We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cedar Shore Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cedar Shore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cedar Shore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We've stayed at Cedar Shore several times over the last 15 years. We've always known it to have a kind of "fisherman's motel" vibe, but we loved the location: right on the banks of the Missouri River. We were pleasantly surprised this weekend to find the rooms have been upgraded and that there are now a pool, restaurant, bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jred922
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for being a loyal customer. We have made changes and we have many, many more planned. Keep coming back and writing great reviews and keep everyone posted on our growth!!

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

driving home from a long day ( left Breckenridge at 9:00am), we all decided we should stop and rest up before heading home to Minnesota. Kim found this place in South Dakota and it turned out to be a comfortable place to do so. Had breakfast in the morning, great service good (home )cooked meals, nice staff, friendly accommodating... my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aneesa K
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping! I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Did we tempt you at all to come back fishing? Thank you for your review and your patronage!

Reviewed 3 March 2015

We stayed for just one night as we were crossing SD. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It was too cold to enjoy the outside areas or the deck outside our room but it looks like it might be a fun place in warmer weather. We ate dinner in the restaurant - the ribs were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MN-BlueLoon
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had fun and a great meal. Stop back in the summer and let us show you a good time. We have entertainment on the deck from 6-10 pm on Friday and Saturday nights, weather permitting. We have fun. Come back again!

Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Our group was recently at Cedar Shore for a conference. The service was good. Check in and check out were easy. We had a few problems and the staff was quick to help. The entrance to the parking lot was difficult to see. I came in after dark and almost missed the driveway. My room was at the far end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB4243
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us. You are correct, it can be quite a hike from the rooms to the end of the conference center. I enjoyed reading your review. Please try us again!

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We were so excited to have our daughter's wedding at Cedar Shores due to its location on the river. When we arrived for the wedding we found out that the suites we had reserved with Kathy for the wedding party had not been made so we had no rooms-Kathy admitted she knew we had reserved the rooms but only managed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dbodig
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

I apologize for our mistakes. Kathi is a great employee and I have stacks of thank you letters that are unsolicited. Any oversights on our parts are unfortunate and not part of our routine. We do 20-25 weddings a year, I am sorry we di not get the job done for you.

Reviewed 13 February 2015

I have attended many conferences and this has been one of the most enjoyable accommodations I've experienced. The resort is located next to the river and has plenty of activities nearby. The resort restaurant has an excellent menu selection and the bar also has an excellent selection of beers on tap. Rooms were nice and clean, conference room was adequately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E Ronnie W
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I hope your meetings went well. Hard to enjoy the outside amenities in February, but we have a heated bar area! Come back again!

worthing
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Nice clean room. Our room opened to the pool. Bar and restaurant were both delightful. Best Bloody Mary you could ever want! staff is AMAZING!!! The decor is perfect for the location and area. Lovely views.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ma1983blaha
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for making the extra effort to come and visit! I am so happy that all was well and that you enjoyed your experience with us. The bartenders love the recognition of their special recipe for bloody marys. Please come back and visit again...I will buy your first drink! Who knows...I may share the recipe with you. Thank you...

Chanute, Kansas
Reviewed 21 October 2014

I haven't had the opportunity to stay at Cedar Shore during the summer months, but have stayed several times for hunting outings, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are nice, clean and up to date. The staff is one of the friendliest around as well. They have a very good breakfast menu, including a breakfast buffett...(at least during hunting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mrchanute
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

I think I recognize you... you were in orange right? You did not mention how you did hunting, so I assume you took pheasants home with you. Thank you for taking the trip to Chamberlain and spending time with us. Much appreciated. Please do come back after the Series is over and do a second hunt!

Longmont, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Cedar Shore Resort was a thrilling surprise. We often travel Colorado - Minnesota and decide while on the road where to stop. We use Hotels.com. We wanted to stay in Mitchell, SD but there were no rooms available in our hotel chains, so we booked on the fly at Cedar Shore. We had 4 adults in our party and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

We are so thankful that Mitchell was full....I do not think we have ever been described as "thrilling" before! We love it, and we love your review! We are so happy that you had a great time, it is what we hope to share with all our guests! Please come back again when the construction is done, and you can...

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We were at Cedar Shores for a recent event. The facility and its staff performned well in each element. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. The restaurant service was exceptional and the food was good. The rooms were clean (as was the facility).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichardB562
CSRRM, General Manager at Cedar Shore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and your review. You have done a lot of reviews, which I would guess means you travel quite a bit. Thank you for the nice comments on staff and the facility. We are a proud group! Please come back and visit.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
2:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oacoma
5.0 km away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Oacoma
6.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Chamberlain - Conference Center
5.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Oacoma
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
Super 8 Chamberlain SD
#4 of 6 in Chamberlain
213 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
BEST WESTERN Lee's Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Chamberlain
277 reviews
4.2 km away
Days Inn Chamberlain/Oacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cedar Shore Resort is a full service hotel on the Missouri River where it crosses with Interstate 90 with Conference Center, Marina, Campground, Boat ramp and Docks, Bar and Restaurant. Rooms with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and decks facing river. First floor walkout decks. Summertime enjoy our deck area with outside Waterfront Grille and Tiki Bar, bands on weekends outside if weather cooperates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar Shore Resort

Address: 1500 Shoreline Drive, Oacoma, SD 57365
Region: United States > South Dakota > Oacoma
Price Range: $124 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Shore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Shore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Shore Hotel Oacoma
Cedar Shore Chamberlain
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Shore Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
4 months ago
8 months ago
Sioux Falls
over a year ago
Winner, South Dakota
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Shore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This was for our annual pheasant hunting trip. We had dogs and it did work out well for that. It was quit.”
 of 5 bubbles 379randalc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If we had been staying, I'd have requested a lake view room.”
 of 5 bubbles 715Melanie, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an even numbered room to have a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles 349bonnieh, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask to face the river.”
 of 5 bubbles mommydanc, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room talk to reservation about which side to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles judyf, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay