We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jackson's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jackson\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,414 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,397: English reviews
Start your review of Jackson's Hotel
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ate here tonight with my family and after almost 3 hours for 3 courses I have to say that it is quite possibly the worst meal I have had in a long time. The food was mediocre at best but the service was appalling, 1 guy to take care of the whole room. No apology made from start to finish...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil J
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got a Groupon deal again, such good value and we were able to use it on 13th so we woke up there on valentines day. The restaurant had a valentines package on so we were able to use our Groupon for the main and pay for the extras. Even though the hotel is under renovation it was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank byrne2007
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room 123 very dated you can't open the window nearly overcome by fumes I think its oil burners not sure but really Bad food in bar lovely and not overpriced being renovated so should be worth going back to see what they do

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandymcalary1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit to Jacksons Hotel and we have had a brilliant stay on both occasions. The food is great and it has a great atmosphere. The first time we went we took our wee Schnauzer with us and we had booked him in for the second visit but unfortunately he got very sick and is no longer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pfittis
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the good points. Staff without exception were brilliant - couldn't be more helpful and knowledgeable. Food good- we had dinner and breakfast and could not complain. Bad points. Hotel is very run down. We were given a room on the second floor and on exiting the lift we were hit with a terrible damp mouldy smell which stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themurds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as a treat night away with my fiance for her birthday. Have some minor complaints but also some compliments also. We were booked into an executive suite while staying as part of the deal. The only thing executive was the fact we were overlooking the river. Now the view was fantastic but for the money I paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevie N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family & I stayed here for 1 bight b&b and evening meal. Staff were fantastic...couldn't do enough for us, lovely swimming pool & gym. Food was outstanding. Rooms were clean. Great stay...only problem was showers in the room were very poor - not much power & not much heat, other than that it was a great stay. Highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank despdan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start...first off arriving on the premises parking was a nightmare...we circled the area for 10-12 minutes to end up parking the car about a kilometre from the hotel...PARKING IS MINIMAL!!! we checked in and we're shown to our room which was well below average to say the least...room was filthy,dust everywhere...whoever rated this hotel with 4 stars obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Brian D
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at Jacksons several times, we decided to have a weekend break there. The whole hotel is tired. The staff are all business and not friendly. The music at night was terrible. Advertising a tribute night, and then replaced by a one man band was very disappointing to say the least. The chairs in the bar area were worn,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Maura L
JacksonsHotel1, Owner at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MauraLaverty, Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent weekend break here at Jackson's Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your less than satisfactory experience. I am not sure if you have heard the news, but the Villa Rose & Jackson's hotels have merged within the last few weeks. We have already commenced...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Well went here with my daughter sister and niece. We had dinner bed and breakfast. Plus spa. Staff was excellent. Food excellent. We had breakfast brought to our room. It was lovely. Our rooms were joining. Massive rooms and spotless. What more can I say. We will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harriet K

868 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (528)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Single Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Riverview Double Room (50)
Viewed
Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)
Viewed
Traditional Double Double Room (46)
Viewed
Traditional Double Room (55)
Viewed
Traditional Standard Double Room (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.2 km away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,050 reviews
1.1 km away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
17.4 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
16.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
16.9 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the bustling village of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Price Range: $83 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal, Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jackson's Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
Skegness, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Jackson's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old part of Hotel is closer to Bar restaurant which we prefer but new room are beautiful, but a little further to walk.”
 of 5 bubbles pfittis, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“New wing but only if no functions in Finn Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles BD1701, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles kitser1, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the newer part of the hotel are best, but its a bit of a trek to breakfast. although its worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles snowgul, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 281tomm, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5