We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MainStay Suites Knoxville

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
MainStay Suites Knoxville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for MainStay Suites Knoxville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Room 306 was so gross and smelled like dirty feet. The musty smell hit you as soon as we entered from the hall. It is a 2 Queen bed suite and was all that was left when we booked due to UTK football. The room was way overpriced. I paid over $300 w tax and the room normally runs $85...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nolan5
MainstaySuitesTN565, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed for a week in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was clean for the most part, some dusty areas (on top of fridge, some spots on the door, other unused spots) but everything you expect to be clean was spotless. You can tell they've done some work over time to make it a nicer hotel. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hxcamps
MainstaySuitesTN565, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We thank you for choosing MainStay Suites while in Knoxville. It's great that you were able to enjoy our kitchenette, fitness room, and other amenities during your stay. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the nearby restaurants as we are conveniently within walking distance of most....

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Very cozy. Unfortunately I wasn't able to spend much time, but would definitely choose this hotel again for a longer stay. The fact that there was basically a full kitchen was very convenient. Even a dishwasher to save time. I also really loved that the bathroom wasn't right off the front door, but that it was further inside around the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charissa N
MainstaySuitesTN565, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our amenities during your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We are frugal travelers and we looked at a lot of hotel options in and around Knoxville and found Mainstay Suites to be the best in our price range. We've stayed there twice now. The staff is great-- warm, welcoming and professional. The kitchen area in the room (with a sink and full size refrigerator) was a big plus for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharyn625
MainstaySuitesTN565, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

On behalf of our team i would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all guests at reasonable prices. We are delighted that you found our hotel to fit all of your...

Channahon, Illinois
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This is a edited review of this hotel. management complained said, I had the wrong hotel. I did not. what I did have wrong was it was Garth Brooks in concert not Tim McGraw. The night we stayed there was no other place to stay everyone was booked because of a GARTH BROOKS concert that was going on. I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni A
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you again for your time in sharing your experience. It's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy with your stay in May. We hope that you understand our after-hour procedures at our property. For the safety of our guests we lock the doors to where only registered guests with a key may enter the building. For the guests whom...

Reviewed 24 August 2015

Stayed in a room with two queen beds. The room was very clean, big, had a nice kitchen. Very friendly staff. We checked in late and the night auditor, Henry, was very helpful and kind. He made sure we had everything we needed. Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel had a nice choice of breakfast items with waffles, eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Priya P
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities during your recent stay with us. We hope to have you with us again in the future!

Reviewed 24 August 2015

I loved everything about this hotel. The employees were great. They were all so kind and very helpful. The prices here are very reasonable and the rooms are great. Breakfast wasn't excellent too. I have no complaints. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ankit T
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

My staff joins me in thanking you for your kind words in the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed our amenities. Thank you for choosing MainStay Suites in Knoxville!

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Nice, big, clean room , kitchen .Friendly staff.. Awesome breakfast ,Exercise room . Definitely give 5* and recommend for family and friends stay. Located centrally within driving distance of all most all attractions.. Including smokies , Rock city, ruby fall , Dollywood .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pfamous
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and helps future guests pick the right place to stay. We are glad that MainStay Suites was convenient for you and your family. Thanks again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Knoxville!

columbus, ohio
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We booked the hotel at midnight on priceline. When we got in at 3 AM, they told us that they only room we could get since we booked through priceline was a room with one king bed. We have been using priceline for over 10 years, and have NEVER, in any city, not been able to get a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph P
ird21, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology and understand how the 3rd party websites work. Your original reservation was...

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

The room was a suite with two queen beds at a great price of $94. This was a very clean room. We just stayed for the night but I would stay here again and highly recommend it. Breakfast was a little skimpy but there's restaurants close by if you want more

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula W
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation to others. Your feedback is very useful to us, and we have recently made slight changes to our breakfast. Thanks to great customers such as yourself who provided feedback, we asked on what we could improve and we did so. We...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
257 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#38 of 87 in Knoxville
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Clarion Inn Knoxville
Clarion Inn Knoxville
#43 of 87 in Knoxville
161 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#44 of 87 in Knoxville
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Price Range: $89 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Kognitiv US Corp and Travelocity so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#25 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MainStay Suites Knoxville staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Clearfield, Kentucky
West Palm Beach, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from MainStay Suites Knoxville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite that has a separate living room.”
 of 5 bubbles 996jillb, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“See if the king suite with two pull out sofas is available, rather than paying extra for a roll away bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 983mishim, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you HAVE to stay here, make sure to ask for a room that is close to the hot water heater....”
 of 5 bubbles 77gregw77, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great Hotel and location”
 of 5 bubbles knxallen39, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Balconys are nice”
 of 5 bubbles AKyguy, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay