We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Rawlins, Wyoming
Reviewed 1 week ago

Your hotel was a lifesaver. I had just wrecked my car at 1 a.m. and needed a place to hole up for a few hours and your place was available and affordable for the few hours I was in need to get out of the cold. Thank you for the wonderful stay. The staff was friendly and the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hour4chris
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

hour4chris, I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a clean, comfortable, and friendly place of refuge when you needed it the most! Thank you for the kind review, and I hope that the next time you're in Spearfish it will be under better circumstances.

Central City, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was clean, parking was good (we had a trailer) and the location was convient and easy to find. Very pleased for the money. The only complaint i had was breakfast picked over pretty early everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Ian, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a nice review. I'm glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location, and parking was made easy with your trailer. At breakfast, we have a good selection of a variety of items, so I do apologize that your experience was less than our norm....

Watford City, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for a one night stay since we were traveling to Denver. The location was a perfect 1/2 point from North Dakota to Denver. We didn't get to experience much but it was reasonable. No complaints from us!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Shannon. Many travelers such as yourself, find us to be a very good stopping point between Colorado and North Dakota. Please come back and see us again on your next trip through!

Denver
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A convenient and pleasant port in a storm! All the amenities and convenience needed when roads were closed or no travel advised. Very friendly staff that assured a safe warm place to end the day with the availability of wine or craft beer on tap.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyota1
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Holiday greetings wyota1! It appears must have been here last week during one of the stormy days - I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and the friendly staff. They enjoy what they do and I will pass your nice comments on to them. Come back and see us again, even if there's no storm:).

Chelsea, Alabama
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel twice while motorcycling in the Black Hills. The owner is really nice and the staff is always pleasant. The bar is a neat gathering place in the afternoon and the beer selection is outstanding. One of the best parts of the day is sitting outside with a nice brew and a cigar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motorswatcop
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments in your review. To be "Hospitable" we need to always be thinking about our guests and what they, or we, would like in a hotel experience. It seems you've enjoyed some of that hospitality at our place. Thanks for taking the time to write about us. We hope to see you again, and maybe...

Winnett, Montana
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The Black Hills Lodge offers a discount for parents of BHSU students, which helps make trips to Spearfish very economical. The hotel is close to campus. I've stayed here a half dozen times and will continue to come back. The staff has always been friendly, the rooms are large and clean, and they have a small lounge if you want...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 304lesliei
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. It's always nice to hear from BHSU parents here visiting, and of course nice to hear that you keep coming back. We will continue to do our best to keep that the case. We look forward to seeing you again!

Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewed 3 December 2016

other than the tub having hair and black flakes coming out of the drain when a bath was attempted, it was a wonderful stay..not sure what else to put here. the staff was very friendly, i would stay again if i am in town

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799kerrieb
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 799kerrieb, Thank you for the high marks in your review. I am so sorry for that experience with the tub - of course I would like to hear more details, or more-so that it was completely taken care of for you or that you let us know about it when departing. We will definitely need to follow up and...

Sturgis, South Dakota
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The Best Western in Spearfish, SD is amazing!!! Great staff, beautiful & clean rooms, and delicious breakfast!! I will definitely stay here again! They even have a very nice little bar that serves beer and wine!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamas0712
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

What compliments! Thank you so much! We look forward to you coming back again.

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Nice comfortable hotel with usual breakfast fare included. The special thing about this hotel is the bar at the hotel. Only serves beer but its a comfortable cozy bar to hang with friends. The bar has some entertainment as well. Great location to boot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greeleyborn
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice words in your review. We do fee we have a special little place along the way, always trying our best to provide great service and a clean, cozy place to stay. And yes, our little bar - Lookout Lounge - has kind of been a hit! Thank you again for staying with us....come back soon.

Crookston, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and the bed was very comfortable. However, I had no hot water for my sink, saw a stray bottle cap under my bed, had a randomly buzzing electrical outlet in my room (the one with the trip switch next to sink). I also heard a manager scold a staff person in front of me. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler56716
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for recently staying with us, and writing a review of our hotel and the details of your experience. I appreciate them...after all, it is all the little things that matter. Generally we do well in providing clean and comfortable place and great service. A couple of your observations are "news to me" so to speak. I had read...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
262 reviews
3.0 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
3.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
131 reviews
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range: $89 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is relatively close to local attractions”
 of 5 bubbles 316jeanm, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“See description.”
 of 5 bubbles WallaceW380, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Car access out your door on main level. Quieter on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 50somethingscanada, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Lookout Mountain side”
 of 5 bubbles Vei1962, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Walk in door on first floor was great for watching motorcycle.”
 of 5 bubbles LiveEachDay, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay