We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 315: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great place to stay when visiting Spearfish for the Black Hills Nationals Wrestling Tournament. Easy on and off from the freeway. The people of Spearfish are very friendly. Your city is Lucky to have an event like Black Hills Nationals. I know the founder of this tournament personally and how hard he works to bring people to your town. We...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank A. P
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

When we come to Spearfish, we always stay here. The staff is always welcoming. The rooms are nothing special, they need some updating. We love staying on the first floor, easy access to your car with the outside access. This is my husband's favorite spot to stay and loves it here and enjoys coming with his friends when they come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole D
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Nicole, We appreciate that you all continue to stay with us time after time, it's always special to us to see you all again! Thank you for your kind regards for our staff. I will be sure to pass along your compliments! You'll be pleased to hear that we are currently renovating all of our rooms, and that perhaps the...

Kalispell, MT, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was impressed with the staff I dealt with during check in and check out. The hotel is under remodel which appear to be nearly finished and is appearing very nice. The rooms are clean and the rate very fair. I was also very pleased with the new very comfortable bed. Great place to lay your head after a long...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daron L
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Daron L. Your compliments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our staff. As you mentioned we are in the midst of renovation of all of our guestrooms right now, and should fully complete in coming weeks. So hopefully you stayed in one of the new rooms! We hope to see back again. Thank you.

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a dog friendly hotel which I like. They have an exterior door to the outside and one to the inside hallway making it very convenient and you do not have to bring your dog thru the common areas. Check in was efficient and staff were professional. I was staying to attend a party and did not want to...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsmom2014
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Sweetsmom2014 for taking the time to leave us a nice review! I'm glad to hear that you appreciated the outdoor entrances on our first floor rooms and that the convenience of access, restful sleep, and interactions with our staff made a pleasant stay for you and your dog. In addition to many other upgrades with our remodel, we...

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Very quiet...not bike week 😎 good breakfast. Towels were a little rough, but hey whatever. Clean rooms, great showers. Got in around midnight and never heard a noise all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad K
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Brad. We appreciate the nice review and that you stayed with us. Obviously we need to check our softener! :) our towels should never be rough. By the way, we are about 60% done with our new remodeled rooms - walls, carpet, all new furniture, lamps, etc. We are really excited about them, so please keep us in...

Rawlins, Wyoming
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Your hotel was a lifesaver. I had just wrecked my car at 1 a.m. and needed a place to hole up for a few hours and your place was available and affordable for the few hours I was in need to get out of the cold. Thank you for the wonderful stay. The staff was friendly and the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hour4chris
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

hour4chris, I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a clean, comfortable, and friendly place of refuge when you needed it the most! Thank you for the kind review, and I hope that the next time you're in Spearfish it will be under better circumstances.

Central City, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Room was clean, parking was good (we had a trailer) and the location was convient and easy to find. Very pleased for the money. The only complaint i had was breakfast picked over pretty early everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Ian, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a nice review. I'm glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location, and parking was made easy with your trailer. At breakfast, we have a good selection of a variety of items, so I do apologize that your experience was less than our norm....

Watford City, United States
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stopped here for a one night stay since we were traveling to Denver. The location was a perfect 1/2 point from North Dakota to Denver. We didn't get to experience much but it was reasonable. No complaints from us!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Shannon. Many travelers such as yourself, find us to be a very good stopping point between Colorado and North Dakota. Please come back and see us again on your next trip through!

Denver
Reviewed 20 December 2016

A convenient and pleasant port in a storm! All the amenities and convenience needed when roads were closed or no travel advised. Very friendly staff that assured a safe warm place to end the day with the availability of wine or craft beer on tap.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyota1
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Holiday greetings wyota1! It appears must have been here last week during one of the stormy days - I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and the friendly staff. They enjoy what they do and I will pass your nice comments on to them. Come back and see us again, even if there's no storm:).

Chelsea, Alabama
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I've stayed at this hotel twice while motorcycling in the Black Hills. The owner is really nice and the staff is always pleasant. The bar is a neat gathering place in the afternoon and the beer selection is outstanding. One of the best parts of the day is sitting outside with a nice brew and a cigar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motorswatcop
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments in your review. To be "Hospitable" we need to always be thinking about our guests and what they, or we, would like in a hotel experience. It seems you've enjoyed some of that hospitality at our place. Thanks for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again, and maybe...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
268 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range: $91 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is relatively close to local attractions”
 of 5 bubbles 316jeanm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“See description.”
 of 5 bubbles WallaceW380, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car access out your door on main level. Quieter on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 50somethingscanada, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Lookout Mountain side”
 of 5 bubbles Vei1962, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Walk in door on first floor was great for watching motorcycle.”
 of 5 bubbles LiveEachDay, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5