We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay View Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bay View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Their website claims the following. "The Bay View is situated across the road from the beach at Havre des Pas with its lido and beach cafe." What the website fails to mention is the fact that immediately across the road from the Bay View Guesthouse is a four story apartment block which is topped off with what appears to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

We do not claim to have a bay view, although clearly in the past the property had one hence its name. The water pressure is an issue for some guests, but the vast majority accept we have a gravity fed system and this is not uncommon in the UK let alone Jersey. The maintenance issues are minor and i am... More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We booked our holiday just five days before we wanted to go, so this, together with the fact it was bank holiday weekend, meant available accomodation was very limited. However, our travel agent got us into Bay View Guest House, & we couldn't have done better anywhere on the island. Our room was clean & comfortable, with everything we could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bellalistair
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks Gill & Maurice for your kind words, we will pass this on to our hard working team, much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and exploring our lovely island. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I stayed at this guest house on my visit to Jersey for a charity walk and found it to be have a very friendly atmosphere with great service and knowledge of places to visit on the island. Excellently prepared breakfast with plenty to choose from continental to a full english. I would like to highly recommend this guest house for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bryant966
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you John for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated and always good to hear that we are doing a good job in looking after our guests. Congratulations again on the great achievement in completing the walk, and you know where we are when you want to come back, well done :) More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I read reviews before booking and I wasn't disappointed. When I arrived there was no one about, but after quick call to the number,which was clearly displayed, Carolyn was there to offer me a warm welcome. After completing the checking in formalities, I made my way up to my room. The room was a nice size and had a nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed what we have to offer and your stay on our beautiful island. Thanks again Carolyn More 

Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

A pleasant guest house only about 15 minutes walk from St Helier town centre and on a bus route to town and along the south coast to Gorey. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Comfortable bed though the room was a bit cluttered and we had to move things off the desk to allow us room to unpack. Housekeeping was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Bay View is only about two minutes drive from St Helier town centre.The place is not too far from the beach.The host Geoff gave an excellent service especially when I had breakfast delivered to my room as I was catching the early morning ferry to St Malo.The bar is is open with variety of drinks and the lounge with cable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stingray4Real
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stingray Thanks for your review, always nice to feel appreciated, and when we get a five circle recommendation, all the effort the whole team puts in to give our guests a great experience during their stay at the Bay View is recognised and rewarded. Good on you! More 

Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

The only reason I would not give this place the full 5 is its position. On the map it looks as it it would be easily walkable to the ferry, but this is not the case - no pavements at some places and hilly. You need a taxi. The room was a family room so was quite big, but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ellizabeth You went the wrong way!! Up Mount Bingham and around the old harbour dragging a suitcase is I agree a trial of strength and endurance. Up Green street and through the tunnel is much easier but will still take a good 20-30 minutes with a case, so a taxi for about a fiver would have been my recommendation.... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

My second stay at this venue was as enjoyable as the first,with hosts carolyn and jeff ensuring i had a place to stay after my flight was cancelled ,once again the hospitality was outstanding and will no doubt visit again.

Helpful?
Thank JeffreyLynneT
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Jeff We know you like staying with us, but an extra 4 nights was above and beyond the call of duty! We all look forward to meeting your better half later in the year, I am sure she will have some interesting stories to tell us about you! More 

Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I think I lucked out with my room as it was large and had a very modern and excellently fitted out bathroom. One other member of the party had a smaller room upstairs with a much smaller shower. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very accommodating in terms of leaving our luggage on the day of departure. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wyn G
Geoff M, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Wyn Thanks for your positive feedback. My wife and I do live on the premises but we are out and about doing our chores and sometimes guests arriving have to phone my mobile number which is posted on the door to make contact. One of us or a member of staff is usually close at hand to let guests... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms were ok but the decor was seriously outdated and the shower pressure was terrible. I suppose my main gripe is that we didn't feel particularly welcome by the landlady. Breakfast was fine but it is totally ridiculous that guests have to toast their own bread. Was never offered a second cup of tea and felt rushed out the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clyde1878
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and very surprised to hear that you didn't feel welcome. We do enjoy a good rapour with our guests and are disappointed to see you did feel this to be the case. The décor in our house is not intended to particularly modern, we... More 

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (26)
Viewed
Four-Poster Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Triple Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
7.3 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
662 reviews
7.4 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#7 of 31 in St Helier
1,018 reviews
7.3 km away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#9 of 31 in St Helier
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St Helier
753 reviews
8.0 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
1,516 reviews
7.4 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Geoff and Carolyn Mayger have been in the hospitality industry for many years and are pleased to welcome you to the relaxed and homely atmosphere they have created at the Bay View. They pride themselves in providing guests with all the modern conveniences and comforts of a four star Guest House. Bay View is situated across the road from the beach at Havre des Pas with its Lido & beach café, and still only a ten minute walk into St Helier, the main business and commercial centre of Jersey. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay View Guest House

Address: 12 Havre des Pas, St Helier, JERSEY, St Helier JE2 4UQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Price Range: $87 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bay View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Bay View Guest House Jersey/St Helier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay View Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Shrewsbury

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bay View Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have excellent facilities and are very practical.”
 of 5 bubbles bryant966, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great Bay front rooms and quieter rooms towards the rear with a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles 916gerardw, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Quiet room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles I1983HVkateh, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Somehow try to ensure guests don't smoke in the room, if that's possible!”
 of 5 bubbles 109chrisd, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Possible ask for for a room towards the back”
 of 5 bubbles wendysH8829AL, 15 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay