We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Save
Share
215 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1014
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$183
US$169
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 21-10-02
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$183
US$169
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 21-10-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Residence InnUS$169
Priceline
FindHotelUS$183
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-09-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Updated 20-09-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 103 hotels in Chattanooga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Chattanooga, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Nearby landmarks such as AT&T Field (0.1 mi) and Moon Pie General Store (0.2 mi) make Residence Inn Chattanooga a great place to stay when visiting Chattanooga. Rooms at Residence Inn Chattanooga provide a flat screen TV and a kitchenette, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. You can also enjoy a pool while staying at Chattanooga Residence Inn. Need a place to park? Parking is available at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Boathouse Rotisserie & Raw Bar, Bluewater Grille, and Stir, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. Chattanooga is also known for some great historic sites, including Historic Dent House and Boyd's Speedway, which are not too far from Chattanooga Residence Inn. Enjoy your stay in Chattanooga!
Read more
Room & Suite (40)40
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
328Reviews6Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 93
  • 41
  • 19
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dori N wrote a review Feb. 2021
Carterville, Illinois21 contributions5 helpful votes
The room was beyond our expectations. Loved the fireplace and the bedrooms. It had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. We were upgraded from a one bedroom suite to a two bedroom for our family stay. The hotel manager was super friendly and helpful with meal recommendations for our first trip to Chattanooga. This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and entertainment! Only negative was the traffic noise in the morning as our 3rd floor room was on Chestnut St. Great Covid 19 protocols in place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in the back may be quieter due to early morning street noise.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
ericksonms wrote a review Jan. 2021
Chicago, Illinois53 contributions3 helpful votes
First let me say that this hotel is located in a SUPER convenient place in the downtown - right across the street from High Point Climbing, many restaurants within walking distance, the Tennessee Aquarium at the end of the block. We are Marriott Elite Lifetime members and will never stay at this hotel again. Management should take the following feedback and really take a close look at the hotel experience. 1. Check-in - we checked in during the evening. The staff person was polite but not warm and welcoming. I had to carry our own sheets & blankets to the room for the sofa bed. 2. Pool - by reservation only due to covid. 3. Fitness Center - not open. There isn't a reason for this other than staff doesn't want to take the time to sanitize. Could be reservation system like the pool. Other hotels in TN are doing this just fine. 4. Breakfast - literally a paper bag with 1 granola bar, 1 snack cake and a bottle of water. If this was Marriott's decision, then talk about cheap - going to this from a full free breakfast. There is no reason why they couldn't provide more. We stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn in Nashville the weekend before and they had a full socially-distanced buffet for breakfast. Comes across as lazy and not considerate of paying guests. 5. Lobby & seating area dark and uninviting, yet TV on loud volume. 6. Doors - others have reviewed the doors, but they need to be changed. The interior doors are super heavy and close fast - not accessible, and could be dangerous to small children Management - this hotel has a lot of good potential and is in an amazing location. Sit down and really examine the customer experience. There is a nice patio outside - but it's full of leaves and dirty cushions. Fire pits were not on. Lobby is dark. Just because of covid doesn't mean that you stop being customer focused. Everything about this hotel says stay away instead of stay awhile. Marriott - get this hotel fully staffed - it's apparent that the current staff can't keep up, especially housekeeping. We were put in room 113 - this review is specific to that room: Our room was an accessible room (even though we didn't request it). This room should be put out of commission until issues are addressed. I let the person (Savannah) at the front desk know, however with no apologies, she merely wrote it on a post it note and told me to take it up with a manager. We were leaving early the next morning so I didn't do that. We didn't ask to change rooms because of the hassle of changing, and the fact that the room was super easy to access (no elevators) and right across from the pool. 1. Door hinge on double door broken - doors won't close 2. Door latch on other bedroom door is loose - won't latch property 3. Huge red stain on mattress of sofa bed 4. Huge stain on queen bed skirt Room 113 is just run down in general: Cabinets & furniture chipped Refrigerator dented in several places Room was left with a full dishwasher of dishes for me to put away, and some weren't clean - if this was a sanitizing issue, then why were there also dishes in the cupboards? Housekeeping was a problem: Room wasn't cleaned the first time, only towels changed, beds made & garbage taken out. I had to request a second cleaning because bathrooms & kitchen weren't cleaned. During 2nd cleaning, no kitchen towel or dish soap was left, and they left only conditioner and no shampoo. The 2nd day they didn't even show up. I didn't call because we didn't want to have to leave the room in the afternoon. There is clearly a staffing and training issue here. There are many other hotels within 2 blocks of this one. Definitely skip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Accessible Room 113 is shabby and run down - avoid
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathan Smith, General Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Responded Feb. 4, 2021
Ericksonms, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the RI Chattanooga. I have shared your detailed feedback with the appropriate department heads to ensure any maintenance/room condition issues have been taken care of moving forward with the suite mentioned. Unfortunately due to the unprecedented times we are currently in several of the details mentioned are decided upon with the safety of our guests and employees in mind. All linens for sofa sleepers are delivered upon request to ensure cleanliness and cross contamination prevention. Housekeeping service is always available upon request. However, we ask if you request service to please exit the suite while cleaning is under way for social distancing measures. Swimming pool reservations and the decision to close the fitness center where made under the guidance of the Health Department. Both areas are accessed using the same entrance door so we are able to only keep one or the other open during this time. We decided on the pool since we have many families with children staying with us. I again apologize for the issues you encountered and truly hope you allow us to show you what the RI Chattanooga is capable of if your travels ever bring you back to our beautiful city.
