We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn

Booking.comUS$144*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Very clean, very quiet, comfortable and friendly. A little more pricy than we normally pay, they have a pet fee, which I agree with for the people with messy pets. We signed up for the reward program, but still not sure I want to pay extra for my pet (s). Otherwise very happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammie C
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tammie C, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you felt the price was a little high. We do price shop our area so that we can remain a great value, and I'm sure that you will find that our prices are very competitive....

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Stayed here on my trip to the Black Hills with my friend and we were welcome with a nice smile, our room was nice and clean. Great hot breakfast the next morning and the staff was very helpful and nice. Keep up the great job stayed march 22 and 23 thank you very much for the great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herick C
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Herick C., Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your kind words along to our staff. Safe Travels, Eric Seljeskog

Mission, South Dakota
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

I called from seeing ad in traveler magazine.I give card number to hold room.I get there I am told I have to pay an additional $100 cash.I work at Cedar Shore Resort in Oacoma have worked temp during hunting season at Best Western and Bel Air Hotel.I visit Ohio once a year.NEVER have I ever heard such a thing.Their ad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwanita h
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kwanita H, Your review is very misleading, to the point of being completely false. We did not charge you an additional $100 nor were you not told you have to pay an additional $100 cash. For guests that prefer to pay with cash we do require a (fully refundable) security deposit. That can be in the form of a...

Penticton, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I found myself in the difficult position of having my vehicle in a repair shop with no ETA during a weekend when all the motels were filling up due to two tournaments. Tracie at the front desk and the rest of the staff of the Americas Best Value Inn went above and beyond to secure a room for me at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NormanEllen
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear NormanEllen, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one. I just wish it were under better circumstances. I am glad that you were able to get back on the road, and wish you safe travels. Sincerely, Eric Seljeskog

Muscatine
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I miss the scenic values of this area. I also miss the staff who became like family. I hope to return this summer for a few days. Ideally, it would be a birthday present for myself if I can get a room during that week. If not, then some other time during the summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tootired2soon_mm
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear tootired2soon_mm, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We miss you too and hope to see you again. Until then, safe travels. Sincerely, Eric seljeskog

Gering, Nebraska
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We were there in the dead of winter (January), but the staff including house keeping was very friendly, and helpful. Our room was warm, the location of the room was explained nicely and completely. We are very happy with this location and will reurn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sandi M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to let the staff know how happy you were. Safe travels, Eric Seljeskog

Huron, South Dakota
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I have stayed here several times and each time my experience has been very positive. I especially commend the staff's friendliness and courtesy from the first step in the door to check-out. I've always found the rooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfast includes hot foods and is served in a clean and bright atmosphere. My latest stay was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KBork
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear KBork, We truly appreciate your continued patronage, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to...

Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Clean but I think could be cleaner Decent rooms at check in almost didn't happen because their online 3rd party booking system has occasional issues She said they had a guy wait 2 hours once before he could check in If booked through a 3rd party booking. I was not affected however.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidtG6743QK
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear DavidtG6743QK, No matter what hotel you book with, we always recommend booking directly with the hotel. It eliminates mistakes, computer glitches and its always much easier to make changes and/or special requests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, but a little disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations. I will pass your comments along...

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The staff is very friendly. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel itself was clean in all areas. Would definitely stay there again. Parking area was well lite. Very reasonable and most of all it was a clean establishment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive feedback. Thank You, Eric Seljeskog

Waskish, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Upon arrival things appeared fine just as reviews had suggested, and the location is great. Once we got settled into the room it got ugly. The room was nothing fancy, just a room as we expected from a place with "value" in its name, but clean sheets would have been a nice touch. The bed was made but the sheets...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jonny P

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.7 km away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
1.6 km away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
943 reviews
1.8 km away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
277 reviews
6.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
558 reviews
6.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Price Range: $86 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to a different hotel”
hammer3n, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Might want to book a second floor room away from exit doors. That could be an issue if you want to have a quiet night sleep.”
thndr9285, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Smoking rooms avail”
jackfritz2017, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second floor Hotel has a elevator , I believe all rooms are quiet.”
jimmylouannwanner70, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Indoor pool”
657frankg, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$144* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$144
Orbitz.comUS$144
ABVI.comUS$144
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates