We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballymaloe House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Ballymaloe House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Start your review of Ballymaloe House Hotel
 Click to rate
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

With beautiful grounds to roam, rooms that are all distinctive, an extensive gift shop, and wonderful meals, our stay at Ballymaloe was thoroughly enjoyable. Some people just come for dinner, but I would recommend total immersion for a better experience. We did not join in the cooking school offerings, but were told that is also very worthwhile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BetsyR19130
San Diego
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights here, anticipating a wonderful stay; our room was at the top of the house, and had a view of the courtyard. We were told when we arrived that they had booked us in for dinner both nights. The beds were comfortable, but the kitchens were directly below our rooms, and all we smelled was the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fooddr
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are taking your comments very seriously and will investigate why you were getting cooking smells in your room. Our extractors should ensure this does not happen. We are very disappointed that you mistook our home grown, hand picked, poached fruit on our Breakfast Buffet for bought Canned Fruit! Our...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have a photograph of myself, aged 9 months, sitting on the lawn in front of Ballymaloe House taken in 1977, and so have long wanted to return with my own children. We certainly were not disappointed. We stayed in a family room for two nights over the Easter school holidays. The weather was clement and the kids thoroughly enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HPerry008
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. We are always so pleased to see our customers returning with their own children to relive happy memories. We try to monitor the heat in the dining rooms and are aware that sometimes it can be too warm. I hope this did not...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 April 2017

If you eat in fine dining restaurants you have had food this good (and more innovative, if that is what you are looking for). If you stay in upmarket hotels you have had fancier fittings. In both, you have had more polished service: service at Ballymaloe is very low-key, discreet really, but they make a serious effort to be helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate3717
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the honest and frank review. Much appreciated and we look forward to looking after you in Ballymaloe again very soon!

Co Clare
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We had for so long wanted to visit Ballymaloe, especially because of the family's reputation for cooking and the serving of fine food. My wife and I took advantage of an offer of "Pay for two nights with the third free." Our welcome was professional and friendly. All of the staff were most accommodating. Our room was very pleasant with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank foodfandon
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All your points are being taken very seriously and we will do our very best to rectify.

amherst ma
Reviewed 17 March 2017

From the moment you're warmly greeted at the desk, you know you are in a place that values your visit and will make it the best possible. The food is beyond fantastic- all locally sourced and top quality, prepared by a knowledgeable staff. Recipes are both traditional and innovative. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the best we've experienced anywhere. Bordering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tantrictraveler
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so lucky to have wonderful ingredients to use in our kitchen and we do try to mix the traditional recipes with the newer ones. I am delighted you enjoyed the birds and the gardens also. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Norfolk England
Reviewed 10 March 2017

There's nothing mediocre about Ballymaloe. It's all to do with quality with a friendly atmosphere. The food is so good it makes you wonder why one might ever accept anything less. A truly special place run by lovely smiling people. Look around the garden - there are red squirrels. The Cookery School garden is fabulous and a must for anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NG54
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It is great that you saw our Red Squirrels. Sometimes they can be quite shy! We are delighted you also had a walk at the Cookery School Gardens, hopefully you saw the amazing Shell House. We hope to see you again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The hotel is first and foremost a foodie destination. Lovely staff, friendly and helpful, we dream about coming back! We had a relaxing stay with a delicious 5 course meal plus, dessert trolley!!!!!! Also, a delicious breakfast with homemade bread, butter, preserves made from Seville oranges, porridge and of course the entire Irish full-on yumminess. It is a fabulous old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed being with us here in Ballymaloe. We are very lucky to have such wonderful ingredients to cook with. Our Butter comes from the Jersey Cows at the Ballymaloe Cookery School and is so delicious on the homemade Breads! I will also pass on your compliments to the Cafe on their Lemon Cake! Thank you!

Reviewed 5 March 2017

For many years I have cooked using recipes from the Allen family who run Ballymaloe. I fulfilled an ambition by staying there and tasting the real thing. My expectations were high, but the actual experience was even better than I had hoped. The hors d'oeuvres alone deserve a review. (They are Friday night only, incidentally.) The oysters, the terrine, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter T
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the super review of your stay with us. We are all delighted that you enjoyed Ballymaloe. The Friday night Buffet is a great favourite. We love to be able to show off the wonderful Fish, Vegetables & Cheese that we are so lucky to have. We very much look forward to your next visit to us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I purchased the 2 nights dinner B&B option for my sister for her Birthday. Later I contacted the hotel to advise that I would be joining them with my husband and that we would be a group of 4 . When we arrived my sister and husband were checked into the cottages and we were checking into main house. At...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank louloub2017
fern071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but thank you for pointing out our mistakes so that we can rectify these matters.

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,592 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,359 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
398 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Price Range: $411 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballymaloe House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ballymaloe House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not over the kitchens”
fooddr, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We found our room very warm, perhaps rooms to the rear of the building get less sun?”
HPerry008, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked hearing the birds in early morning at the back of the main house.”
tantrictraveler, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Blue Room quiet and comfortable.”
NG54, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We went for a courtyard room, rather than a room in the main hotel. It was wonderfully spacious.”
R2981KTpetert, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5