Read more
Sightseer602690 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Big Sur, California5 contributions16 helpful votes
I could write a book! Bottom line, horrible hotel. A Motel 6 would have been better! Stay away! The dishwasher in the room was full of dirty dishes at checkin. I didn’t get the room I reserved, nor the floor I reserved, a month in advance. The bed was worn out years ago, I woke up in the middle of the night with an aching back. I reserved a week but one night was already too much. Then found out they charged the entire week to my credit card on my first night! Total fleabag dump run by shady people.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathan Smith, General Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Responded Dec. 23, 2020
Dear Sightseer602690, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to Chattanooga. I'm sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your time with us and have shared your feedback with the appropriate departmental leads to ensure any of the items that could be controlled have been remedied moving forward. Specific room numbers and floors are not able to be reserved months in advance. We always try our best to accommodate any type of request regarding floor preference but can't guarantee unfortunately. When checking into a hotel the credit card given will be authorized for room, tax and incidentals for the entire stay at that time. if you decide to depart early the authorization will be released and the remaining funds placed back onto your account within a couple of days depending on your banking institution. I again apologize the issues you encountered and would love the opportunity to show you what we are truly capable of if your travels bring your back to our beautiful city.
Read more
lldailey12 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Walled Lake, Michigan9 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location near waterfront, ferries and restaurants but the staff is untrained and not helpful. I hate posts with someone whining about trivial things, but the afternoon/evening gal had no restaurant recommendations because she was new! Shouldn’t knowing the area be part of training?? Our kitchen was ill equipped. We had no dish soap and when I asked the same girl for some she said they were out!!! I asked how I was expected to wash a few dishes since we had a three day stay? She said she was sorry but they had been waiting on a shipment! I asked why no one could simply go to a local store and pick up some? She said she’s the only one there!! Suddenly one of the housekeeping staff appeared from the back office with hand fulls of it! Same girl was constantly spotted on outside of the lobby taking vape breaks!! There is no breakfast but just a bag with a muffin. I know it’s due to Covid but we had traveled to several other properties this week and they figured a way to offer other options. To me, it’s management not wanting to staff the breakfast area which is surprising since the hotel was at 100% capacity so it’s not like they aren’t making money. We waited on coffee to be refilled every morning but in his defense the morning staff was nice but the only one there. The outdoor fire pit area was dirty and only one worked. The entire property needs renovating and the kitchen appliances are dented and dirty looking. We would never pick this property again. Staff should be trained to at least be able to make recommendations to customers. Pay the extra money and stay across the street at the Courtyard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Benjamin wrote a review Sep. 2020
1 contribution
Our room was dirty. The shower walls had gunk on them, I found a paid of old socks when I pulled back the curtains & found candy when I lifted the bed skirt. Clearly the place hadn’t been vacuumed or they would had found these things. The dishes were still in the dishwasher. The shower had shampoo & soap caked all over the tile. There was dog poop in the hallway. The front desk staff seemed irritated and disinterested in assisting us. Gym was closed and when asked for suggestions on local options the receptionist had no clue and suggested I google it. The door handle to the lobby was broken. Overall, this was the worst and dirtiest Residence Inn I have ever stayed in and I travel for work on a weekly basis. I will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Renee Mote, General Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Responded Oct. 1, 2020
Dear Benboice, Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your recent trip to Chattanooga. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your time with us. I understand how frustrated you must have felt and would love the opportunity to make it up to you. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members to ensure this was an isolated issue moving forward. If your travels bring you back to our beautiful city please contact me directly so I can ensure all of our expectations are surpassed.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn chattanooga downtown hotel chattanooga, chattanooga residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeChattanooga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Classic Arcade Pinball Museum (0.2 km), Time to Escape: the Escape Room Experience (Chattanooga) (0.4 km), and Walnut Street Bridge (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maple Street Biscuit Company- City Center, Cupcake Kitchen, and Lupi's Pizza Pies.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Chattanooga.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.