We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monterey Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Booked a 2 night stay via booking.com and had a room on 2nd floor at the end of building. We were disappointed with the size of the room and bed and overall decor,the road outside was incredibly busy throughout the night. In the morning we asked if we could cancel the 2nd night but this wasn't an option but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us to resolve your concerns at our town based Monterey Hotel. It is much easier for all concerned when we are afforded the opportunity to rectify matters in a proper and constructive way. We are an AA three Star hotel with excellent facilities and we are so pleased that you feel comfortable to report your stay...

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday in Jersey and as it was our first trip there we were glad we picked the Monterey. The hotel is a very high standard with helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, to the comfortable and clean rooms and the excellent food which was plentiful and a large selection to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillsrow7
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your valued feedback and custom. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at a future date. Thank you once again.

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We only stayed one night (wish it was longer) had a very warm welcome from the staff and my son was given a lovely teddy which was a lovely touch. Are room was lovely with a huge bed so a lovely nights sleep. I would recommend the Monterey Hotel a lovely place to stay when visiting Jersey . Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazzy88
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with your young son. We know that these moments are precious and were pleased to mark the occasion with the teddy bear provided. It is so very much appreciated that you would recommend our Monterey Hotel. This is brilliant feedback. Thank you for your kind approach and thoughtful comments.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel - ticked all the boxes for us. Walking or bus distance from the town centre. Has both an indoor & outdoor pool, and has good changing facilities plus a gym facilities. Good food in the restaurant, and a good bar area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186220Jan
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your custom and for your kind and thoughtful review of our Monterey Hotel. We too believe that we have an excellent mix of facilities at the Monterey and in addition to the facilities you mention we have free parking as a big plus for many of our valued guests along with free WiFi throughout. Access on foot...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and were happy to give lots of local information. The room was very clean and the breakfast was very good, well presented and the staff were very efficient . We will definitely stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemW3204ZF
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and custom. Yes, you make a good point that we have a great reception team who are happy to advise on visits to attractions on the Island as well as tours and the town itself. It is wonderful that you would definitely re-visit us. This feedback is highly valued by us at the hotel....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for four nights at the end of August. The hotel is a perfectly fine hotel. It certainly is not high-end, but offers a comfortable-ish stay, for not very much money. Our superior room was large, but was really showing its age. One window could not be closed and one window could not be opened. This was problematic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonerHere
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you found our traditional Monterey hotel to be perfectly fine for your needs. We hold a Gold level Investor in People Award and our staff are pleased that you found them to be friendly and pleasant. Windows to all our standard bedrooms are newly fitted double glazed units. This was a recent major upgrade for the...

Birmingham
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Stayed here as my husband's work had booked it last minute as my husband was here working. Lovely warm welcome but unfortunately the room needed decorating. I hate Lino on bathroom floors and shower curtains which the room had, horrible scratchy blanket not duvet on the bed and peeling wallpaper. Breakfast lively and attentive staff. I get the impression this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie1Birmingham
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

I genuinely enjoyed meeting you on your short stay with us and thank you for your positive comments on our lovely staff. It is unfortunate that you did not mention any of the negative points now raised and we are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Respectfully, in our opinion, 'grotty' is not a word that...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This hotel ticks all the boxes. Staff were terrific, food was delicious at very reasonable prices, the room was cleaned to a high standard. We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, and for future visits to Jersey we would definitely book with this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themillers2016
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased that you felt our accommodation to be excellent and our team of staff terrific. We try very hard to be genuine in our hospitality and in our dealings with guests and your feedback is a great encouragement to our team of people working at the Monterey. It is most...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

On arrival we were given a room that was on the corner and a bit noisy but the staff couldn't be more helpful and found us another room without any problem. The swimming pool was lovely. Ideal location within easy walking distance of the centre of town. The staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend the Monterey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leighgirl33
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for mentioning our swimming arrangements. We have both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and these are an aspect of the hotel enjoyed by so many guests. There is indeed easy access to town but also our large car park is a helpful aspect for many guests. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We decided to introduce our granddaughter to Jersey as we have been coming to the Island with our children since they were small , first time staying at the Monteray we had a family room very spacious decor a little dated but clean, bathroom shower over the bath was great ,just it rang along side the window and the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Monterey Hotel and we would be pleased to welcome you back at some future point. We will review the bathroom blind that you mention. These blinds are in only a handful of our 73 bedrooms and whilst relatively new they are reviewed regularly. Thank you for this feedback. We hope that you granddaughter enjoyed Jersey...

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Patio Acess (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.2 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
1,524 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
753 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 31 in St Helier
1,368 reviews
0.9 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#7 of 31 in St Helier
1,019 reviews
0.9 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St Helier JE2 7LA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Price Range: $122 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St Helier
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms get very hot even in winter.”
 of 5 bubbles chasber, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay for half board option - good value.”
 of 5 bubbles tidmaj, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room overlooking the pool is the quietist”
 of 5 bubbles Cas62, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wary not to be facing the road because of traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles hercules007, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“by the pool,away from main road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles M1638CIjohnw, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay