We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MainStay Suites

144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from MainStay Suites
Updated 20-06-02


#34 of 98 hotels in Knoxville
Stay longer for less at the MainStay Suites extended stay hotel in Knoxville, TN, ideally located off Interstate 75 and less than four miles from downtown Knoxville.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Tennis court
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish


Full view
39Car recommended
Grade: 39 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
442Reviews4Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 135
  • 55
  • 15
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert M wrote a review Jun. 2021
Jameston, United States4 contributions
First thing that caught my eyes were the homeless walkers/prostitutes milling around in the parking lot. Then a camper apparently someone was living in. The lobby, elevator, hall carpets and many surfaces were filthy. Like not even dusted, swept, or vacuumed in weeks or longer. Not acceptable even pre-covid. Hallway smelled like a cross between vomit and Tacobell. Breakfast was pitiful. Don't bother waking up for it. Bread or bagles or muffins in ziploc bags. Ziploc bags???? Coffee. Orange juice. Cereal. That's it. Advertised free daily newspaper. I asked an employee about that and the reply was "no newspaper ". Speaking of employees, I saw 2. The front desk person and the person "stocking" the breakfast area. That might explain the filthiness. I was told at check-in that this hotel was considered extended stay; therefore no cleaning of rooms during stay. The rooms themselves weren't awful. Not filthy but not really clean either. Window curtain stained and ripped. I felt the need to wipe down everything in the room with clorox wipes. A dirty pitcher left in refrigerator. Beds were firm but pretty comfortable. Paint on walls felt very Motel 6. Rooms were spacious. Floor and furniture in good shape. Air conditioner was very loud. It isn't the worst place I have ever stayed but I am very disappointed overall.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at MainStay Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Robert, Thanks for the stay and taking the time to give us a review and regret the issues you had with the stay. My apologies.I shall take up the matter with the concerned departments and see that they are taken care of. We consider guest reviews very seriously and would like you to give us another chance to offer you the finest hospitality. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Jeff S wrote a review Jun. 2021
Hagerstown, Maryland274 contributions115 helpful votes
This was our last stop on our cross country tour and we stayed at 12 other Choice properties and by far this one is sub par. The outside of the building is not inviting and the inside is dated. The front desk person does not seem to enjoy her job at all. Their was no mention of the breakfast offerings. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfy. The hallways were well lit but the painters should be responsible for replacing the carpet. Overall disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at MainStay Suites
Responded Jun. 8, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your valuable comments and suggestions for improvement are important to us. We shall check and take effective actions in those areas. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority. Look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Ellen O wrote a review Apr. 2021
1 contribution
I stayed at his hotel and walked into the lobby and fell on an excessive amount of mop water left on the floor. The maid immediately came running from end of hallway and said the sign was out, as she placed the sign where I had just fallen. Then the front desk associate came out from another room and took a picture of the sign. The fall caused severe damage to my knee and excessive medical bills, and the hotel will not take liability for this fall. They lied and came up with false witnesses. Don't trust this place
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at MainStay Suites
Responded Jun. 1, 2021
Hello Ellen, I am extremely disappointed to see your comments. This is an unusual incidence and our apologies. We will investigate the entire issues with the concerned department.. Guest comments are very much important for us. Actions will be taken for inspecting and improving all the issues Request your understanding and support. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
mmayfield1985 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Riverview, Florida232 contributions71 helpful votes
This was a quick overnight stay for my mom and I before we made on final stop in Pigeon Forge as we head back to Florida. The room we had was decently okay since we only stayed one night. My mom and I both could tell that there was some places in the room that needed a little love and also in the corridors too. Probably won't stay at this hotel whenever we come back this way.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at MainStay Suites
Responded Oct. 19, 2020
Hello Mayfield, Thanks for the stay and the feedback. Our apologies for the unsatisfactory stay. We shall definitely work on your observations. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Please visit us again, Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Ayoub wrote a review Aug. 2020
West Palm Beach, Florida1 contribution
Honestly the nastiest and dirtiest hotel I have EVER been to. We were there in the end of July and found a number of disturbing things in our hotel rooms. Three of the four beds had blood on the sheets and comforters and we did not know until the next day. When we brought it up they gave his exchange sheets for two beds. Keep in mind that this is during COVID-19 Room was really dusty and left noses rubbing and eyes itchy as if the carpets have never been cleaned. On top of that the bathtub was leaking to where the floor was full of water and dangerous. We brought it up to them and would request towels to dry the floor and were met with an attitude from the staff. When we brought this up we were told that a manager was not onsite and to keep checking back the next day. When I finally spoke to a manager we were told that they could only refund one night and after telling her I thought that was unacceptable she told me then we won't refund you anything. STAY AWAY from this place. If I could give 0 stars I honestly would.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Response from Kishor Tailor, Owner at MainStay Suites
Responded Aug. 5, 2020
Hello Guest, I am sorry to learn about all the inconvenience you had to endure. Our sincere apologies. We care about your experience and I realize no words can change your feelings of disappointment or the inconveniences you experienced. We have taken serious note of your observations.The entire points will be investigated to take appropriate actions. You will have a nice stay next time. Request your understanding. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
US$74 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesTennesseeKnoxville
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MainStay Suites
Which popular attractions are close to MainStay Suites?
Nearby attractions include Inskip Ballfields (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MainStay Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at MainStay Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at MainStay Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at MainStay Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MainStay Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Austin's Steak & Homestyle Buffet, Cracker Barrel, and Monterrey Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MainStay Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at MainStay Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at MainStay Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does MainStay Suites offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MainStay Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.