We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avanti Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Avanti Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Avanti Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was the only place that we could find that had 1 room left, everywhere else was sold out. We said we would take the room over the phone without seeing it so we didn't know what to expect. It was horrible! It was a smoking room - it smelled really bad! The room looked like it hadn't been updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed here for one night as part of a road trip. From the outside the motel did not look great but once we went into our room we were positively surprised. It was spacious, the wifi worked well and everything we needed was there. The location is good, really close to downtown Rapid City. It's a shame the motel does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loeszie
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We are happy you chose us to be a part of your adventure and that you enjoyed your room! I hope the rest of your adventure goes smoothly and you have many great memories. If you find yourself back in the area, don't hesitate to give us a call and stay with us again.

Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

The motel was clean and quiet. We had a good time. We've paid more for less room. The motel is close to downtown Rapid City, which makes it convenient for shopping and restaurants. It's nice to be able to park right outside the door to your room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Yes we are located approx 2.5 miles from downtown (maybe even less than that!) We are also only 23 miles from Mt. Rushmore and close to most other destinations in the Black Hills area. Being right off one of the main streets in Rapid City you can easily get anywhere all while avoiding the interstate traffic.

Temperance, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This was pretty much the last room in Rapid City, so I wasn't expecting much. It's off the main drag in a light industrial area pretty isolated from any other touristy locales. Three of us were traveling and we were concerned that the place was a little shady, but were put completely at ease by Markie. She runs the place,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSliwka
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.

West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I was a little scared when we pulled in, but this place had nice rooms that had been updated very recently (everything was new except for maybe the shower curtain rings that were pink). The rooms make up for what it is lacking in curb appeal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LifeAtlasTravel
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I have made a note to double check and update all of our shower curtains! Thanks for letting us know. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and as soon as all of our rooms are up to date we will work on the exterior.

Casper, Wyoming
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

I would like to start off by saying that based on previous reviews I felt like I did pretty well in finding this "gem" prior to my stay. Also I would like to mention that I did stay on the single most busy day of the year according to Dave, the front desk employee. Upon arrival I was still hopeful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank outgolfing
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

All of our beds at the Avanti Motel are queen sized. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working on getting all of our rooms newly updated and modern, which takes time. We do all of our work in house and were able to get 1/2 of our rooms done which are up on...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The location of the motel was a little odd but it was actually convenient to get to the major roads. It is an older building but the rooms have been updated and mine was fresh, clean and well furnished. The bed and pillows were good and I slept well both nights. The wifi also worked well throughout my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nebulous77
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We may seem like an odd location, but when this was build Omaha (Hwy 44) was the main road in and out of town (so we were 'the' location to have), when the town started to expand hotels and motels were built along the interstate and other main roads that were developed. It is...

Maine
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The staff was so friendly. They pointed us to a great restaurant and a college with dinosaur fossils and gems! The room was newly renovated and so beautiful. I would suggest coffee maker in the room, was able to get coffee in the office.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BandS2005
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 June 2016

PROS: plenty of parking; close to restaurants; friendly front desk people (Marky- owner); ice dispenser by the office; updated and clean room, flat screen TV, plenty of outlets, large ref and microwave; on 2nd stay in a non consecutive day the room was great – just refurbished and would not be out of place in a condo- great colors, soft...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Big_bro_1_usa
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to be one of the top rooms you were in!

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

The Avanti is a perfect place to stay. The rooms were very clean and design very well. The staff was nice and very helpful. We stayed for two nights. It's a great hotel for families or just couples. And the hotel is easy to find! We will be definitely be booking again when we go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikkifuhrman
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.1 km away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#30 of 53 in Rapid City
275 reviews
1.7 km away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 53 in Rapid City
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 53 in Rapid City
494 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.1 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 53 in Rapid City
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Avanti Motel

Address: 102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Price Range: $62 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avanti Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avanti Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avanti Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buckner, Missouri
4 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Avanti Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxury rooms at a budget price”
 of 5 bubbles U6527YStimb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have a room that you need to use a sleeper sofa.”
 of 5 bubbles E2946FIjosephg, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 11”
 of 5 bubbles BandS2005, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“the renovated rooms are excellent!”
  • curved shower rods and updated tiles!
  • Neutral decor and clean!
  • Updated well furnished rooms!
 of 5 bubbles Big_bro_1_usa, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room number 11”
 of 5 bubbles Creamy1956, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay