrooms with a full kitchen and living room provided more than enough room for my sister and me. On site restaurant is okay....pizza was quite good and service was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your room upgrade. They are very nice suites, especially for families. Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback, and we hope you will visit us again. More 

Parker, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The location was very nice and convenient to all the places we wanted to see. Hill City is one of the nicer towns in the area over Custer or Keystone. It is close to Needles Highway and also the Tunels. It is only one and one half hour to drive to Badlands National Park and 45 minutes drive to Deadwood.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edelgard D
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. We are centrally located in the Black Hills for all your major attractions. Everything is just a short drive away. Thank you for staying with us and have an amazing day. More 

West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Nice room but the motel is loud. Convenient to attractions, especially the 1880 Train. Great breakfast with lots of room to sit which was needed given the popularity of the breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice bakery/coffee shop (chocolate chip cookies are tasty). My friends appreciated having the NFL Network available on the in-room cable (for a pre-season Packers game! Really?). Nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank 13013Clemson
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are glad that we were convenient for you and your friends. I too appreciate the nfl network during football season, especially for a Packers game. Thank you for your time and have a great day. More 

Lebanon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Was very surprised at the quality of my room for this rate. It was off season and they upgraded my room. Very clean, quite and lots of space in the room. Bed very comfortable. Good location. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Will be back if I am ever in the area again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay. We were happy to hear that it was great for you and your family. Thank you for time and have a wonderful day. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Very clean and spacious. They have an indoor swimming pool although not very big and a whirlpool. The fitness center is small with only three things. They have a treadmill, bicycle and elliptical. The price was also reasonable and it is close to Mt. Rushmore.

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are centrally located here in the Heart of the Black Hills. We do hope you will visit us again next time you are in our area. More 

Marina, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Lodging was as advertised. Stayed in a spacious suite in a relatively new, smoke-free building. The suite itself was clean and modern; however, the mattresses were of inferior quality which impeded a good night's sleep. The on-site complimentary breakfast was of typical quality and was sufficient. The evening meals at the on-site restaurant were a bit disappointing - the meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carl T
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suite. We have a unique layout and that does require going from one building to another to get to the lobby and breakfast area. Thank you for your feedback and have a wonderful day. More 

Newburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The location of this hotel was perfect for our Mt. Rushmore vacation. Our room was large, comfortable, well-appointed, and clean! The breakfast each morning really started our day off on the right foot. There was a great variety of items, including meat, eggs, and potatoes. We ate dinner at the on-site restaurant two times during our stay and enjoyed the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
Laura F, Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. We have a great assortment for breakfast, and the restaurant is very convenient. We appreciate you taking time to comment and hoep you have a wonderful day. More 

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
68 reviews
10.2 km away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
4.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 E Main Street, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: $145 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a top floor room if noise bothers you.”
  • Double queen suite.
  • Vanity separate
  • View upon entry - reception to left
 of 5 bubbles AGoingGal, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room to avoid the exterior door traffic/noise.”
 of 5 bubbles CDE2004, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor for quiet, no view to speak of”
 of 5 bubbles Judy1966240, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the pool building appear to be newer and less motel-like”
 of 5 bubbles DuffyB174, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer units next to the two story building.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay