We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shade Valley Camp Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgis
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shade Valley Camp Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 4 December 2015

2015 was my second trip to Sturgis for the rally. The first time we stayed at the Chip. Let me tell you if you are looking for a party, the chip is the place to go; however, the restrooms were disgusting and the campground was a dirt field with no trees whatsoever! This time we decided we'd stay at Shade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your WOW! Review. Our staff works diligently in providing the best camping experience for all of our guests. They take pride in providing clean bathroom and shower facilities. I am glad that we met your needs and expectations even during one of our peak years. As a registerd guest, one of the amenities we offer is FREE and...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed during the 75th annual Black Hills Rally and were very pleased with our cabin and the campground amenities. Being in the edge of town was a nice place to relax at night (amongst 1M other bikers). The staff was great. Security was a priority and they had everything you needed right there. Eye Candy Saloon was fun and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LWork
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Shade Valley. We are pleased you had a great time. Our staff tries very hard to be welcoming and provide you the best stay ever. The 2016 rally is looking to be another great year and hope you will stay with us next August. I look forward to hearing from...

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed at this campground (tenting) after reading the past reviews and receiving a recommendation from a friend. The Good: 1. The planning and reservation experience was excellent and helpful, as was the check-in staff. 2. The young lady who ran the laundry service was Excellent! She worked very long days without complaint and helped campers out as much as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TBow5683
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With this year being the 75, we did have a lot of people stay with us and it was our desire to make sure we maintained our bathrooms and restrooms to a high standard of cleanliness. I agree we did have a couple of wrinkles in making sure...

San Diego, CA
Reviewed 17 August 2015

The RV sites were huge. We had two RV sites which had plenty of room for both RVs, 6 motorcycles, 2 pick up trucks with a lane between them, are large tent and seating areas. We could have put even more in them. They take "The Quiet Campground" title seriously. We witnessed a man being evicted for having a screaming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BobbiOh_SanDIego
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the size of your site and the fact that you could get a good night's sleep. And the problem you cited at registration - was a chronic one during some of peak checkin dates, We couldn't get the registration cards filed in a timely manner before someone else in that group was waiting to check-in....

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Although its a little outside of town its worth the 10 mile scoot to get to it. I have never had that much room at a campsite honestly. We trailered this time and you can park the trailer, truck and bike three across and still have room. What a great place to come home to. The showers are a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shade Valley. We are 10 miles outside of Sturgis city limits - close enough for a quick ride to the Main Street activities, but just far enough away from the all-night party crowd. Our emphasis is to provide a clean and well maintained facility in a safe environment. There are plenty...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

This is the 2nd time we stayed at Shade Valley (2012 & 2015) We stayed in a cabin both times. The air mattresses are always a bit of a surprise but work well enough. The campground is very clean and the staff takes great care in emptying the trash cans that are outside your cabin area on a regular basis....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinah W
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Shade Valley. Our staff is very diligent in cleaning bathrooms and showers - and picking up garbage on an ongoing basis. With this year being the 75th Anniversary, then number of attendees did offer a few challenges and one of them was keeping up on the coffee demand. But after...

Joelton, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

First was told it was shady. Campsite was out in the open and no shade at all. Only one set of showers located a very long way from camping site. They were clean however and short line at night. In our campground, only one male and one female restroom for maybe 1500+ people. At least 10+ person wait every morning....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HawgDaddy30
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you taking time to share your experience at Shade Valley. Our RV Sites do not have very many trees - if any in them - mostly because we do not want to create obstacles for our guests in pulling/backing their RV into place. However we have acres and acres of trees in our non-electrical tent sites and in most...

Moores Hill, Indiana
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed her in 2013 and came back for the 75th Sturgis Rally in 2015. Love this campground. The people are so friendly...food vendor is good...clean showers. Guys loved the zip line! We stayed in a premium cabin this time with bathroom and it was well worth it. We will be back hopefully next year with our RV. Love the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Shade Valley. Our staff is diligent in keeping our bathrooms clean, and responding to guests' needs as they arise. Our food vendor brought many unique menu items as that guests felt like they had a choice in ordering different items from normal rally entrees. I am happy to hear that...

Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Shade Valley. The live music and bars make staying in camp area very easy. If you want to go into Sturgis there is a bus to take you (which is a great idea and very easy). The camp ground is very clean and shower areas very clean. The only thing I wish would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iowagirl66
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shade Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works hard to make sure it is a positive experience for everyone. This year did offer its challenges and our food vendor worked overtime to try and be prepared for the crowds. Hopefully we will do a better job on that one...

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

I was immediately attracted to this RV campground. The grounds are very well maintained. We did have one issue when we got to our site; we weren't getting any power to our RV, but within an hour a couple of maintenance workers came and found and fixed the problem. They have a variety of activities like zip lining and free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honestly47
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shade Valley. Our staff is totally dedicated to responding to guests needs as we hear about any malfunction or difficulty. I am pleased to hear that we were able to fix your electrical problem promptly which allowed your get on with you rally fun,

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
18.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Sturgis Inn
34.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
34.1 km away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
480 reviews
34.9 km away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
35.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Shade Valley Camp Resort

Address: East of Sturgis on Highway 34, Sturgis, SD 57785
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Number of rooms: 550
Also Known As:
Shade Valley Camp Hotel Sturgis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shade Valley Camp Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Shade Valley Camp Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no rooms just RV campsite and tents”
 of 5 bubbles jbpturner, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early, arrive early to bag a good camp spot”
  • Quiet camp area
 of 5 bubbles haggish2016, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not all cabins have inside bathrooms. Ask for that if you want a bathroom in your cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles 780dinahw, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“There is camping with RV's and full hook ups all the way down to guys like me a man an a motorcycle. They have their own tents with electric hook ups and little cabins if you need to sleep on a cot.”
 of 5 bubbles BigBen56, 28 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Only thing I would do different next time is get a tent campsite with electricity as it was tough to keep my phone charged up.”
 of 5 bubbles KC-Gordon, 20 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5